chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library | USC Upstate
×
Important Information About COVID-19 Testing, Vaccines and Resources
Library Hours

Library Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff

Administration 864-503-5620
Access Services 864-503-5611
Archives & Special Collections 864-503-5648
Reference & Research 864-503-5638
John Barnett
John Barnett

Library Dean
JB186@USCUPSTATE.EDU
864-503-5610

A native of coastal North Carolina, John has more than 25 years of experience in library management, leadership, collections, outreach to diverse audiences, grant writing, scholarly communication and reference and instructional services. Prior to joining USC Upstate, John served as executive director of the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL), an academic library consortium headquartered in Toronto, Canada. John also has held positions with the University of Pittsburgh, the Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium (PALCI), Gettysburg College, the University of Texas at San Antonio, and San Antonio Public Library. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in English, Writing and Editing from East Carolina University and a Master of Library and Information Studies from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. He served as past co-editor of Pennsylvania Libraries: Research and Practice, an open-access journal, and continues to research and write about libraries, books, media, travel, and culture.


Tina Hughes
Tina Hughes

Administrative Assistant
HughesTb@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5620

Tina graduated from USCS with a degree in Elementary Education. After graduation, she worked at QS/1 Data Systems and First Baptist Church Weekday Preschool. She came to Upstate in 2011 to work in Content Management Services, where she processed and ordered the books for the library. She is currently the administrative assistant for the Library.

Johnaca Dunlap
Johnaca Dunlap

Information Resource Coordinator
dunlapjw@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5402

Johnaca has worked with USC Upstate since 2002 as an information resource coordinator serving as an on-call technical assistant to end users on a variety of computer, software, and hardware issues. As an IRC, she identifies, researches, and resolves technical problems; responds to telephone calls, email, and personal requests for technical support; documents, tracks and monitors the problem to ensure a timely resolution for faculty, staff, and students.


Tessie Holliday
Tessie Holliday

Library Technical Assistant
thollida@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5607

Theresa “Tessie” Holliday is an Access Services Assistant at USC Upstate Library. Prior to joining USC Upstate in 2015, she worked for nine years as a Teen Services Assistant at the Cowpens Library in Spartanburg. Tessie completed her BA in Interdisciplinary Studies at USC Upstate, and is currently working towards completing her Master of Library and Information Science degree at UofSC.


Mary Hovelsrud
Mary Hovelsrud

InterLibrary Loan Specialist

hovelsru@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5601

Mary Hovelsrud was the previous owner of Broadway Bagels. She worked at the Spartanburg County Library and then came to work at USC Upstate Library in 2011. She took over the Interlibrary Loan operations of the library in 2013 and loves every minute of it.


Jonathan Newton
Jonathan Newton

Coordinator of Access Services and Library Technology
jdn3@uscupstate.edu
864-503-7317

Jonathan Newton graduated from Furman University with a Bachelor's in Asian Studies/Civilization and earned his Masters of Library and Information Science from the University of South Carolina. Jonathan serves the library through coordinating the Access Services Department.


Abbigail Yates
Abbigail Yates

Course Reserves/Resource Sharing Specialist
amyates@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5626

Abbigail is a 2022 graduate of USC Upstate and former student assistant at the Upstate library. She has a BA in Communication and plans to pursue a Master of Library and Information Science to become a librarian. As a Course Reserves and Resource Sharing Specialist, she processes incoming and outgoing materials for PASCAL Delivers along with handling materials that are reserved for specific classes and students.

Ann Merryman
Ann Merryman

Assoc. Librarian; Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
amerryman@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5275

Ann holds a B.A. in Business and Economics from Benedictine University and an MLIS from the University of South Carolina. She has more than 24 years of business experience in the public sector prior to joining USC Upstate. Her primary responsibility in the library is managing the University Archives and Special Collections, with a secondary role as a reference librarian. She has been instrumental in elevating the University Archives into a collection that is open, usable, and connected not only to the university but also to the surrounding community, as well as developing the foundations of a digital collections presence at Upstate. Her professional interests include leveraging partnerships among smaller repositories, and advocating for the continued expansion of both the University Archives and the University Library.


Deborah Rouse
Deborah Rouse

Reference and Research Librarian - Part time
drouse2@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5608

Deborah serves on the reference desk and works on special projects in the University Archives.


Michael Sanders
Michael Sanders

Archives Assistant
msanders2@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5655

Michael graduated from Winthrop University where he earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in English-Creative Writing. He works in the Archives and Special Collections as an archives assistant where he processes, documents, and preserves a variety of material to help promote the knowledge and understanding of the history of both USC Upstate and the Upstate region of South Carolina.

