chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library | USC Upstate
×
Important Information About COVID-19 Testing, Vaccines and Resources
Library Hours

Archives and Special Collections

Mission Statement

The University of South Carolina Upstate has embraced the mission of serving the upstate area of South Carolina, defined as a ten-county area comprising Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg, and Union counties.  The University recognizes that a close connection between the institution and the communities it serves is an important foundation for the mission it has defined.

The Library currently maintains a University Archives that houses the historical records of the institution.  By expanding its scope to include Archives of the Upstate, it supports the University’s mission by serving as an official and final repository for the historical records in other designated areas of regional history.  The Archives will collect, house, preserve, and interpret primary source materials from the greater upstate area, making its materials available to scholars, researchers, students, and individuals in the community interested in the designated areas of the collection.

The initial focus for collection will include records, publications, memorabilia and ephemera that document the history of the University’s educational mission, community related activity, and public scholarship, paying special attention to the following areas:

  • Education
  • Medicine and Healthcare
  • Military Service
  • Religion

The Archives of the Upstate will work cooperatively with public libraries, college libraries, institutions, and other organizations in our region to establish joint collection development guidelines and policies, in order to avoid duplication of others’ collections.  Please see the full Mission Statement and Collection Development Policy document posted on this page.      

Archive Collections

The Archives of the Upstate, a separate entity from the University Archives, nevertheless supports the University’s mission by serving as an official and final repository for historical records in designated areas of regional history. The materials directly relate to the ten counties of upstate South Carolina: Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg, and Union.

Several collections that fall within this area are: the American Legion Auxiliary Unit 28 Scrapbook Collection; the G.B. Hodge, MD Papers; and the Little General Yearbook (produced by the Spartanburg General Hospital school of nursing).  

Several collections of books, records, and personal papers have been donated by generous supporters of the University of South Carolina Upstate, the University Library, and the Archives. These collections include: 

Thomas Moore Craig Collection of Southern History and Literature

The Thomas Moore Craig Southern Literature and History Collection is the first named collection in the USC Upstate Archives and was donated by the family of Thomas Moore Craig. These books reside in a separate room and may be accessed by appointment. The collection encompasses over 220 books from the private collection of the Craig Family, and was donated by Thomas Moore Craig, Jr. of Roebuck, and his sister Susan Heath Craig Murphy of Spartanburg.  A finding aid for the collection is currently in progress.

Pre-1900's Collection

The Pre-1900's Collection consists of materials removed from the library's circulating collection that were published prior to 1900.  Many of these materials are in fragile condition, so access may be limited.  Information about them is included in the library’s online catalog.

Included in the University Archives are campus newspapers, student handbooks, yearbooks, schedules, campus directories, photos, copies of faculty publications, official university records and meeting minutes, self-studies, and various bits of memorabilia and ephemera.