USC Upstate Library News - LibGuides at University of South Carolina Upstate

Close-up of interpoint Braille page In celebration of National Blindness Awareness Month (October) and National Braille Week (October 9-15, 2023), members of the library's Accessibility Committee have prepared a display to show how important braille is for people with low vision and blindness. The display is located on the library's main floor near the staircase. It includes inspirational stories of how braille is used today; a few facts about the inventor, Louis Braille; pictures of braille writing and reading tools; and hands-on activities to help sighted people get a "feel" for braille. It also includes an explanation of the braille "cell." Check out the display and see if you can *read* a word or two on the board. Then try to *spell* a word or two using the braille practice cards.

The display also includes information about the National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled. Feel free to take a brochure to give to someone who might want to check into receiving this free library service.

Also included is a list of braille books owned by the USC Upstate Library. If you would like to see one of these books, feel free to ask at the Access Services desk.

This display will remain on view through Friday, October 27.

***

Image: Close-up of interpoint braille page

Image credit and usage. (Via Wikimedia Commons; by Lrcg2012; CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported)

With the Spring season approaching, the USC Upstate Display Committee wanted to do a display that focused on either science, nature, or animals. After some discussion and planning the committee decided for March that our display would focus on animals in nature and the solar system. Many people enjoy astronomy, astrology, or animals, so we thought this would be a perfect fit. Our students and patrons might not be aware that we have books on these different subjects, so we hope that by highlighting a selection from our collection they will be well informed. The committee worked diligently to find both decorative items and items for this display. We hope everyone who comes to the library will see our display and become more educated about animals and planets. Every book on display is available for checkout. In April we will transition our display to focus on the solar system and ocean life. Please be on the lookout for that display coming soon.

The USC Upstate Library is excited to announce our latest display “Movie Anniversaries.” The year 2024 is a big year for many famous movies to reach an anniversary milestone. These movies are turning 40, 35, 30, 25, and 20 this year. The display committee thought it would be a great and unique opportunity to highlight these iconic movies from the library’s collection throughout the entire summer. Summer is also an ideal time to watch movies. The display will also include a list of all the selected movies we have available in our collection. The display committee will be rotating this selection of movies out from the shelves to the display case throughout the summer. All of them will be available to checkout for viewing at any point. We are hoping that any library patron of any age will see the display this summer and will feel nostalgic or intrigued about these movies. We also hope that highlighting these materials in our collection helps ensure our patrons that physical media continues to thrive.

The USC Upstate Library Display Committee is excited to announce our latest display themed around “Sparty Gras” for Homecoming 2024 at USC Upstate. With Mardi Gras coming up, the university decided this year’s homecoming theme should reflect both the carnival celebration and our campus mascot. Inspired by this theme, our committee wanted to portray our school spirit by highlighting material and decorations about Mardi Gras, while also including campus yearbooks to reflect the university’s history. Every item that is on display is available for checkout. In addition, this display will have a corresponding QR code for people to view a digital campus timeline exhibit for homecoming on their devices. A link to this digital timeline exhibit is also available at the end of this message. The archives and special collections created this digital timeline using their various materials and resources. We hope our patrons will appreciate these items on display and learn more about both Mardi Gras and the campus’s historical 57 years. The Display Committee is now in its second year, and we hope to keep the momentum going by creating more exciting displays and highlighting materials and sections of our library collection. http://tinyurl.com/USCUpstateTimeline

October is National Blindness Awareness Month

Similar Posts