USC Upstate Library News

• Thursday, November 27 (Thanksgiving holiday) - closed
• Friday, November 28 (Thanksgiving holiday) - closed
• Saturday, November 29 (Thanksgiving holiday) - closed
• Sunday, November 30 - Library open 2 pm to 12 midnight

• Monday, December 1 - Library opens at 7:30 am and remains open 24 hours
• Tuesday, December 2 - Library open 24 hours
• Wednesday, December 3 - Library open 24 hours
• Thursday, December 4 - Library open 24 hours
• Friday, December 5 - Library open until 12 midnight

• Saturday, December 6 - Library open 10 am until 5 pm
• Sunday, December 7 - Library open 2 pm until 12 midnight

• Monday, December 8 - Library open 7:30 am and remains open 24 hours
• Tuesday, December 9 - Library open 24 hours
• Wednesday, December 10 - Library open 24 hours
• Thursday, December 11 - Library open 24 hours
• Friday, December 12 - Library open until 12 midnight 

There's a new archive available in our databases. History of Disabilities: Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century is a collection of primary sources from Gale that provide a historical view of how society has interacted with people considered to have disabilities. 

“Through this collection, researchers will grasp the many forms of institutional discrimination, political exclusion and social control under which disabled individuals struggled over time. Materials chronicle how individuals were classified and treated and how some overcame physical or mental challenges to defy perceptions of being disabled.”- Gale Group press release, April 2024

The materials include books, manuscripts, and ephemera that document personal memoirs, treatment methods, institutional reports, and more.

Read more about this archive, including accessibility and content advisory

You can access the archive here:  https://link.gale.com/apps/HODI?u=uscspart_lib

Questions? Ask a USC-Upstate Librarian! 

Image provided by Gale (North America)

Celebrating Native American Heritage Month

by: Adrienne Fuehrer, USC Upstate Library Intern

Featured Reading (click to view):

• Hearts of Our People: Native Women Artists
• Anetso, the Cherokee Ball Game: At the Center of Ceremony and Identity
• Art of the Cherokee: Prehistory to the Present
• First South Carolinians
• How I Became a Ghost: a Choctaw Trail of Tears Story
• Shanyaak’utlaax: Salmon Boy
• #NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women
• Still This Love Goes On
• Red Medicine: Traditional Indigenous Rites of Birthing and Healing
• I Am Where I Come From: Native American College Students and Graduates Tell Their Life Stores
• Braiding Sweetgrass
• Where Clouds are Formed: Poems
• We Will Always Be Here: Native Peoples on Living and Thriving in the South
• The People Who Stayed: Southeastern Indian Writing After Removal
• Sustaining the Cherokee Family: Kinship and the Allotment of an Indigenous Nation

Featured Films (click to view):

• Native American History, Culture and Heritage - Films on Demand
• Extraordinary Native American Women - Films on Demand

USC Upstate Library now provides access to KBASE! 

KBASE, from Kanopy, is a streaming platform for libraries that lets you watch hundreds of films for free with your USC Upstate login. In addition to diverse academic content, KBASE also includes award-winning documentaries, foreign films, classic Hollywood cinema, Criterion collection, and rare titles. There's something here for every subject!

You can access KBASE here: https://uscupstate.kanopy.com

To watch on your phone or tablet, you will need to download the Kanopy app. 

Don't see a title that you need? You can request it through the KBASE website, contact an Upstate librarian, or come chat with us in person!

Image provided by Kanopy (US) Library Marketing Materials