Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

A guide to using the Archives at USC Upstate.

Return to Library

Return to Library Home Page

Archives Hours and Directions

Regular Hours

Monday -- Friday      2-4 pm and by appointment; Please contact the archives to schedule an appointment.

Saturday -- Sunday      CLOSED

Holiday and Summer Hours

The Archives are closed on all University holidays.  Summer hours are by appointment only.

Directions

The Archives are located in Room 268 of the Library, on the second floor (Silent Study floor). Access is via the center staircase inside the library. 

Archivist

Ann Merryman
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collection
Contact:
864-503-5275
amerryman@uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 273


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

Archives Reading Room

Library Archives
Contact:
864-503-5648
libarch @uscupstate.edu
Office: LIB 268


Ask-A-Librarian

Main Library: 864-503-5620

About the Archives

The Archives and Special Collections are home to the University of South Carolina Upstate Libraries’ rare books, archives, and manuscript collections requiring care and control that cannot be provided in the open stacks.  It houses a variety of materials and several special collections that help to promote knowledge and understanding of the history, programs, and goals of USC Upstate as well as the upstate region of South Carolina.  The Archives is separated into two distinct areas:  University Archives, and Archives of the Upstate.

The University Archives attempts to collect, as comprehensively as possible, those records that have enduring value documenting the history of USC Upstate, its programs, services, and constituencies.  The emphasis for the Archives of the Upstate is the collection and retention of materials that document the history of the geographical area of which USC Upstate is a part -- specifically the ten county area that includes Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg, and Union Counties.  

 

Using the Archives

Access to all of the materials and collections is by appointment only, and may not be immediate.  Archives faculty or staff will pull requested materials; no browsing is allowed.  The Archives are a non-circulating collection.  Materials may not be taken from the library, and may have restrictions on photocopy and scanning depending upon content and/or condition.  If you have questions or would like to make an appointment for access, please contact Ann Merryman.  

Reading Room Use Policy

General guidelines for researchers using the Archives and Special Collections Reading Room:

  • Only pencils may be used in the Reading Room.  NO pens, markers, highlighters, or other writing utensils are allowed.  
  • NO FOOD OR DRINKS ARE ALLOWED IN ARCHIVES READING ROOM.
  • Computers or tablets, digital cameras, and research notes may be used at the research tables.
  • Under certain circumstances, researchers may be allowed to digitally photograph Archival materials themselves.  Before doing so, please consult with Archives staff for information regarding the Camera Use Policy.  Personal scanners are not allowed.
  • Researchers may request up to three (3) items/boxes at a time.  Only one (1) item/box is allowed at the research table at any time.  No requests for materials will be honored within 30 minutes of the scheduled closing time for the Archives.  

The full Reading Room Use Policy can be found in the linked PDF document below.