USC Upstate Library News

• Thursday, November 27 (Thanksgiving holiday) - closed
• Friday, November 28 (Thanksgiving holiday) - closed
• Saturday, November 29 (Thanksgiving holiday) - closed
• Sunday, November 30 - Library open 2 pm to 12 midnight

• Monday, December 1 - Library opens at 7:30 am and remains open 24 hours
• Tuesday, December 2 - Library open 24 hours
• Wednesday, December 3 - Library open 24 hours
• Thursday, December 4 - Library open 24 hours
• Friday, December 5 - Library open until 12 midnight

• Saturday, December 6 - Library open 10 am until 5 pm
• Sunday, December 7 - Library open 2 pm until 12 midnight

• Monday, December 8 - Library open 7:30 am and remains open 24 hours
• Tuesday, December 9 - Library open 24 hours
• Wednesday, December 10 - Library open 24 hours
• Thursday, December 11 - Library open 24 hours
• Friday, December 12 - Library open until 12 midnight 

There's a new archive available in our databases. History of Disabilities: Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century is a collection of primary sources from Gale that provide a historical view of how society has interacted with people considered to have disabilities. 

“Through this collection, researchers will grasp the many forms of institutional discrimination, political exclusion and social control under which disabled individuals struggled over time. Materials chronicle how individuals were classified and treated and how some overcame physical or mental challenges to defy perceptions of being disabled.”- Gale Group press release, April 2024

The materials include books, manuscripts, and ephemera that document personal memoirs, treatment methods, institutional reports, and more.

Read more about this archive, including accessibility and content advisory

You can access the archive here:  https://link.gale.com/apps/HODI?u=uscspart_lib

Questions? Ask a USC-Upstate Librarian! 

Image provided by Gale (North America)

Celebrating Native American Heritage Month

by: Adrienne Fuehrer, USC Upstate Library Intern

Featured Reading (click to view):

• Hearts of Our People: Native Women Artists
• Anetso, the Cherokee Ball Game: At the Center of Ceremony and Identity
• Art of the Cherokee: Prehistory to the Present
• First South Carolinians
• How I Became a Ghost: a Choctaw Trail of Tears Story
• Shanyaak’utlaax: Salmon Boy
• #NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women
• Still This Love Goes On
• Red Medicine: Traditional Indigenous Rites of Birthing and Healing
• I Am Where I Come From: Native American College Students and Graduates Tell Their Life Stores
• Braiding Sweetgrass
• Where Clouds are Formed: Poems
• We Will Always Be Here: Native Peoples on Living and Thriving in the South
• The People Who Stayed: Southeastern Indian Writing After Removal
• Sustaining the Cherokee Family: Kinship and the Allotment of an Indigenous Nation

Featured Films (click to view):

• Native American History, Culture and Heritage - Films on Demand
• Extraordinary Native American Women - Films on Demand

USC Upstate Library now provides access to KBASE! 

KBASE, from Kanopy, is a streaming platform for libraries that lets you watch hundreds of films for free with your USC Upstate login. In addition to diverse academic content, KBASE also includes award-winning documentaries, foreign films, classic Hollywood cinema, Criterion collection, and rare titles. There's something here for every subject!

You can access KBASE here: https://uscupstate.kanopy.com

To watch on your phone or tablet, you will need to download the Kanopy app. 

Don't see a title that you need? You can request it through the KBASE website, contact an Upstate librarian, or come chat with us in person!

Image provided by Kanopy (US) Library Marketing Materials 

On view on the library's 1st floor is “Roots of Hope Through Tinted Lenses,” a mixed media artistic work by USC Upstate students, created as part of Network8's “Treedom Project.” This initiative focuses on child advocacy and raising awareness about imprisoned children worldwide. The Treedom Project uses the symbolism of trees to represent children growing in adverse environments, while aiming to nurture hope, demand justice, and call for an end to youth imprisonment.

Stemming from Network8's “A Cup of Knowledge” painting session, the artwork employs coffee as a medium of expression.

