College Majors Display

09/03/2024

Michael Sanders

No Subjects

Throughout the month of September, the USC Upstate Display Committee will have a display that will focus on different campus majors. As students are back on campus, they are currently either choosing majors, changing majors, or learning more of their majors. Our library has a very impressive number of materials about the different majors available at USC Upstate. This committee wanted to highlight these valuable resources for any student with this display. We could not highlight every campus major on one single display but tried to represent all the majors we could on it. All the material currently on the display is available for checkout. We are hoping that all students will see these materials and decorations and feel intrigued to learn more about these different subjects. This display will be here throughout September and then we will be preparing for our Halloween display. We are looking forward to everyone seeing this one soon.

No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts

Support the library, get a Goostavo tote bag!

03/28/2025

John Barnett

0 Comments

We invite you to participate in USC Upstate’s Day of Giving, which starts at noon on April 1^st and continues until noon on April 2^nd.

On this Day of Giving, one way that we hope you will support Upstate students is by contributing to the University Library’s Excellence Fund.

We use this fund to build collections and sponsor programs and activities. This includes the library’s Wellness Collection, which supports student mental health and well-being. It also includes our growing textbook collection, which helps reduce the cost of education by providing in-demand course materials for check-out. And soon we will use this fund for our forthcoming leisure reading collection, which will offer students a break from their studies to explore their love of reading and learning.

The fund also supports library outreach activities. Over the past year, in conjunction with the local non-profit Walt’s Waltz, we’ve held painting workshops to foster student well-being. We’ve hosted an exhibit and event on climate sustainability and stream conversation, in collaboration with the university’s Watershed Ecology Center. We’ve built student awareness of volunteer and career opportunities through the Non-Profit Career Fair. And in our “library of things” we’ve provided puzzles, games, fidget toys, podcasting equipment, and more for student enjoyment and relaxation.

We are excited about these collections and activities – we feel it makes the library a vibrant “third place” where students will want to study and learn and feel that they belong.

As extra incentive to donate to the Excellence Fund, for those who contribute $50 or more, you’ll receive one of our new branded tote bags, featuring Goostavo, the library’s mascot. Goostavo has quite the fan following! So make a gift today and get a tote bag while supplies last.

On behalf of the USC Upstate Library and the students we serve – Thank you for your gift!

No Subjects

New exhibit -- Bittersweet Harvest, The Bracero Program, 1942-1964

08/20/2024

John Barnett

0 Comments

Photo of Mexican Braceros arriving in Los Angeles by train in 1942 Now on view in the library's 1st floor gallery space (past the library café and adjacent to the study rooms) is the poster exhibit, Bittersweet Harvest: The Bracero Program, 1942-1964. This bilingual exhibit (Spanish-English) examines the experiences of Mexican guest workers and their families during World War II and in the post-war era. Then some 2 million Mexican men came to the U.S. on short-term labor contracts in what became the largest guest worker program in American history, the Emergency Farm Labor Program, also known as the Bracero Program. ("Bracero" is a Spanish word indicating "manual laborer" or "one who works using his arms.")

The posters feature images and interviews by documentary photographer Leonard Nadel (1916-1990), who chronicled the experiences of Braceros. Because of World War II labor shortages, the U.S. initiated a series of agreements with the government of Mexico to recruit guest workers for American farms and railroads. Although the work was grueling and the Braceros experienced exploitation, discrimination, segregation, family separation, and other ills, the laborers made a significant impact on the political, economic, and social climate of both the United States and Mexico.

The exhibit is bookended by two posters from the Mr. Johnson Paints portrait series, one of César Estrada Chávez (1927-1993) and the second of Dolores Fernández Huerta (1930- ). Chávez was an Arizona-born Mexican American farm laborer, who later became a labor leader and civil rights activist. Huerta is a New Mexico-born, California-based Mexican American labor leader and civil rights activist. Huerta and Chávez founded the National Farm Workers Association (NFWA), which evolved into the United Farm Workers (UFW) labor union. Through the activism of Chávez, Huerta, and others, the Bracero Program ended in 1964.

The exhibit was organized by the National Museum of American History in collaboration with the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service (SITES) and received support from the Latino Initiatives Pool, administered by the Smithsonian Latino Center. The photographs featured in the exhibit are by Leonard Nadel.

At USC Upstate, the exhibit is presented by the library in collaboration with the South Carolina Centro Latino.

***

Image credit: "The first Braceros arriving in Los Angeles by train in 1942" by Dorothea Lange, working for the US Government, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

No Subjects

Day of Giving: University Libraries Excellence Fund

04/05/2024

John Barnett

0 Comments

Library Dean John Barnett holds a sign reading "Thank you, sincerely the students of USC Upstate" in celebration of the University's Day of Giving. He is standing in front of a bookshelf with books and other materials from the library's wellness collection. The University of South Carolina Upstate's spring Day of Giving is set for Tuesday, April 9.

The library encourages you to make a charitable concentration to support the university. There are a number of excellence funds that you can donate to, which provide extra funding to the library's colleges (the George C. Johnson College of Business, the Mary E. Black College of Nursing, the College of Science and Technology, et al.). Follow this link to read more about these funds.

One of these funds is the University Libraries Excellence Fund, which supports all aspects of the USC Upstate Library. This includes funding for the acquisition of new books (both print and electronic); magazines, journals, and other periodicals; and e-resources and digital collections. These resources support the learning, teaching, and research needs of USC Upstate's students, faculty, and staff.

The fund also pays for needed upgrades to library computers and equipment. Gifts to this fund help in the upkeep of individual study rooms and library facilities. Gifts also provide funding for library programs and events.

We encourage you to give as you are able, whether to support the library, other USC Upstate units and services, or the university as a whole. The Day of Giving represents one way to support the library and the university--but there are additional ways you can do so. Click here to read more about how you can give to the USC Upstate Library. You can read more about the university's giving program by following this link.

Thank you for your support of the USC Upstate Library and the University of South Carolina Upstate!

***

Image courtesy of USC Upstate. Library Dean John Barnett and the students, faculty, and staff of USC Upstate thank you for your support of the university's Day of Giving.

No Subjects