LibGuides: Distance &amp; Online Learners: Support for Faculty

Library Support for Faculty

This page pulls together library services of interest to faculty teaching distance and online courses or courses given at University Center Greenville and other locations off the Spartanburg campus.

The Upstate Library provides a wealth of electronic sources (articles, ebooks, images, streaming audio and video) that can be linked to your Blackboard course site.

Persistent Links
When linking to materials in databases, it is important to use persistent links (stable urls). This guide explains how to create persistent links.

Here are some of the more important databases for streaming video and ebooks:

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Covers areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos that can be incorporated into course management software and viewed in class or on any computer. Films span many subject areas.
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Array of current and hard-to-find feature film titles, including some Twentieth Century Fox/Fox Searchlight titles not available via Digital Campus.

Digital Campus by Swank Motion Pictures
For streaming access to theatrical films and documentaries from most major studios (with the exception of 20th Century Fox), you may use this web site to search for films that can be requested through your library liaison. Allow three weeks for processing your request. When approved, you will receive a streaming link that can be placed in Blackboard.

eBook Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
One of the large ebook collections covering all subjects. Includes many titles formerly part of NetLibrary as well as titles purchased by the Upstate Library. Additional titles are provided by PASCAL. They are included in SearchUp, but you can also search this database directly.
For more information on how to use EBSCO e-books, visit https://ebsco.libguides.com/ebooks
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A large collection covering all subject areas. Ebook Central combines and expands the former EBL and ebrary products. Many of these titles are provided by PASCAL. Although they are included in SearchUp, you can also search the database directly.
For detailed tutorials on how to use ProQuest Ebook Central, visit http://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral

USC Upstate LibGuide: Multimedia Resources
There are many library databases that include digital images, audio, and video that can be linked to your course. Use this guide to explore them!

Library Instruction
Library instruction includes much more than face to face library sessions! Synchronous and asynchronous library sessions are available. We also have a range of online materials and the ability to customize library guides or even to create tutorials for your course. Visit this page to learn more!
Course Reserves Page
You may place personal and library materials on reserve for your course at the USC Upstate Circulation Desk. The Library can also assist with electronic reserves disseminated through Blackboard.
Affordable Learning Upstate
The Library and the Center for Academic Innovation and Faculty Support partner to help faculty make learning more affordable for students through finding and using OER (open educational resources) and library subscription resources and revising courses to take advantage of open and inclusive pedagogies.
Scholarly Communications Page
The purpose of this library guide is to provide a basic understanding of Copyright, Public Domain, Fair Use, Creative Commons, and Affordable Learning. Resources for students, faculty, and staff and to help others are available. Read through the materials to gain skills for employing copyright while learning, creating, and educating.

Ask-A-Librarian
Use this page to ask us for assistance through chat, email, or using the phone.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
With ILL Express! you may place Interlibrary Loan requests, check the status of your requests, renew materials, and communicate with the Interlibrary Loan Department - all through your web browser.
Scan & Deliver
Scan and Deliver is a service provided by the USC Upstate Library Access Services Department. The Library will send articles and book chapters to your desktop as an email attachment. This service is available at no charge to USC Upstate Faculty and Staff. All Scan and Deliver requests must be submitted electronically using this form.
Proxy Card Application
Proxy Cards allow faculty to assign a designated representative to check out and retrieve library materials for them. Faculty must review information, accept responsibility and request a proxy card online.

Andrew Kearns is available to teach library instruction sessions and provide reference services for students and faculty at University Center Greenville.

Spring 2023: I am currently at UCG on Tuesdays and Wednesdays.