Camille McCutcheon
Camille McCutcheon

Librarian; Coordinator of Collection Management and Administrative Services
rcmccutc@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5612

Camille earned a B. A. degree in English and Public Affairs from Columbia College and a Joint Master’s Degree in English and Library and Information Science from USC. She also holds a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Study in Library and Information Science. She has worked at Converse College and USC Upstate as a professional librarian. Camille serves as Coordinator of Collection Management for the USC Upstate Library and is library liaison for education, physical education, exercise science, history, and political science.

Virginia Cononie
Virginia Cononie

Coordinator of Reference and Research
vcononie@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5735

Virginia Cononie graduated from Lander University with a Bachelor's in English and earned her Masters of Library and Information Science from the University of South Carolina. Virginia serves the library through reference services, collection management, and information literacy instruction. She is the library liaison to Biology Studies and African American Studies. Her research interests include copyright, creative commons, and legislative advocacy for the academic library.


Terry Elsey
Terry Elsey

Reference and Research Librarian - Part time
elseyt@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5608

Teresa “Terry” Elsey graduated from the University of Georgia with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History, and then worked more than 25 years in regional management for several national medical transcription and documentation companies. Terry returned to graduate school in 2008 and earned a Master of Information and Library Science from USC in 2011. She is currently the Branch Manager/Librarian for the Inman Branch of the Spartanburg County. Terry serves as Co-Chair of the Public Library Section of the South Carolina Library Association and has presented previously at the Association for Rural and Small Libraries. She works part-time for the USC Upstate library.


Laura Karas
Laura Karas

Senior Instructor Librarian
karas@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5637

Laura holds a BFA from Savannah College of Art and Design in both Interior Design and Historic Preservation with minors in Architectural History and Art History. In 2000, she completed her MLIS from the University of South Carolina. While a graduate student, Laura worked as a graduate assistant in the USC Upstate Library and then joined the library faculty. Laura has is now a Senior Instructor in the library and currently oversees LibGuides, a CMS that houses online web-based research tools, as well as reference and library instruction responsibilities. 


Andrew Kearns
Andrew Kearns

Librarian; Coordinator of Distributed Education
kearnsak@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5403

Andrew holds a Master of Library and Information Science from the University of South Carolina and a Ph.D in Musicology from the University of Illinois. He coordinates the library's outreach to distance learners and online programs and serves as on-site librarian at University Center in Greenville. He also heads the library's affordability and open educational resources (OER) initiative. He serves as librarian liaison to Advanced Manufacturing Management, Engineering Technology Management, Music, and the Mary Black College of Nursing. He has published in Reference Services Review, Southeastern Librarian and College and Undergraduate Libraries and has presented at national and regional conferences such as OpenEd 21, LOEX (Library Orientation Exchange), the Southeastern Library Association, and the Georgia International Conference on Information Literacy.


Jim LaMee
Jim LaMee

Reference and Research Librarian - Part time
lamee@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5608

James “Jim” LaMee completed his B.A. at Carson-Newman College, his MDIV from Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, a Certificate MFT from West Gate Training & Consultation Network, and his MLIS from USC Columbia. He began working part-time in the USC Upstate Library in 2002 and became a member of the full-time faculty in 2007, retired in 2021 and returned as part time faculty in 2021.


Mary Lanham
Mary Lanham

Reference and Research Librarian - Part time
mlanham@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5608

Mary earned her undergraduate degree in History and a Master of Library Science from the University at Buffalo in Buffalo, NY. In 2015, she moved to South Carolina and began working as a part-time reference librarian at USC Upstate. In addition to working at the university, Mary is an adult programming and reference librarian for a public library in the Upstate region.


Danette Lovingood
Danette Lovingood

Reference and Research Librarian - Part time
danette@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5608

Danette Lovingood started at USC Upstate Library in 2019 and serves on the reference desk.


Leverne McBeth
Leverne McBeth

Reference and Research Librarian - Part time
mcbethn@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5608

Neckala “Leverne” McBeth earned a B.S. Business Administration from Limestone College and a Masters of Library & Information Science from USC. She has more than 20 years of library experience. She serves as a part-time librarian for USC Upstate.


Ann Merryman
Ann Merryman

Assoc. Librarian; Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
merrymaa@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5275

Ann holds a B.A. in Business and Economics from Benedictine University and an MLIS from the University of South Carolina. She has more than 24 years of business experience in the public sector prior to joining USC Upstate. Her primary responsibility in the library is managing the University Archives and Special Collections, with a secondary role as a reference librarian. She has been instrumental in elevating the University Archives into a collection that is open, usable, and connected not only to the university but also to the surrounding community, as well as developing the foundations of a digital collections presence at Upstate. Her professional interests include leveraging partnerships among smaller repositories, and advocating for the continued expansion of both the University Archives and the University Library.


