Showing of Results

Commemorating Constitution Day

09/19/2023
profile-icon John Barnett

Constitution Day image featuring American flag and U.S. Capitol buildingIn the United States, Constitution Day (also known as Constitution and Citizenship Day) is observed annually on September 17. This marks the date that delegates to the Constitutional Convention held in Philadelphia in 1787 submitted their final version of the U.S. Constitution for signature.

To commemorate the momentous occasion, the Library is highlighting the resources available on the U.S. Constitution as well as other founding documents in American history and government. These include the Declaration of Independence, the Federalist Papers, the Emancipation Proclamation and other key works in the African American freedom struggle, and important documents on Indigenous Peoples' rights and justice.

Please check out our library guide to the Constitution and other founding documents. Here you'll also find information about South Carolina's REACH Act, legislation enacted in 2021 to ensure undergraduate education on America's constitutional heritage.

No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts
New databases and digital collections
08/19/2024
profile-icon John Barnett
0 Comments

Handheld magnifying glassIn the mad dash at the end of academic year 2023-2024, we forgot to share some important news about new e-resources the library has added to its collections. So here goes:

  • Business Source Ultimate - This database offers a wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other information resources that provide historical data and current trends on global business. Included are some 3,460 active full-text journals, magazines, and business reports from providers such as Business Monitor International, Standard & Poors, Marketline, HIS Global CountryWatch, and Barnes Reports.
  • MEDLINE Ultimate - This database provides even more access to full-text research and information in disciplines such as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences, among others.
  • The Nation Archive - A digital collection of the well-regarded American political and cultural journal, The Nation. Coverage is from 1865 to June 2020.
  • The New Republic Archive - A digital collection of another well-regarded American political and cultural journal, The New Republic. Coverage is from 1914 to June 2020.
  • Statista - This is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics sources in more than 170 industries. Nevertheless, the statistical resources available should be of interest to students, staff, and faculty across many disciplines.

These new resources support student learning and faculty teaching and research across the disciplines. They are available on campus and off campus to members of the USC Upstate community. Please let us know how useful you find them and how you use them for your assignments and research!

***

Image credit: Tomomarusan, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Business / Economics, History / Political Science, Nursing / Health
Celebrating Black History Month
02/07/2023
profile-icon John Barnett
0 Comments

Portrait of US Congressman John Lewis with the words "Good Trouble" appearing next to himUpdate: The posters will remain on view through the remainder of spring semester 2023.

The USC Upstate Library celebrates Black History Month 2023 with an exhibit of posters of highly regarded African American and Black historical figures, civil rights activists, and cultural leaders. These posters are on view from February 7 through early March on the 1st floor of the library near the PerkUp! coffeeshop/café.

Three of the posters commemorate "Black Resistance," this year's Black History Month theme as designated by the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH), the organization that founded this annual celebration.  

Additional posters are reproductions of colorful portraits originally created by Mr. Johnson Paints. Arranged alphabetically from left to right on the café walls, the following portraits are featured:

  • Stacey Abrams, American politician, attorney, businesswoman, writer, and voting rights advocate
  • Muhammad Ali, heavyweight champion boxer and civil rights activist
  • Maya Angelou, poet, writer, performer, professor, and civil rights activist; author of I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
  • Jean-Michel Basquiat, graffiti artist and painter
  • Chadwick Boseman, actor and playwright, well-known for his role as Black Panther in the Marvel Cinematic Universe; a native of Anderson, South Carolina
  • Ruby Bridges (as a child), civil rights activist and philanthropist, who at age 6 became one of the first Black children to integrate the New Orleans all-White public school system
  • Ketanji Brown Jackson, attorney and jurist, now serving as a justice on the U.S. Supreme Court
  • Amanda Gorman, American poet and activist who became the first National Youth Poet Laureate of the United States in 2017; she presented her poem, "The Hill We Climb," at the inauguration of U.S. President Joe Biden
  • Fannie Lou Hamer, voting, civil, and women's rights activist; in collaboration with the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), she organized Mississippi's Freedom Summer
  • Katherine Johnson, mathematician for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) whose calculations of orbital mechanics are viewed as foundational to the success of the first and subsequent space flights by U.S. astronauts
  • Marsha P. Johnson, a key figure of the 1960s LGBTQ+ rights movement in the U.S., AIDS activist, and performer
  • Martin Luther King, Jr., minister and civil rights leader; winner of the 1964 Nobel Peace Prize for combating racism through nonviolent protest and civil disobedience
  • John Lewis, American civil rights leader and U.S. Congressman; he was one of 13 original Freedom Riders and served as Chairman of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)
  • Barack Obama, attorney, U.S. Congressman, writer, and 44th President of the United States
  • Michelle Obama, attorney, writer, and former First Lady of the United States
  • Rosa Parks, long-time civil rights activist, well-known for her pivotal role in the 1955-56 Montgomery, Alabama, bus boycott
  • Tupac Shakur, American rapper and actor

Who did we miss? Thousands! There are so many important people and events in Black and African American history and culture. These posters offer only a sampling of the rich tapestry of Black and African American resistance, persistence, and success.  

History / Political Science, African American Studies
Check out our Constitution Day and REACH Act resources
12/14/2022
profile-icon John Barnett
0 Comments

In commemoration of Constitution Day (held this year on Saturday, September 17), we have created a library guide featuring foundational documents in American history and government.

This guide provides links to key documents including the U.S. Constitution, the Declaration of Independence, the Emancipation Proclamation, and the Federalist Papers, among many others. South Carolina Act 26 of 2021, better known as the REACH Act, requires undergraduate students to complete a three-credit course that involves reading these and other founding documents.

This guide also offers background information on the REACH Act, including related guidelines from the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education (CHE); resources documenting segregation, integration, the Civil Rights Movement, and other aspects of the African American Freedom Struggle; additional readings on Indigenous People's rights and justice; and a list of current USC Upstate courses that fulfill REACH Act requirements.

History / Political Science, African American Studies