chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library | USC Upstate
×
Important Information About COVID-19 Testing, Vaccines and Resources
Library Hours

Archives and Special Collections

2019 by Month

USC Upstate Archives and Special Collections launches its third digital collection!  

In conjunction with National Coming Out Day on October 11, 2019 the Archives and Special Collections is excited to announce the launch of its third digital collection, the LGBTQ Upstate Oral History Collection.  This collection developed as part of a High-Impact Practice (HIP) component in the LGBTQ Studies course taught in the Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice, and Women's & Gender Studies at the University of South Carolina Upstate.  

The 2018 collection of oral histories, recorded by students in the LGBTQ Studies course, focuses on the stories of selected leaders within the LGBTQ community of the upstate of South Carolina.  The 2019 collection, also recorded by students, presents the experiences of African American members of the LGBTQ community, also known by many as queer and trans people of color (QTPOC).  Plans are underway to collect a third set of oral histories during the spring of 2020. 

Berlin Wall Exhibit "Totally East"

To commemorate the 30th Anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, a poster and artifact exhibit in the library was held in conjunction with 3 days of events held campus- and community-wide.  The exhibit ran from
11/15/2019 through 1/7/2020 and was open to the surrounding community as well as students and faculty.  

   Totally East poster detailing dates of exhibit         View of museum case with artifacts.