Skip to Main Content Library | USC Upstate

Service Departments

About

Collection development is the process of developing and maintaining the library collections to meet the information needs of Upstate's students, faculty and staff. This includes assessing, acquiring, and managing materials in all formats for all subjects and disciplines. 

All library faculty participate in collection development in certain subjects and/or disciplines by serving as liaisons to academic program departments and schools.  Communication with discipline faculty determines materials needed for enhancing subject areas within the library’s collections.  Participation is encouraged when selecting, de-selecting, and evaluating materials for each respective area.

Subject areas as assigned using the Library of Congress classification system.

Children's award books collected

  1. Aesop Accolade  
  2. Aesop Prize  
  3. American Institute Of  Physics Science Writing Award for Children  
  4. Américas Award  
  5. Américas Honorable Mention  
  6. Asian Pacific American Award for Illustration  
  7. Asian Pacific American Award for Text
  8. Asian Pacific American Honorable Mention for Illustration
  9. Asian Pacific American Honorable Mention for Text  
  10. ASPCA Henry Bergh Award-Fiction Companion Animals  
  11. ASPCA Henry Bergh Award-Fiction Environment And Ecology  
  12. ASPCA Henry Bergh Award-Fiction Humane Heroes  
  13. ASPCA Henry Bergh Award-Illustration  
  14. ASPCA Henry Bergh Award-Non-Fiction Companion Animals  
  15. ASPCA Henry Bergh Award-Non-Fiction Environment and Ecology  
  16. ASPCA Henry Bergh Award-Non-Fiction Humane Heroes  
  17. ASPCA Henry Bergh Award-Poetry  
  18. ASPCA Henry Bergh Award-Young Adult  
  19. ASPCA Henry Bergh Honor-Fiction Companion Animals  
  20. ASPCA Henry Bergh Honor-Fiction Environment and Ecology  
  21. ASPCA Henry Bergh Honor-Fiction Humane Heroes  
  22. ASPCA Henry Bergh Honor-Illustration  
  23. ASPCA Henry Bergh Honor-Non-Fiction Companion Animals  
  24. ASPCA Henry Bergh Honor-Non-Fiction Environment and Ecology  
  25. ASPCA Henry Bergh Honor-Non-Fiction Humane Heroes  
  26. ASPCA Henry Bergh Honor-Poetry  
  27. Boston Globe Horn-Book Award-Fiction  (Until 2000; then Fiction and Poetry)  
  28. Boston Globe Horn-Book Award-Fiction and Poetry  (Beginning 2001)  
  29. Boston Globe Horn-Book Award-Nonfiction  
  30. Boston Globe Horn-Book Award-Picture Book
  31. Boston Globe Horn-Book Honor-Fiction  (Until 2000; then Fiction and Poetry)  
  32. Boston Globe Horn-Book Honor-Fiction and Poetry  (Beginning 2001)  
  33. Boston Globe Horn-Book Honor-Nonfiction  
  34. Boston Globe Horn-Book Honor-Picture Book  
  35. Boston Globe Horn-Book Special Citation  (Sporadic)  
  36. Caldecott Honor  
  37. Caldecott Medal  
  38. Children's Africana Award-Best Book for  Older Readers  
  39. Children's Africana Award-Best Book for Young Children  
  40. Children's Africana Honor  
  41. Coretta Scott King Author Award  
  42. Coretta Scott King Author Award- Special Citation  (One time)
  43. Coretta Scott King Author Honor  
  44. Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award  
  45. Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor  
  46. Giverny Book Award  
  47. Henry Bergh Honor and Award:See ASPCA Henry Bergh  
  48. James Madison Award Book  
  49. James Madison Honor Book  
  50. Jane Addams Award  
    (Until 1992; then Subdivided into Picture Book & Book for Older Children)
  51. Jane Addams Award-Book for Older Children  
  52. Jane Addams Award-Book for Younger Children  
  53. Jane Addams Award-Picture Book  
  54. Jane Addams Award-Special Commendation (One Time)
  55. Jane Addams Honor  
    (Until 1992; then Subdivided into Picture Book & Book for Older Children)
  56. Jane Addams Honor-Book for Older Children  
  57. Jane Addams Honor-Book for Younger Children
    (In 2005 instead of Picture Book Subdivided into Book for Younger Children & Book for Older Children)  
  58. Jane Addams Honor-Picture Book  
  59. Jane Addams Special Recognition   (Sporadic)  
  60. Kate Greenaway Medal  
  61. Margaret A. Edwards Award  
  62. Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature  
  63. Michael L. Printz Honor for Excellence in Young Adult Literature  
  64. Mildred L. Batchelder Award  
  65. Mildred L. Batchelder Honor  
  66. New York Times Best Illustrated Books  
  67. Newbery Honor  68. Newbery Medal  
  68. Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children  
  69. Orbis Pictus Honor for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children
  70. Pura Belpré Award for Illustration  
  71. Pura Belpré Award for Narrative  
  72. Pura Belpré Honor for Illustration  
  73. Pura Belpré Honor for Narrative  
  74. Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Honor  
  75. Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal  
  76. S B & F Prize for Excellence in Science-Children’s Science Picture Book  
  77. S B & F Prize for Excellence in Science-Hands-On Science/Activity Book  
  78. S B & F Prize for Excellence in Science-Middle Grades Science Book  
  79. S B & F Prize for Excellence in Science-Popular Science Book for High School Readers  
  80. Schneider Family Book Award-Young Children  
  81. Schneider Family Book Award-Middle School  
  82. Schneider Family Book Award-Teen  
  83. Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction  
  84. Sydney Taylor Award  (Until 1980; then Subdivided into Older and Younger Readers)  
  85. Sydney Taylor Award For Older Readers  
  86. Sydney Taylor Award For Younger Readers  
  87. Sydney Taylor Honor For Older Readers  
  88. Sydney Taylor Honor for Younger Readers  
  89. Tomás Rivera Mexican American Children's Book Award 
  • What are Public Performance Rights?
    Public Performance Rights (PPR) are the rights to screen visual media to audiences. Copyrighted films (and most films are copyrighted) are not automatically licensed for showing a film in a public space. The only legal exception to this rule is if an instructor shows a film to enrolled students in a face-to-face classroom setting. See more, Showing Films in the Classroom.
     
  • When is PPR needed?
    PPR is needed if media will be shown outside of home viewing or classroom use. This includes film series, lectures, and club events. PPR generally requires that no admission be charged to see the film, and often includes specific regulations that may vary from one film distributor to another. For example, some distributors require a film with PPR to only be shown on campus or to those affiliated with the university    .
     
  • What happens if PPR is not obtained?
    The sponsoring group of the event can be put at legal risk, as well as the owner/renter of the media, if it were shown without the PPR license. For example, if it was a film owned or watched through the library databases, the library’s access to the database could be revoked.
     
  • Does the Upstate Library purchase films with PPR?
    Because of the extra cost, the Upstate Library does not automatically purchase public performance rights for films, though we have purchased some individual titles with PPR. Also, some documentary publishers and distributors do include PPR in the purchase price. Many times if a material has PPR or selected permissions, that is in the item's record notes. 
     
  • Does the Upstate Library have collections that already include PPR?
    Yes! A few of our streaming video databases include PPR as part of our institutional licensing.

    Please see the list below of key databases that include PPR permissions:

Sources used: SUNY Binghamton University and James Madison University