Thank you for using the USC Upstate Library's Political Science Guide. This guide is designed to provide an introduction to general political science resources that are available in our library, both in print and those available electronically. Check out the "SPOTLIGHT: New Book Titles" box and the "SPOTLIGHT: E-Books" box on the front page to see some of the recently purchased titles available.
In addition, books from throughout the state of South Carolina can be quickly and easily requested and delivered to you in a matter of days via PASCAL Delivers. Please let us know if you have any suggestions for changes to this guide or for book or journal purchases that you believe would be beneficial for your research. Thanks!
Attack from Within
by
MSNBC's legal expert breaks down the ways disinformation has become a tool to drive voters to extremes, disempower our legal structures, and consolidate power in the hands of the few. In Attack from Within, legal scholar and analyst Barbara McQuade, shows us how to identify the ways disinformation is seeping into all facets of our society and how we can fight against it. Disinformation is designed to evoke a strong emotional response to push us toward more extreme views, unable to find common ground with others. The false claims that led to the breathtaking attack on the Capitol in 2020 may have been only a dress rehearsal. Attack from Within shows how to prevent it from happening again, thus preserving democracy.
Corruption and Illiberal Politics in the Trump Era
by
This book explores the nexus of corruption, late capitalism, and illiberal politics in the Trump era. Through deep, contextualized analysis and careful critique, it offers valuable perspectives on how corruption is defined and understood in the current historical moment. The book asks: Is today's corruption something new, or is it a continuation of prior patterns of illiberalism? Chapters in this collection consider how corruption is practiced, mobilized, or invoked in a range of cases, each of which is embedded within larger concerns about what citizenship, social belonging, honesty, and justice mean in the United States today. The authors examine a constellation of unscrupulous actors and questionable actions, with topics ranging from sex scandals and shady real estate deals to the Trump administration's response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Several essays directly address the increasingly violent rhetoric and the deliberately anti-democratic policies that have flourished during the Trump era. The book draws on anthropological insights and comparative analysis to place the policies and practices of Trump and his supporters in a wider global context. Corruption and Illiberal Politics in the Trump Era will be of great interest to readers from anthropology, sociology, political science, discourse studies, media studies, linguistics, and American studies.
Disruption?
by
What happens when a tradition-bound institution encounters an iconoclastic president intent on changing how the government operates? In Disruption?, Sean M. Theriault has gathered nineteen leading authors from a range of subfields to provide a compelling understanding for if, how, and to what extent Trump disrupted the Senate. As the authors argue, Trump became trapped in the norms and rules of the Senate on some dimensions, while he became the story to which all senators needed to respond on others. This book shows how multiple facets of the Senate changed during Trump's presidency, including the legislative process, party leadership, roll-call voting, and communications. Comprehensive in its coverage of the period and embedding it in a deep historical context, this book highlights how these changes reflected back on to not only the Trump administration, but also the very legitimacy of the Senate itself.
How Fascism Works
by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * "No single book is as relevant to the present moment."--Claudia Rankine, author of Citizen "With unsettling insight and disturbing clarity, How Fascism Works is an essential guidebook to our current national dilemma of democracy vs. authoritarianism."--Jelani Cobb, New Yorker staff writer A Yale philosopher identifies the ten pillars of fascist politics, and charts their horrifying rise and deep history--now with a new preface. As a scholar of philosophy and propaganda and the child of refugees of WWII Europe, Jason Stanley has long understood that democratic societies, including the United States, can be vulnerable to fascism. In How Fascism Works, he identifies ten pillars of fascist politics--an appeal to the mythic past, propaganda, anti-intellectualism, unreality, hierarchy, victimhood, law and order, sexual anxiety, favoring "the heartland," and a dismantling of public goods and unions--that amount to an urgent diagnosis of the tactics right-wing politicians use to break down democracies and a critical lens on the current moment. Stanley knits together reflections on history, philosophy, sociology, and critical race theory with stories from contemporary Hungary, Poland, India, Myanmar, and the United States, among other nations, making clear the immense dangers of language and beliefs that separate people into an "us" and a "them." By uncovering disturbing patterns that are as prevalent today as ever, Stanley reveals that the stuff of politics--rhetoric and myth--can become policy and reality all too quickly. Only by recognizing them, he argues, can we begin to resist their most harmful effects and return to democratic ideals.
