HIST 300 - Introduction to Historical Studies: Search Strategies for Books

Make use of secondary and reference sources to help you find primary source materials.  These include:

• Bibliographies
• Guides to the Literature in your subject
• Periodical Indexes
• Biographical Resources
• Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
• Secondary Sources (mine the text, footnotes, bibliographies, and acknowledgements for ideas)

When researching history, the best approach is to start broadly by reading general overviews and background material on a particular subject or topic.  The following database provides excellent source material on many subjects through encyclopedias and subject dictionaries.  In the search box, type "historiographies" to return a list of reference materials; narrow your search by adding a second, general topical keyword such as "Renaissance" or "African American".  

Search Locations and Services  (links located at the bottom of the box)

• Books may be found in our library (use the Search catalog), in statewide academic libraries (via the PASCAL Delivers service), nationally, or internationally using different search techniques

• PASCAL Delivers - When a book is unavailable in the USC Upstate library, you may be able to request it for free from another library in the state via the PASCAL Delivers service.  A "Request" link in the catalog record under "Get It" will take you through the steps of requesting the materials.  Books are delivered to the USC Upstate Library (allow up to 5 days for delivery).

• WorldCat - Use this resource to locate books throughout the US and the world, which can be requested through ILL

• Interlibrary loan - Once registered, you can request materials held throughout the US or world
  Allow two weeks or so for delivery of ILL items.

• Many rare historical texts cannot be taken from other libraries, so plan ahead when visiting another collection.

• Library codes may be entered to focus on a specific collection (Example: DLC for the Library of Congress)