Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases with Biographies
Biography in Context
Articles on hundreds of thousands of individuals. (https://tinyurl.com/yavfda6e)
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. (https://tinyurl.com/yxqxw7w7)
Reviews - Journal & Print Sources
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
search in Children's Literature Comprehensive Database for this title. A subscription only journal published by John's Hopkins. One of the nation's leading children's book review journals for teachers and librarians.
Horn Book Magazine
Publishing authoritative reviews of children's and young adult literature since 1945. Electronic archives available for SJSU affiliates via King Library catalog.
Horn Book Guide
This resource is available in many collections this link will take you to the Journal Finder page where you can look at the options. The Horn Book Guide contains the comprehensive collection of all titles reviewed by The Horn Book, in contrast to the magazine's editorial selection of books.
Published through the American Library Association. Authoritative reviews for children's literature as well as books for teens and adults.
For print biographies, search the Library catalog by doing a search using the author or illustrator's name as your search term along with Biography.
Example, if your were looking for biographies of Beatrix Potter, type "Potter, Beatrix AND Biography" into the search box.
Carol Hurst Author's Pages
The authors listed here each have a page on this site where you'll find things such as: their books listed, some biographical information, common topics, similar authors, links to articles and other places their work is mentioned on this site, comments on their work, and links to other sites on the web.
Children's Literature Web Guide
The Children's Literature Web Guide is an attempt to gather together and categorize the growing number of Internet resources related to books for Children and Young Adults. Much of the information that you can find through these pages is provided by others: fans, schools, libraries, and commercial enterprises involved in the book world. Internet source for information on books for children and young adults. Contains quick links to popular topics in addition to resources for teachers, librarians, parents and students.
Children’s Book Council
The Children’s Book Council (CBC) is the nonprofit trade association of children’s book publishers in North America, dedicated to supporting the industry and promoting children’s books and reading.
Cynthia Leitich Smith's Children's & Young Adult Literature Resources
This Web site is a portal into the world of literary trade books for children and young adults. It’s designed to serve young readers, teachers, librarians, child caregivers, undergraduate and graduate students, university professors, writers, and literature enthusiasts of all stripes.
Harper Collins Authors & Illustrators
Harper Collins Children's Books site Authors & Illustrators websites links with Links to author's Web pages, online interviews, information about online and print biographies.
Lexile Framework For Reading
This is a free site that clearly explains the use of lexile (reading) scores for books and materials. It also includes a search box to allow you to check the reading level of a particular title.
Read Write Think
This website is sponsored by the National Council of Teachers of English and the International Reading Association and provides supportive resources for classroom teachers and parents.
Scholastic Teachers - Authors and Illustrators
Enrich your author studies with our collection of biographies and interviews with the best-loved authors in children's literature. .
This website serves as a multifaceted resource on exploring K-12 books, providing multimedia experiences and author interactions along with curriculum help, booklists, and other resources.
Web English Teacher - Children's Literature
Children's Literature is organized by author's last name. If you don't find what you're looking for, please use the search box. A resource may be included in the YA section or in Children's Lit (general).
Hans Christian Andersen: Fairy Tales and Stories
An older website with links to complete stories in translation and links to many other Andersen sites.
Grimm's Fairy Tales
Kidoons versions of Grimm's tales animated versions.
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
A listing of various folk tales and myths and their variations compiled by D.L. Ashliman. Hundreds of tales grouped by tale type. Tales with related themes across different cultures with biographies of writers and links to texts.