When Women Win
by
"A must-read, sure to engage. . . An important and richly narrated reminder to women of why, 'If you not at the table, you're on the menu.'" --Jessica Valenti, founder of Feministing.com and author of Full Frontal Feminism "Women had to fight first for the vote, and then for the right to be voted for. No one, but no one, has been more crucial to this ongoing struggle than Ellen Malcolm, and no one has more revealing stories to tell, her own plus those of women candidates in all our diversity. When Women Win will give you faith that this country might one day become a democracy." --Gloria Steinem In 1985, aware of the near-total absence of women in Congress, Ellen Malcolm launched EMILY's List, a powerhouse political organization that seeks to ignite change by getting women elected to office. The rest is riveting history: since then, EMILY's List has helped elect 23 women Senators, 12 governors, and 116 Democratic women to the House. When Women Win delivers stories of some of the toughest political contests of the past three decades, including the historic victory of Barbara Mikulski as the first Democratic woman elected to the Senate in her own right and Elizabeth Warren's dramatic Senate win. When Women Win is both a page-turning political drama and an important look at the effects of women's engagement in politics. "Both a rip-roaring political tale and an inspirational blueprint--with every trade secret revealed--of how and why Democratic women have been on the rise in electoral politics for three decades." --Nancy Pelosi, House Democratic leader "Superwoman Ellen R. Malcolm, with Craig Unger, heroically continues to beat the drum for female equality in When Women Win." --Vanity Fair
Identity Politics and Tribalism
by
'Has the world gone mad?'...this is a question that we've heard time and again during the last years. Everyone is convinced that something is wrong with politics, the culture, and our society, but what exactly is the problem and how can we overcome it? This book will guide the reader through a journey that will connect the dots on the various fronts of the culture wars. There is a thread that links together the various expressions of group and identity conflicts in today's West: from Left to Right, from Social Justice Warriors to Trumpites, from feminism to the manosphere, and from critical race theorists to white nationalists. By the end of this book, readers will understand not only the root problem poisoning our culture and society, but also how to rise above it both in our private lives and as citizens.
Politics and Technology in the Post-Truth Era
by
Advances in information and communication technology (ICT) have directly impacted the way in which politics operates today. Bringing together research on Europe, the US, South America, the Middle East, Asia and Africa, this book examines the relationship between ICT and politics in a global perspective. Technological innovations such as big data, data mining, sentiment analysis, cognitive computing, artificial intelligence, virtual reality, augmented reality, social media and blockchain technology are reshaping the way ICT intersects with politics and in this collection contributors examine these developments, demonstrating their impact on the political landscape. Chapters examine topics such as cyberwarfare and propaganda, post-Soviet space, Snowden, US national security, e-government, GDPR, democratization in Africa and internet freedom. Providing an overview of new research on the emerging relationship between the promise and potential inherent in ICT and its impact on politics, this edited collection will prove an invaluable text for students, researchers and practitioners working in the fields of Politics, International Relations and Computer Science.
Women in Politics and Government
by
Women have made a difference in every field imaginable, and they continue to do so today. Women's Lives in History introduces readers to dozens of these remarkable people. Women in Politics and Governmentfeatures groundbreaking activists, senators, judges, prime ministers, and many other political figures. Compelling text and vivid photographs bring these women to life. Features include essential facts, a timeline, a glossary, additional resources, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
The following databases are good places to begin a general search for articles and information related to your research topic in Political Science.
Newspaper articles and television and radio news transcripts.
Journals and conference papers including international publications on politics.
Comprehensive online resource for legislative and executive publications and research.
Coverage of the period includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Video component here: https://tinyurl.com/y76qbfga
Limited full text. Citations, abstracts, and indexing with limited full text of international serials literature in political science and related fields.