Showing of Results

New E-Resource: Mometrix eLibrary

01/13/2023
profile-icon John Barnett

The USC Upstate Library is excited to announce the addition of a new e-resource to its collections--Mometrix eLibrary.

Mometrix eLibrary offers a wealth of test preparation materials for career and professional certifications. These will help students preparing to enter the workforce or the next phase of their academic career. The eLibrary includes study materials for over 1,800 different exams in 16 subject areas, including,

  • Nursing and other health and medical professions (NCLEX)
  • Education and teaching (Praxis)
  • Business, finance, and industry (CMA, CPA, CFP, and Six Sigma)
  • Public service and law (ASVAB)
  • Counseling and social work
  • Exercise science and nutrition (CSCS)
  • English as a foreign language (IELTS, TOEFL)

This e-resource also offers materials that will help students prepare for college entrance and graduate and professional school exams, including the GMAT, the GRE, GRE subject tests, the LSAT, the MCAT, and more. Test preparation materials include interactive flashcards, practice test questions, exam "secrets," and study guides.

Mometrix eLibrary is available to Upstate students, staff, and faculty both on- and off-campus via the library's A-Z database list.

No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts
New databases and digital collections
08/19/2024
profile-icon John Barnett
0 Comments

Handheld magnifying glassIn the mad dash at the end of academic year 2023-2024, we forgot to share some important news about new e-resources the library has added to its collections. So here goes:

  • Business Source Ultimate - This database offers a wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other information resources that provide historical data and current trends on global business. Included are some 3,460 active full-text journals, magazines, and business reports from providers such as Business Monitor International, Standard & Poors, Marketline, HIS Global CountryWatch, and Barnes Reports.
  • MEDLINE Ultimate - This database provides even more access to full-text research and information in disciplines such as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences, among others.
  • The Nation Archive - A digital collection of the well-regarded American political and cultural journal, The Nation. Coverage is from 1865 to June 2020.
  • The New Republic Archive - A digital collection of another well-regarded American political and cultural journal, The New Republic. Coverage is from 1914 to June 2020.
  • Statista - This is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics sources in more than 170 industries. Nevertheless, the statistical resources available should be of interest to students, staff, and faculty across many disciplines.

These new resources support student learning and faculty teaching and research across the disciplines. They are available on campus and off campus to members of the USC Upstate community. Please let us know how useful you find them and how you use them for your assignments and research!

***

Image credit: Tomomarusan, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Business / Economics, History / Political Science, Nursing / Health
Now Viewing: “Pollination Investigation"
08/24/2023
profile-icon Virginia Alexander Cononie
0 Comments

“Pollination Investigation” exhibit at USC Upstate Library

On Display from August through December 2023
Library Open-air Terrace

The USC Upstate Library is pleased to present “Pollination Investigation,” a poster exhibit that explores the who, what, when, where, why, and how of pollination by interpreting the unique relationship between pollinators and flowers.

This poster exhibit will be on display through December 2023 on the library’s open-air terrace near the main entrance. “Pollination Investigation” was created by Smithsonian Gardens in collaboration with the National Museum of Natural History and is distributed by the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service.

Nearly 90% of flowering plants rely on approximately 200,000 species of animal pollinators for fertilization. “Pollination Investigation” showcases how pollinators are vital for a strong ecosystem as most plants need their help to fertilize flowers and reproduce. The exhibition features seven “pollinator profiles” for bees, beetles, butterflies, hummingbirds, flies, moths, and wind (along with special references to bats and water). Using a field-journal theme, each profile describes the pollinators’ favorite flowers based on floral characteristics, encouraging exploration into flower shape, color, scent, and more. The posters are designed to educate and inspire people to explore the natural world by looking at flowers and insects.

The exhibit is located outside on the library's open-air terrace. This exhibit is presented in support of the university's Preface First-Year Reading and Writing Program, which in the 2023-24 academic year emphasizes the natural world and environmental sustainability. 

picture of flowers with smithsonian logos

Biology / Chemistry, General / Multidisciplinary
News Media Literacy posters & new course
02/01/2023
profile-icon John Barnett
0 Comments

Now on view on the terrace at the USC Upstate Library's main entrance are a series of posters created by the News Literacy Project, a national education nonprofit organization dedicated to creating a "more news-literate America."

The posters featured are designed to help readers and viewers "know your news" by

  • Understanding what is news and what isn't
  • Identifying quality journalism and news reporting
  • Identifying types of misinformation
  • Understanding bias in the media and in public opinion
  • Identifying conspiratorial thinking
  • Learning what information to trust and what to be wary of
  • "Sanitizing what you share," that is to say, learning how to do your part to stop the spread of misinformation

These posters will be on view through spring semester 2023.

New library course

The posters also announce a new 1-hour credit course, LIBR U105: News Media Literacy, which will be taught in the second half of spring semester 2023 (February 27-April 21) by Reference and Instruction Librarian Erika Montgomery.  The course will provide an introduction to critically evaluating information in the news media. Topics will include misinformation, disinformation, and fake news. Students will explore biases in the media, as well as their own personal biases and how those affect the way they interpret media. Students will also learn different ways people can be misled and how false information spreads.

The prerequisite to this course is ENGL U101.

 

General / Multidisciplinary