LibGuides: Archives and Special Collections: Digital Collections

South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) - USC Upstate Collections

The South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) provides free access to historic materials such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. In partnership with the SCDL, the USC Upstate Archives and Special Collections has made several digital collections available with plans for additional collections in the future.

Highlights of these collections:

Beaumont E Newspaper Collection
76 issues of the mill-generated newspaper launched in October 1942
Carolana - Yearbook of the University of South Carolina Upstate
Center for Women's and Gender Studies 20th Anniversary Poster Collection
Celebrates the 20th anniversary of the Center for Women’s and Gender Studies. This collection documents the evolution of the center through the myriad of events hosted over the last twenty years, exemplifying their ongoing commitment to celebrating diversity in all its incarnations.
LGBTQ Upstate Oral History Collection
Developed as part of a High-Impact Practice (HIP) component in the LGBTQ Studies course taught in the Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice, and Women's & Gender Studies at the University of South Carolina Upstate

University Publications

A small portion of University Publications have been digitized and are viewable via the Internet Archive. This collection includes selected editions of the Academic Catalogs, the Faculty Manual the Faculty Handbook, various telephone directories, selected editions of student literary publications, and other miscellaneous items. These digitized collections can be accessed using the links below:

The entire collection can be viewed at the Internet Archive using this link.