Historic Newspapers and Digital Newspaper Collections - HIST 300 - Introduction to Historical Studies - LibGuides at University of South Carolina Upstate

NEW RESOURCE! Historical African American Newspapers Online - a LibGuide at Marist College.

Elizabeth Clarke, a librarian at the James A. Cannavino Library at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, NY, has developed an excellent primary source LibGuide, Historical African American Newspapers Available Online (click the link to access the guide). The content is current and is continuously being updated as more newspapers come online. The content note reads:

"This guide provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google. The content is available for free, though it is at the discretion of the institution providing the content. The newspapers contained within guide are those that have ceased to operate or are currently running papers with archives available. It does not include papers that are currently running and only offer access to the most recent articles."

If you know the name of the newspaper you are looking for, search using the alphabetical tabs. If you are looking for titles from a particular region of the country, please use the regional tabs. NOTE: the final tab of the guide links to a separate Marist College guide, and is *not* content created by or for USC Upstate.

For general questions about how to use the content of this guide in your research, please reach out to me directly using my contact information on the Home page of *this* guide, Primary Sources.

For specific questions or inquiries about the content of the Historical African American Newspapers Available Online guide, Ms. Clarke's email contact information is located on the Home page of the Marist guide.

Regional Historic Newspapers - Digital Collections

Several academic institutions have made significant collections of regional historical newspapers available in digital format. Please find links to a number of these digital collections below. More states, institutions, and collections will be added as they become available.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
This collection contains 564,984 issues comprising 6,026,128 pages and 42,398,323 articles.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.
Early Newspapers from the State Archives of North Carolina
Through this exhibit page you can view and search North Carolina’s early (1752-1890s) newspapers digitized as part of the 2009 North Carolina Digitization Project funded by a LSTA grant provided by the State Library. In addition to these early papers, many of DigitalNC’s other newspapers are only available thanks to the microfilming and preservation efforts of the State Archives of North Carolina.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press - University of Arizona
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Historic Newspapers of South Carolina
Historic Newspapers of South Carolina provides free online access to historic local and regional newspapers originating throughout South Carolina since the 1700s.
more...less...
The Historic Newspapers of South Carolina repository provides online access to fulltext searchable historic newpspapers originating in South Carolina since it became a state in 1788. The is online collection is a continuation and extension of the South Carolina Digital Newspaper Program (SCDNP) that began in 2009 as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program. The University of South Carolina is one of many institutions that participated in the program as part of a national effort to preserve America's historical newspapers. This site seeks to continue what that program began by continuing to digitize and make accessible as many historical newspapers originating in South Carolina as we can find.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections
The Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections are free to search, free to browse, and free to download. There are four collections on this site, including farm newspapers. These collections contain 179,959 issues from 158 newspapers.
Maryland State Archives - Digital Newspapers
The Digital Newspapers page is the best way of finding and viewing all of the newspapers that the Maryland State Archives makes available online. Titles are listed alphabetically, along with the dates they were published, question marks appear when exact dates are unknown.
Missouri Digital Newspaper Project
The State Historical Society of Missouri is pleased to present a growing collection of digitized historic newspapers. These images are freely available to the public and are keyword-searchable.
Richmond Daily Dispatch (the Civil War Years)
On the eve of the Civil War, Richmond, Virginia's capital since 1780, bustled with the commerce, politics, and enterprise of an active southern city. The Dispatch, one of the city's assorted newspapers, reported on local and world events, creating snapshots of daily life. Both the city and newspaper would experience major changes by early 1865, and both would be left in ruins by April of that year. Using the transcriptions of Richmond's non-partisan newspaper, discover how dramatically the city, and thus the people and fortunes of the South, changed during the course of the war.
Texas Digital Newspaper Program
The Texas Digital Newspaper Program (TDNP) partners with communities, publishers, and institutions to promote standards-based digitization of Texas newspapers and to make them freely accessible via The Portal to Texas History.

Regional Historic Newspapers - More Digital Collections

Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection
A service of the Colorado State Library, the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 4.7 million digitized pages, representing more than 790 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 2023.
Georgia Historic Newspapers
The Georgia Historic Newspapers database is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia as part of Georgia HomePlace. The project is supported with federal LSTA funds administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Georgia Public Library Service, a unit of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.
Historical Jewish Press - National Library of Israel
This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. In Partnership with Tel Aviv University
Lancaster County (Pennsylvania) Digitized Newspapers
Various Lancaster County newspapers have been digitized and are available for free online. Below you will find the digitized newspapers LancasterHistory offers online, as well as additional newspapers digitized by other organizations in the county.
New York State Historic Newspapers
The New York Historic Newspapers project exists to digitize and make freely available for research significant runs of historic newspapers for every county in the state. Pages Available: 11,008,207.
North Carolina Newspapers - Digital NC
This collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina. Browse by title, or try the Advanced Search.
Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection - Penn State University
Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection contain all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War. Newspapers played a prominent role in the conflict. They helped mobilize public opinion for, or against, the war, relayed battlefield developments to their readers, and documented political life on the homefront. Beyond military or political concerns there is much on cultural topics including travel, arts and leisure, sports and contests, and local social events.
Secession Era Newspaper Editorials - Furman University
Partisan newspaper editorials on the Nebraska bill debates; Dred Scott; John Brown's Raid on Harper's Ferry; and the attack on Massachusetts Senator Charles Sumner by South Carolina representative Preston Brooks.
Utah Digital Newspapers
UDN currently contains 3.5 million pages from nearly 200 newspapers. Thanks to an agreement with Ancestry's Newspapers.com, we are currently pursuing a three-year project to digitize all remaining Utah newspapers.
Virginia Chronicle (digital newspapers)
Virginia Chronicle is a historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to full text searching and digitized images of over a million newspaper pages.
This collection contains 183,146 issues comprising 1,361,298 pages and 183,885 articles.
Washington Digital Newspapers
The Washington Digital Newspapers program brings together over 400,000 pages from our earliest online Washington Territorial newspaper collection with titles digitized by the state library as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) and the Institute of Museum and Library Services’ (IMLS) Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA).

HIST 300 - Introduction to Historical Studies: Historic Newspapers and Digital Newspaper Collections

NEW RESOURCE! Historical African American Newspapers Online - a LibGuide at Marist College.

Regional Historic Newspapers - Digital Collections

Regional Historic Newspapers - More Digital Collections

Researching with Historic Newspapers