HIST 300 - Introduction to Historical Studies: Important Journals on Modern China

Below is a list of some of the most important academic journals used for the study of modern China.  The USC Upstate Library has access to each of these journals, sometimes via more than one database.  Please ensure you look at the date range covered for each journal, as databases differ in the length of coverage they have available.  You will need to search for these journals using the Journal Search feature, by entering the TITLE of the journal (not an article title).  

• Modern China - available from 1975 - present; appears in multiple databases; most recent 4 years NOT available on a rolling basis
• Journal of Asian Studies - available from 11/1941 - present; appears in multiple databases; most current year(s) NOT available on a rolling basis (embargo is from 1-4 years, depending on the database)
• Twentieth-century China - available from 11/1997
  • previous title:  Republican China - available from 11/1983 - 4/1997
• Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies - available from 4/1936 - present; most recent 6 years NOT available on a rolling basis
• Positions - available from 9/1999

Here are some additional journals that may be useful in your scholarship.  Coverage can be limited for some titles; all titles listed are available in databases that USC Upstate subscribes to.  

• Frontiers of History in China - available from 2006 - 2019
• Nan nü: Men, Women, and Gender in China - available from 2000; most recent 3 years NOT available on a rolling basis.
• Late Imperial China - available from 1965 to present