chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library | USC Upstate
×
Important Information About COVID-19 Testing, Vaccines and Resources
Library Hours

Archives and Special Collections

2017 by Month

50th Anniversary Time Capsule

The University of South Carolina Upstate is celebrating its 50th Anniversary beginning in 2017!  As part of the celebration, a time capsule placed in the cornerstone of the Administration Building at its dedication was unveiled and the contents of the time capsule were displayed in the University Archives in the campus library as the See History Exhibit. In addition, the University Archives and the Library are partnering with the 50th Anniversary Committee to collect memorabilia to include in the new time capsule, which will be kept in the Archives. 

Happy 50th Birthday USC Upstate!

- Ann Merryman, University Archivist   

USC Upstate - Women's History Month

The University Archives showcased an exhibit featuring items from the Center for Women's and Gender Studies Collection.  The CWGS has historically showcased speakers and events each year that focus on gender, race, and equality issues of interest to the student body and wider campus community. The entire collection, which includes a historical timeline written by the Center's Director, is available for research by contacting the University Archives.  

See photos below.

USC Upstate - Carolana Yearbook

The wait is finally over!  The yearbook of the University of South Carolina Upstate, the Carolana, is now available as the first digital collection from USC Upstate through the South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL).  The SCDL provides free access to many historical materials including photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects and more that illustrate the history and culture of South Carolina.  With more than 40 member cultural institutions from around the state, and a collection of over 200,000 items that continues to grow, the SCDL is a true treasure trove of South Carolina history.  

- Ann Merryman, University Archivist

Image of Honorary Degree Recipient exhibit, consisting of five framed photographs and graduation programs providing information on the recipients, housed in an upright display case with four staggered shelves..Honorary Degree Recipients

Granting honorary degrees is a long-standing tradition in higher education, and USC Upstate has practiced this tradition for many years.  During April 2017, an exhibit was mounted highlighting some of the honorary degree recipients over the years.

~ Ann Merryman, University Archivist  

 

50th Anniversary - See History, Make History - Display

See Gallery below. 

March 2017: Women's History Month

Wide-angle view of second floor archives display case.

20th Anniversary display - Center for Women's and Gender Studies

Close up of document that reads:  A campus organization called University Women was created in 1990 to provide an informal networking group for faculty, staff, and students.  It gained widespread support and recognition for addressing feminist and racial minority issues through a series of guest speakers.  The Women’s Resource Center was established in the fall of 1996.  Original plans were for the center to be located in the Campus Life Center.  It was then located on the bottom floor of the Smith Building, and finally in the Hodge.  It was created to give women the opportunity to express themselves, discuss personal experiences, and create a greater awareness of the troubles they face.

Organizational history sign

Close view of right-hand side of exhibit case.

Exhibit case, right side

Close view of bottom shelf of exhibit.

Exhibit case, left side

Close view of  upper left of exhibit.

Exhibit case, close view

October 2017: See History Exhibit, 50th Anniversary Celebration

Museum Case display

Museum case display of  items removed from the 1970 Time Capsule on October 11, 2017.  

Overview of museum case display with time capsule items

Museum Case display, close view

Close view of the museum case displaying items removed from the 1970 Time Capsule.  

Project Photograph, Administration Building 1969

Project photograph of the Administration building under construction, taken on April 7, 1969.  

Photo showing the Administration building under construction in April 1969.

Display Case, Second Floor

This display case on the second floor of the Library held additional items removed from the 1970 Time Capsule, opened on October 11, 2017.  

Wide angle photo of second floor upright display case containing more items from the 1970 Time Capsule.

Nursing student uniform patch 1970

Student nurses in the nursing program wore this insignia on their uniforms in 1970.  

Close view of uniform patch