Databases and Journal Articles - HIST 300 - Introduction to Historical Studies - LibGuides at University of South Carolina Upstate

Accessing Historic Newspapers through the SC State Library

The South Carolina State Library has access to a number of historic newspapers dating back to the 18th and 19th centuries, including The State (1891-current), through the NewsBank database.

South Carolina residents 18 and older can access materials from the SC State Library (including databases) by registering for a library card.
If you are an out-of-state student, you must use your USC Upstate email and local mailing address when applying.
Applications can be completed by visiting the SC State Library website here.

History Databases - Best Bets!

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the only source available that covers South Carolina history journals
Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York This link opens in a new window
Residential and business directories, organization records, urban guidebooks, and more from the New-York Historical Society.
Historical Newspapers of South Carolina This link opens in a new window
Historic local and regional newspapers throughout South Carolina dating back to the 1700s.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
U.S. and world history topics including primary source material.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to journals in the humanities, social sciences, and science.

*JSTOR NOW CONTAINS ARTSTOR MATERIALS. ARTSTOR AS ITS OWN DATABASE IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, provided by Cornell University.
Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia.

Newspaper Databases

Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Historical U.S. newspapers provided by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Historical Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes international, African-American, and Jewish titles. For details on collection contents, please see https://search.proquest.com/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=28698
Historical Newspapers of South Carolina This link opens in a new window
Historic local and regional newspapers throughout South Carolina dating back to the 1700s.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Provides historical, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society, and events;
ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Historic Civil War era newspapers collection.

Additional History Databases

History Commons This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives content is now located in History Commons
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of history videos including archival materials, newsreels, and more.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Social Sciences Full Text with Retrospective (1907 to present) (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from social sciences journals.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1823-1978 This link opens in a new window
Records and briefs brought before the US Supreme Court in the period 1823-1978.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
History of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of videos are included in this powerful video resource, which covers history across the globe. There will be well over 1000 videos offered when the collection is complete with documentaries about historical events and figures all over the world.

Direct Links to other History content

This section includes many direct links to various sections of the Archives Unbound database, which is available through USC Upstate. To save time, sections were linked separately, although the full database provides a wealth of information; this list should not be considered exhaustive.

America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, the Vietnam Veterans against the War
This link takes you directly to the section of the ARCHIVES UNBOUND database dealing with Anti-Vietnam War Organizations records in the United States.
American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893
This link takes you directly to the section of the ARCHIVES UNBOUND database dealing with American Indian Correspondence.
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
This link takes you directly to the section of the ARCHIVES UNBOUND database dealing with Federal surveillance of African Americans from 1920-1984.
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records of the Internal Affairs of Japan
This link takes you directly to the section of the ARCHIVES UNBOUND database dealing with U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan from 1930-1949.
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
This link takes you directly to the section in the ARCHIVES UNBOUND database dealing with Life and Culture in Appalachia.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. We carry high quality ebooks: Our ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.
more...less...
Mostly titles in the public domain. Some copyrighted titles are included, for which permission for unlimited non-commercial worldwide use has been given.
SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting in Occupied Countries
This link takes you directly to the section of the ARCHIVES UNBOUND database dealing with the SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries.
The War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824
This link takes you directly to the section of the ARCHIVES UNBOUND database dealing with The War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824.
The War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas
This link takes you directly to the section of the ARCHIVES UNBOUND database dealing with documents issued during the War of 1812, including letters of marque and reprisal to private armed vessels permitting them to "cruise against the enemies of the United States."
U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
This link takes you directly to the section of the ARCHIVES UNBOUND database dealing with U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950.

HIST 300 - Introduction to Historical Studies: Databases and Journal Articles

Accessing Historic Newspapers through the SC State Library

History Databases - Best Bets!

Newspaper Databases

Additional History Databases

Direct Links to other History content