To find out more about USC Upstate's Network8 activities and advocacy efforts, visit their Instagram page.

Fast Fact Número Uno: From the most recent data available, nearly 8% of Upstate students identify as Hispanic/Latino. 

Fast Fact Número Dos: According to the U.S. Postsecondary National Policy Institute, in Fall 2022, Latino students made up more than 20% of postsecondary enrollment. 

***

Now on view on the library's 1st floor is a series of posters commemorating and celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15-October 15).

You'll find most of the posters near Perk Up!, the library's café. Others are displayed along the wall in the study room area. You'll find a few more near the parking lot entrance to the library.

Commemorated and celebrated are the cultural contributions from different Hispanic nations and heritages, from Argentina to the U.S., from Honduras to Peru, from Mexico to Puerto Rico, along with many others.

The posters will be on display through mid-October.

The USC Upstate Library is excited to announce the debut of its new “Popular Reads” collection.

When fully rolled out, the collection will feature nearly 400 current popular fiction and nonfiction titles, all available for 3-week checkouts. While the focus of the collection is on titles that we hope will appeal to students, there should be a book to interest everyone.

This is a "rotating reads" collection, meaning that the library can add the latest popular titles to the collection on an ongoing basis. We can also return books that don't circulate and replace them with different titles. And if the book proves super popular, we may add it to our permanent collection. In this way, the collection stays current and adaptable to reader interests.

As you have time, please stop by the library to browse the collection. You can also use our online discovery tool to search for titles.

All students, staff, and faculty with a valid ID can check out titles from the collection.

Don’t see a book that appeals to you? Let us know, and we’ll investigate adding it or a similar title to the collection.

Happy reading!

Image: Coordinator of Library Instructional Services John Siegel shows his “library joy” at the debut of the library's “Popular Reads” collection. 

Image credit: Kerrie Channel, 2025

Full image access to The Wall Street Journal (WSJ) is now available via the USC Upstate Library databases page. This means that not only can you read the text of WSJ articles, but you can also view photos, images, charts, tables, graphs, and more.

In addition, the library's subscription to The WSJ includes access to apps, subscriber-only podcasts, videos, instructional materials, and more.

The subscription is available to USC Upstate students, staff, and faculty. You'll need to create a user account to access The Wall Street Journal and its additional content. You must use your university email address to register for your free WSJ account.

Have questions about access? For help, contact USC Upstate Library Research Services via chat, text, phone, or in person at the Spartanburg campus.

Now that spring is here, a young person's fancy naturally turns to … exploring and enjoying the great outdoors!

On view now in the library cafe area are a series of posters celebrating some of the amazing national landmarks, monuments, and parks in the Southeastern and Mid-Atlantic regions of the United States. These posters are designed in the style of paintings made famous by the Federal Art Project, an initiative of the U.S. Works Progress Administration (WPA), a federal agency that offered employment opportunities to visual artists during the Great Depression and World War II. 

Some of the images you will see in this exhibit include,

• The Birmingham Civil Rights National Monument (Alabama)
• Congaree National Park (South Carolina)
• Cumberland Island National Seashore (Georgia)
• Everglades National Park (Florida)
• Fort McHenry National Monument (Maryland)
• Gettysburg National Military Park (Pennsylvania)
• Great Smoky Mountains (North Carolina-Tennessee)
• Hot Springs National Park (Arkansas)
• The Lincoln Memorial (Washington, D.C.)
• Mammoth Cave National Park (Kentucky)
• New River Gorge National Park (West Virginia)
• Shenandoah National Park (Virginia)
• The Statue of Liberty National Monument (New York-New Jersey)

How many have you visited? Which ones would you like to this year? Do you have a special memory of one of the landmarks, monuments, or parks?

We live in a physically beautiful country, noted for its majestic landscapes, impressive architecture, and poignant history. We hope you have time this spring and summer to experience some of the nation's landmarks, monuments, and parks.