Celebrating African American Labor

02/07/2025

John Barnett

No Subjects

Image showing A. Philip Randolph and Fannie Lou Hamer honoring African Americans and labor

On display now in the 1st floor library study room area is a series of posters celebrating African American labor, the theme for Black History Month 2025.

Many of the posters are provided by the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH), the founders of Black History Month. According to the ASALH, this year's Black History Month theme focuses on "the various and profound ways that work and working of all kinds--free and unfree, skilled, and unskilled, vocational and voluntary--intersect with the collective experiences of Black people."

The exhibit is supplemented by other posters featuring a small selection of African American leaders in civil rights and labor, including Martin Luther King, Jr., Rosa Parks, and Fannie Lou Hamer. Another poster features an inspirational quote from late Hip Hop icon, Tupac Shakur.

The added posters are courtesy of Mr. Johnson Paints.

Please stop by the library in February to view the exhibit and learn more about the important and far-reaching contributions of African American labor.

No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts

New Science and Technology Resource

02/11/2025

Allison Read

0 Comments

The USC Upstate Library is now providing more support to student and faculty research needs via a new paid subscription to the database, Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate. This database contains thousands of peer-reviewed journal articles and is an ideal resource for those researching the hard sciences (biology, chemistry, etc.), computer science, informatics, engineering, Advanced Manufacturing Management, or Engineering Technology Management.

The following is the description of Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate from the database provider EBSCO:

"Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate, the flagship database for STEM research, boasts an extensive collection of 2,221 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review. It covers a wide range of science and technology topics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies."

You can access the database via this link: https://uscupstate.libguides.com/appliedscitechultimate.

You will need to log into your USC Upstate account to access this database.

If you have any questions about how you or your students can use this database, please contact an Upstate librarian.

Astronomy / Geology / Physics, Computer Science / Informatics, Biology / Chemistry, Advanced Manufacturing Management (AMM) / Engineering Technology Management (ETM)

Library Event - Conspiracy Theories

12/14/2022

Virginia Cononie

0 Comments

Conspiracy Theories, Extremism, and TikTok: A Conversation with a Disinformation Researcher

November 30^th, 4:00 to 5:00 PM Library LAB 247 On November 30, the USC Upstate Library will host a viewing of the webinar, “Conspiracy Theories, Extremism, and TikTok: A Conversation with a Disinformation Researcher.” This webinar is offered by edWeb.net and the News Literacy Project. The webinar will be presented on Tuesday, November 30, at 4 pm in Room 247 on the library’s second floor. From QAnon to pandemic-related beliefs, conspiracy theories are increasingly part of mainstream discourse and public awareness. Many conspiracy theories take hold via social media. However, social media platforms also host a number of influencers and resources devoted to combatting misinformation and disinformation.

This webinar will interest instructors, librarians, and Education faculty and students.
If you can’t attend on November 30, you can also can register individually for the webinar. After the webinar, you will be provided with a recording that you can view on your schedule.

For more information about the webinar or to register individually, please visit the edWeb.net website: Conspiracy Theories, Extremism, and TikTok: A Conversation with a Disinformation Researcher - edWeb

No Subjects

Check out our Constitution Day and REACH Act resources

12/14/2022

John Barnett

0 Comments

In commemoration of Constitution Day (held this year on Saturday, September 17), we have created a library guide featuring foundational documents in American history and government.

This guide provides links to key documents including the U.S. Constitution, the Declaration of Independence, the Emancipation Proclamation, and the Federalist Papers, among many others. South Carolina Act 26 of 2021, better known as the REACH Act, requires undergraduate students to complete a three-credit course that involves reading these and other founding documents.

This guide also offers background information on the REACH Act, including related guidelines from the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education (CHE); resources documenting segregation, integration, the Civil Rights Movement, and other aspects of the African American Freedom Struggle; additional readings on Indigenous People's rights and justice; and a list of current USC Upstate courses that fulfill REACH Act requirements.

History / Political Science, African American Studies