LibGuides: Juvenile / Children's Literature: Finding Reviews & Articles

Book Review Databases

NoveList K-8 Plus

Readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction geared toward K-8 students.
NoveList Plus

Readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

Professional librarians rely on professionally developed content and extensive search capabilities in Enterprise. It is a trusted teaching and learning resource in the majority of universities with degree programs in Education, Literature, or Library and Information Science. Find professional reviews, award-winning titles, and more for analysis of children's and young adult literature.
Book Review Digest Plus with Retrospective (1903 to Present) (H.W. Wilson)

Excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
Gale Literature Resource Center

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

Featured Journals

The following are just a few of the many scholarly journals related to the field of children's literature and can be accessed as electronic resources via the Library catalog.

Web Resources

Below is a collection of open-access databases and online resources covering various topics in children's and young adult literature.

Best of the Web: Children's Literature
Collection of links to various web sources on issues and themes in children's literature from multiculturalism to illustration. Emphasis is on education and curriculum.
Children's Literature Association
The Children’s Literature Association (ChLA) is a non-profit association of scholars, critics, professors, students, librarians, teachers and institutions dedicated to the academic study of literature for children. Scholarly resources can be found by clicking the Scholarly Resources link at the left of the homepage.
Children's Literature Web Guide
The Children's Literature Web Guide is an attempt to gather together and categorize the growing number of Internet resources related to books for Children and Young Adults. Much of the information that you can find through these pages is provided by others: fans, schools, libraries, and commercial enterprises involved in the book world. Internet source for information on books for children and young adults. Contains quick links to popular topics in addition to resources for teachers, librarians, parents and students.
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
The Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University, which is a collection of picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. The collection contains abstracts of over 5700 picture books for children, preschool to grade three. Search over 900 keywords (topics, concepts, and skills) to locate books with story lines adaptable to your curriculum or program.
Cooperative Children's Book Center
Part of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the site provides various resources related to children's and young adult literature.
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature (DAWCL)
Children's Literature
This database has over 9,600 records from 106 awards across six English speaking countries. Instructions for searching the database and an explanation of the indexed awards is included
International Reading Association - Reading Lists
Each year, thousands of children, young adults, teachers, and librarians around the United States select their favorite recently published books for the "Choices" reading lists. These lists are used in classrooms, libraries, and homes to help young readers find books they will enjoy.
The annotated reading lists of Choices selections for the current year are made available in May, just before Children's Book Week, and are available for free download. Check individual Choices programs below for details.
Teachingbooks.net
This website serves as a multifaceted resource on exploring K-12 books, providing multimedia experiences and author interactions along with curriculum help, booklists, and other resources.