Know your News. Sign up today

02/03/2022

Virginia Alexander Cononie

No Subjects

"Know Your News" - News literacy events at the USC Upstate Library

To build student awareness about the differences between news, opinion, and conspiracy theories, the USC Upstate Library is hosting four news literacy events this semester. The “Know Your News” series will include webinars, videos, discussions, and activities that will promote the understanding of news bias and discourage the spread of false information.

There are four events in this series:

"Understanding News Media Bias" (February 2);
"How False Information Spreads" (February 16);
"The Conspiracy Theory Phenomenon" (March 23) and;
"Fighting Bias & Finding the Truth" (April 20).

Extra credit is available to some students for attending, so be sure to ask your professor!

The library is also displaying a series of posters from The News Literacy Project (newslit.org) that highlight these themes and provide students with resources to understand, interpret, and share news knowledgeably.

Sign up to attend: https://forms.office.com/r/fz3cqg31ER

No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts

Library extended and overnight hours begin April 20

04/09/2025

John Barnett

0 Comments

On Easter Sunday, April 20, the USC Upstate Library will begin its overnight and extended hours schedule for the end of spring term and final exams. The library will be open 24 hours a day, 5 days a week, to accommodate your study, research, and computing needs. The library will also have extended hours on select Friday evenings and will be open its regular hours on Saturdays as well.

Here’s the end-of-semester schedule:

Sunday, April 20: Library opens at 2 pm and remains open continuously until Friday, April 25, at 12 midnight (24-hour schedule)
Saturday, April 26: Library is open from 10 am to 5 pm
Sunday, April 27: Library opens at 2 pm and remains open continuously until Friday, May 2, at 12 midnight (24-hour schedule)
Saturday, May 3: Library is open from 10 am to 5 pm
Sunday, May 4: Library opens at 2 pm and remains open continuously until Tuesday, May 6, at 12 midnight (24-hour schedule)

This schedule is based on available staffing and therefore is subject to change.

When the library is closed, students can get research help through the Ask a Librarian chat service. This service is staffed by real people (not bots!) and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

For more information about library hours, including schedule changes, visit the Library Calendar; the library’s website; or check out the library’s social media presence on Facebook and Instagram.

No Subjects

Picturing Women Inventors

03/25/2025

John Barnett

0 Comments

The USC Upstate Library is pleased to present “Picturing Women Inventors,” a poster exhibit that explores the inventions of 19 highly accomplished American women. This poster exhibit will be on view through March and April in the library's cafe and study room area on the 1st floor.

“Picturing Women Inventors” is distributed by the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service (SITES) in collaboration with the Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation and the United States Patent and Trademark Office. The exhibit is sponsored by Lyda Hill Philanthropies IF/THEN Initiative and Ericsson.

About the exhibit

Throughout American history, women with diverse backgrounds and interests created inventions that changed lives every day. But women haven’t always had equal opportunities to be inventors or received as much recognition.

“Picturing Women Inventors” showcases the breakthroughs, motivations, and challenges women encountered while pursuing their goals as inventors. The poster exhibit highlights stories of inventors like Marilyn Hamilton (see picture), who after a hang-gliding accident in 1978 left her paralyzed, invented a lightweight wheelchair that was easy to maneuver. Diversity of background and age are showcased including inventor Alexis Lewis, who at 12-years-old in 2011 was inspired to adapt a traditional Native American sled, called a travois, by adding wheels to create a simpler way to transport families and their belongings in Somalia.

Inventors featured include astronauts, computer pioneers, businesswomen, athletes, engineers, and students, among others.

No Subjects

New databases and digital collections

08/19/2024

John Barnett

0 Comments

In the mad dash at the end of academic year 2023-2024, we forgot to share some important news about new e-resources the library has added to its collections. So here goes:

Business Source Ultimate - This database offers a wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other information resources that provide historical data and current trends on global business. Included are some 3,460 active full-text journals, magazines, and business reports from providers such as Business Monitor International, Standard & Poors, Marketline, HIS Global CountryWatch, and Barnes Reports.
MEDLINE Ultimate - This database provides even more access to full-text research and information in disciplines such as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences, among others.
The Nation Archive - A digital collection of the well-regarded American political and cultural journal, The Nation. Coverage is from 1865 to June 2020.
The New Republic Archive - A digital collection of another well-regarded American political and cultural journal, The New Republic. Coverage is from 1914 to June 2020.
Statista - This is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics sources in more than 170 industries. Nevertheless, the statistical resources available should be of interest to students, staff, and faculty across many disciplines.

These new resources support student learning and faculty teaching and research across the disciplines. They are available on campus and off campus to members of the USC Upstate community. Please let us know how useful you find them and how you use them for your assignments and research!

***

Image credit: Tomomarusan, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Business / Economics, History / Political Science, Nursing / Health