Showing of Results

Library Renovation Update

06/10/2021
profile-icon Virginia Alexander Cononie
No Subjects

Where is the library? Map Image of Campus

The second floor of the CLC.

What hours will the library be open? 

Check library hours here.

Can I request books? 

Yes! To request books, watch this video. You will get an email when your book is ready to be picked up at the CLC. 

Can I still use ebooks and databases? 

Yes! Our online services will not change. You will have 24/7 access to all of our online materials. 

How can I get research help?

There are three ways to get research help:

  1. Visit the CLC library and a Reference Librarian can help you in person 
  2. Use Ask a Librarian chat for 24/7 reference help
  3. Book a Librarian for one-on-one reference help 

Will online instruction be available? 

Yes! Please email John Siegel, Coordinator of Information Literacy, for instruction information or contact your specific library liaison.

Can I visit the archives? 

The University Archives will be closed to visitors.  However, the archivist and her staff will be available for consultations and research inquiries.  Email libarch@uscupstate.edu to schedule an appointment. 

What is the best way to stay up to date on Library Renovations?

Follow us on social media! 

Check out our plans!

2018 Library Renovation Plans

No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts
featured-image-164653
Library joy! Popular reads collection debuts
08/22/2025
profile-icon John Barnett
0 Comments

The USC Upstate Library is excited to announce the debut of its new “Popular Reads” collection.

When fully rolled out, the collection will feature nearly 400 current popular fiction and nonfiction titles, all available for 3-week checkouts. While the focus of the collection is on titles that we hope will appeal to students, there should be a book to interest everyone.

This is a "rotating reads" collection, meaning that the library can add the latest popular titles to the collection on an ongoing basis. We can also return books that don't circulate and replace them with different titles. And if the book proves super popular, we may add it to our permanent collection. In this way, the collection stays current and adaptable to reader interests.

As you have time, please stop by the library to browse the collection. You can also use our online discovery tool to search for titles.

All students, staff, and faculty with a valid ID can check out titles from the collection.

Don’t see a book that appeals to you? Let us know, and we’ll investigate adding it or a similar title to the collection.

Happy reading!

 

Image: Coordinator of Library Instructional Services John Siegel shows his “library joy” at the debut of the library's “Popular Reads” collection. 

Image credit: Kerrie Channel, 2025

No Subjects
Now Viewing: “Pollination Investigation"
08/24/2023
profile-icon Virginia Alexander Cononie
0 Comments

“Pollination Investigation” exhibit at USC Upstate Library

On Display from August through December 2023
Library Open-air Terrace

The USC Upstate Library is pleased to present “Pollination Investigation,” a poster exhibit that explores the who, what, when, where, why, and how of pollination by interpreting the unique relationship between pollinators and flowers.

This poster exhibit will be on display through December 2023 on the library’s open-air terrace near the main entrance. “Pollination Investigation” was created by Smithsonian Gardens in collaboration with the National Museum of Natural History and is distributed by the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service.

Nearly 90% of flowering plants rely on approximately 200,000 species of animal pollinators for fertilization. “Pollination Investigation” showcases how pollinators are vital for a strong ecosystem as most plants need their help to fertilize flowers and reproduce. The exhibition features seven “pollinator profiles” for bees, beetles, butterflies, hummingbirds, flies, moths, and wind (along with special references to bats and water). Using a field-journal theme, each profile describes the pollinators’ favorite flowers based on floral characteristics, encouraging exploration into flower shape, color, scent, and more. The posters are designed to educate and inspire people to explore the natural world by looking at flowers and insects.

The exhibit is located outside on the library's open-air terrace. This exhibit is presented in support of the university's Preface First-Year Reading and Writing Program, which in the 2023-24 academic year emphasizes the natural world and environmental sustainability. 

picture of flowers with smithsonian logos

Biology / Chemistry, General / Multidisciplinary
Using the Library: COVID-19 Response
09/13/2021
profile-icon Virginia Alexander Cononie
0 Comments

We are so excited to welcome new and returning library users to our renovated space. Whether you are here to study, ask questions, conduct research, attend class, or meet up with friends, we are happy to see you. We want to create a healthy environment that supports study, research, and relaxation.

Student and Library Patron Users should:

Library Faculty and Staff will:

  • Follow Guidelines
    The library is following guidance from USC Upstate, South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC), and US Centers for Disease Control (CDC) to help limit the spread of COVID-19.
  • Vax UP
    Library Faculty and Staff are getting vaccinated.
  • Mask UP 
    Library Faculty and Staff are wearing masks at service desks and have extras for those who need them.
  • Clean UP 
    The Library offers complimentary masks, disinfectant wipes, and hand sanitizer to limit the spread of COVID-19. University Housekeeping is diligently cleaning shared spaces.
  • Stay home if we are feeling sick.
  • Take Concerns 
    If while using the library you have a concern or need, please approach any service desk and share it with the library faculty and staff member.
No Subjects