Library Services for Students
As a student taking online or hybrid courses or attending classes at locations off the Spartanburg campus, you still have full access to most library resources and services--even print books from our collection! Read on to find out more!
Online Resources
The Library Search is an information discovery search that allows you to find books, media, and articles from selected databases provided by the USC Upstate Library in one search! You can also limit to certain materials.
Tip: log in to the Library Search with your Upstate email address and password to get additional results from databases that require a separate log in and to be able to make requests for library materials and books through PASCAL Delivers.
- Library SearchSearch the Upstate catalog and more!
- For a quick overview of the Library Search, watch this video!
PASCAL (Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries) is a state-wide consortium of more than 50 academic libraries in the state. In addition to providing some of our databases and ebooks, PASCAL has two important services that allow you to borrow print books from other academic libraries (both of these services require the use of your Carolina Card): PASCAL Delivers, a rapid book delivery service, and the Visiting Patron service.
Visiting Patron - If you are in "good standing" with the Upstate Library (i.e., no unpaid fees) and have a Carolina Card, you may go in person to visit another PASCAL member library and check out books. This service is limited to three items with a loan period of three weeks with one three-week renewal.
- PASCAL CatalogThis is a combined catalog of the holdings of PASCAL member libraries. To request an item, make sure you have signed in to the Library Search and choose "Request via PASCAL Delivers" under How To Get It in the record.
- PASCAL Delivers VideoThis video demonstrates how to borrow books using PASCAL Delivers.
- PASCAL Member Libraries ListFind the academic library nearest you!
USC Upstate Library provides access to more than 300 databases comprising articles from various types of publications, books and reference works, streaming video and audio, archival collections, and more! While some results will show up in the Library Search, you will want to search databases directly when you need a more comprehensive search. If articles do not have full text in the database you search, use Journal Search (a tab in the Library Search) to find the full text in other databases. Articles without full text in any of our databases may be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.
- A-Z Database ListAll USC Upstate databases, arranged alphabetically. Also searchable by subject and type.
- Journal Search VideoLearn how to use Journal Search to find the full text of articles.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain the full text of articles not available in Upstate Library databases or books not available through PASCAL Delivers. This page gives instructions on using the service.
- Ask-A-LibrarianUse this page to ask us for assistance through chat, email, or using the phone.
- Book a LibrarianMake an appointment for a research consultation with a librarian. In person and virtual options.
- Library GuidesLibrary Guides are created by librarians for many subjects, courses, and academic help topics. You can often find answers to questions or instructions on using resources by searching the guides.
- Library AccountLog in to the Library Search to access your account under your name in the top right corner. From here, you can request and renew books from the Upstate and PASCAL libraries.
Dr. Andrew Kearns keeps on-site hours at the University Center Library at least one day a week during Fall, Spring, and Summer semesters. Check his office door for the current schedule and feel free to email him or use Book a Librarian if you want to set up an appointment.
Spring 2023: I am currently at UCG on Tuesdays and Wednesdays.