Erika Montgomery
Erika Montgomery

Reference and Research Librarian
erikam@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5530

Erika graduated from USC Upstate with a Bachelor’s in Psychology and received a Master’s in Library and Information Science from USC Columbia. Her primary responsibilities currently include answering questions at the Reference Desk, working on LibGuides, and teaching information sessions for her liaison areas, which are Sociology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Informatics, and Health Informatics.


Allison Read
Allison Read

Reference and Research Librarian
reada@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5613

Allison graduated from Erskine College in 2007 with a Bachelor’s degree in English. She then completed her Master’s in Library and Information Science at USC Columbia in 2008. She came to the Upstate Library in 2016 as an adjunct reference librarian and then joined full time in 2019. Allison's primary responsibilities include answering questions at the reference desk, working on library outreach, and teaching information sessions in her liaison areas of English and World Languages.


Deborah Rouse
Deborah Rouse

Reference and Research Librarian - Part time
drouse2@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5608

Deborah serves on the reference desk and works on special projects in the University Archives.


John Siegel
John Siegel

Associate Librarian; Coordinator of Information Literacy
jsiegel2@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5639

John Siegel joined USC Upstate in July 2018. He earned an Associate in Arts (A.A.) degree from the City Colleges of Chicago, a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in social work from San Francisco State University, and Master of Library Science (M.L.S.) from the University of Maryland. In addition, he completed a Master of Education (M.Ed.) in adult and professional learning at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. His professional interests include meeting the needs of diverse populations (i.e. LGBTQ+, people with disabilities, military, and nontraditional students), as well as investigating the use of instructional design. Prior to joining USC Upstate, John worked at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and the DuBois campus of Penn State University.


Mark Smith
Mark Smith

Reference and Research Librarian
smith432@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5872

Mark graduated from USC Upstate in 1995, and received a Master’s in Library and Information Science from USC Columbia in 2017. His primary responsibilities include answering questions at the Reference Desk, teaching UNIV 101, ENGL 101 and 102 classes and teaching information sessions for his liaison areas of Philosophy and Religion.


Janet Ward
Janet Ward

Reference and Research Librarian - Part time
wardjl2@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5608

Janet graduated from Clemson University in Human Resource Development. She also holds a Bachelor of Science from Limestone College in Database Management and Web Development, and a Master in Library Information Science from USC. Janet has more than 19 years of experience in library reference, databases, staff training, and student engagement. Janet has presented Freshman Lost On Campus: Meeting the Needs of First Year Students at many conferences, including Georgia Southern Information Literacy Conference, Carolina Consortium, SCLA Conference, Winthrop Conference on Teaching and Learning, Transforming Librarians Through Technology Conference at USC Upstate, and at the SCTEA Conference. In addition to working as a part-time librarian for USC Upstate, Janet is the Assistant Director of the Library and Assistant Professor at Limestone College, and an Adjunct Instructor at the Spartanburg Community College.


×

USER ALERT :


Blake Deegan

Library Specialist
deeganb@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5619

Blake graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in East Asian Studies and a minor in History. She worked at Coastal Carolina University in both the Interlibrary Loan and the Circulation departments. She currently works at the USC Upstate library in the Technical Services department cataloging books and working with journals.



Kevin Shehan

Coordinator of Electronic Resources and Technical Services
shehank@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5632

A native of Upstate South Carolina, Kevin has been with USC Upstate since 2010. Prior to becoming the combined coordinator of Electronic Resources and Technical Services in 2017, Kevin managed electronic resources and provided general reference and instruction services. In that role, he also handled subject-specific instruction and collection development for communication, journalism, speech, and theatre. He has worked with serials and periodicals management, systems, and circulation, and has also held various positions in public library systems. Kevin earned his Master of Library and Information Science from UofSC and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication/Journalism from USC Upstate. 



Melissa Stevenson

Library Assistant
melissas@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5788

Melissa grew up in Liberty, S.C. Before coming to USC Upstate, she worked at libraries for the Navy in Washington, D.C., Duke University, USC Columbia and USC Union. She holds a Master of Library and Information Science and a Bachelor of Arts in history with a minor in business from USC Columbia. She is currently working in the Technical Services Department of the library. She is also a USC Upstate liaison for the USC system-wide Digital Accessibility Team. Additionally, she serves on an advisory board for the S.C. Interagency Deaf/Blind Project.


Lee Wilson
Lee Wilson

Library Specialist
ew31@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5034

Lee Wilson graduated from Strayer University in Greenville, South Carolina with a Bachelor’s of Science in Information Systems with a concentration in Computer Security. He is now pursuing his Masters of Library and Information Science degree from the University of South Carolina.