2025 by Month
An additional eight issues of the Beaumont E Newspaper were digitized and uploaded to the existing collection housed in the South Carolina Digital Library. The Archives and Special Collections are actively in search of additional issues to fill out the existing collection; if you have any issues of the Beaumont E not represented in the online digital collection, please contact us at libarch@uscupstate.edu. To view the entire collection, please click HERE.
The Shield, originally Spartan Shield, was a newspaper published for the employees of Spartan Mills, a textile manufacturing company headquartered in Spartanburg, South Carolina. The paper folded together the newspapers from six individual mills: Beaumont Mill, John H. Montgomery Mill, Powell Knitting Mill, Spartan Mills, Startex Mills, and the Whitney Yarn Mill. The newspaper was in print from roughly the mid-1940s through the mid- to late-1990s. In April 2025, nine issues of The Shield were digitized and uploaded to the South Carolina Digital Library. You can access the digital collection HERE.
A second digital collection was completed and uploaded to the South Carolina Digital Library in April. The Powderhorn was a bi-yearly magazine written and edited by students intended to replace the Carolana yearbook, which had seen a steady decline in interest from students willing to generate content and publish a traditional yearbook each year. In fact, the Carolana yearbook publication lapsed for seven years, from 1982 to 1989, and only published three additional volumes for 1989, 1990, and 1991 before ceasing. You can view the entire digital collection HERE.
