USC Upstate Library News - LibGuides at University of South Carolina Upstate

A row of construction helmets and shovels featuring the USC Upstate logo. The shovels are sticking out of the ground and the helmets are placed on top. It's happening!

The ground has finally been broken on a $21 million addition to the USC Upstate Library building. Construction on the new addition will start in May 2024 and continue until summer 2025. The South Carolina General Assembly provided the funding for this building, the first new construction on the USC Upstate campus since 2009.

The new addition will provide a campus focal point for student success services, such as advising, tutoring, study hall, and career management, and the Center for International Education.

In the current architectural plan, a bridge will connect the addition to the existing library's 2nd floor. Student Success, Career Management, and other Academic Affairs operations currently located on the library's 2nd floor will relocate to the new building once it is complete.

Once those services move to their new home, another round of library renovations will begin. Future renovations include improved access to the library from the parking lot, more study rooms and improved quiet study space, and a digital learning lab/makerspace.

The USC Upstate Library is now providing more support to student and faculty research needs via a new paid subscription to the database, Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate. This database contains thousands of peer-reviewed journal articles and is an ideal resource for those researching the hard sciences (biology, chemistry, etc.), computer science, informatics, engineering, Advanced Manufacturing Management, or Engineering Technology Management.

The following is the description of Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate from the database provider EBSCO:

"Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate, the flagship database for STEM research, boasts an extensive collection of 2,221 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review. It covers a wide range of science and technology topics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies."

You can access the database via this link: https://uscupstate.libguides.com/appliedscitechultimate.

You will need to log into your USC Upstate account to access this database.

If you have any questions about how you or your students can use this database, please contact an Upstate librarian.

Close up of dog with large nose If you've visited the library this week, you may have noticed a funny smell--a mix of oil, turpentine, and asphalt maybe?

While it's nothing to sniff at, the odor is harmless. The smell--along with the noises you hear from above, especially on 2nd floor--means that progress is being made on the library's new roof.

Work will continue on the roof through the fall semester. We appreciate your patience and understanding while this needed renovation is underway.

Annotated Bibliography Help and more...

Check out this LibGuide to learn about the parts of an Annotated Bibliography. There are links, videos and example annotated bibliographies provided
https://uscupstate.libguides.com/Annotated_Bib
The citation styles library guide provides a ton of support for creating citations.
https://uscupstate.libguides.com/citationstyles
Still need some guidance? Check out the Writing Center:

Shovels at the ready! Library expansion breaks ground

Similar Posts

Annotated Bibliography Help and more...