Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
During these Trying Times
Accessing children's literature without a visit to the Library to look over books can be a bit daunting but we have collected some websites that can offer you access to children's Literature.
Spartanburg Public Library has increased its outreach in this time of quarantine see their COVID 19 page @ http://www.infodepot.org/COVID-19 for online library cards, access to resources, and other online programs.
Offers both eBooks and Audio books for kids, if you don't have a Library Card check out their page on getting an online card.
Free COVID-19 access to animated story books.
The collection partners well with school library and serves to enhance and support your collection of physical books. And from home, TumbleBooks provides your students with a huge library of books at their fingertips, anytime they want. Best of all, because the collection is digital, there is an unlimited number of copies of each title.
National Emergency Library
Announcing the National Emergency Library, a temporary collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
This site is part of the nonprofit Internet Archive and houses a collection of more than one million books, with access to over 22,000 free online books for kids – classic and newer titles – for free.
ONLINE Children's Books
Children's literature including novels, nonfiction, stories, poems, and kid’s classics all from the out of copyright.
Children's Books Online Rosetta Project
Online Library of pre-1930's books and illustrations digitized for online reading. Some books have been translated in to multiple languages.
Free Children's Books
Original and free access to children's books
The Gateway to the Classics Formerly The Baldwin Online Children's Project
Our library of books to read online includes hundreds of titles in a wide variety of genres, with special emphasis on history, literature, and natural history. In addition to the thousands of stories we make available to you, we now offer a collection of over 2500 poems. A small number of audio recordings of books, poems, and songs are now accessible from some devices.
The Indianapolis Public Library Read Aloud Books
Listed below are more than 100 video read alouds from old classics like Where the Wild Things Are to newer favorites like Little Jumbo. It's story time online! This listening library is available all day every day (and all night!) for returning to old favorites. “Read it again!” has never been easier!
International Children's Digital Library
Searchable / browse-able database of 1,562 children's books from around the world. Includes books in 37 different languages. All can be read online.
This award-winning website from Oxford University Press is your online resource for children’s books and other reading activities. Designed to support their learning at school and at home. Once you register for free, you can access more than 250 free Oxford ebooks for kids along with storytelling videos, games and guides that help them develop their reading skills.
The SAG-AFTRA Foundation records well-known actors reading children’s books and makes graphically dynamic videos so that children around the world can be read to with just the click of a Storyline Online video book image