USC Upstate Library News

decorative-image

Thanksgiving Holiday Hours

11/22/2024

Virginia Alexander Cononie

The Library will observe break hours beginning 11/23 until 12/1. Please see below list for hours:

11/23: 10 AM - 5 PM
11/24: CLOSED
11/25: 7:30 AM - 5 PM
11/26: 7:30 AM - 5 PM
11/27: 7:30 AM - 5 PM
11/28: CLOSED
11/29: CLOSED
11/30: CLOSED
12/1: 2 PM - midnight

Bookmark our hours page! https://uscupstate.libcal.com/

No Subjects

Faculty Research Series: Dr. Walter Lee - Tuesday, November 19 @ 6 p.m.

11/19/2024

John Barnett

The USC Upstate Library is excited to host its fall Faculty Research Series talk featuring Dr. Walter A. Lee, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Middle-Level Education in the College of Education, Human Performance, and Health. Dr. Lee will present Little Thing, Big Difference: Getting to the Core of Life-Changing Classrooms. The event will take place on Tuesday, November 19, 2024 at 6 p.m. in Tukey Theatre (USC Upstate Library), 150 Gramling Drive, Spartanburg, SC 29303.

Dr. Lee will discuss his research exploring the progressive classroom through the CARE framework and its implications on the journey of self-actualization. He asks you to imagine a classroom that invites students and teachers alike to show up in mind, body, and soul, seeing themselves beyond personal limitations.

No registration is required for this event, which is free and open to faculty, staff, students, and community members.

No Subjects

Winter Holiday Display

11/18/2024

Michael Sanders

As the Fall semester is wrapping up, the USC Upstate Library Display committee’s latest theme will be titles and items representing the holiday season. Final exams are approaching, and we wanted to have something festive and appealing for students to see while they are studying in the library. The display will highlight multiple holidays from various cultures celebrated around this time of year. Every book or DVD that is on display is available for check out. In addition to our display, we have included holiday decorations and items at the reference desk as well. We hope our patrons will appreciate all these items on display and be educational to anyone not familiar with one of these holidays. The committee wants all items and decorations expressed here to be inviting and embody a section of our collection our patrons might not know we have.

No Subjects

Subjects

Advanced Manufacturing Management (AMM) / Engineering Technology Management (ETM)

1

African American Studies

4

Astronomy / Geology / Physics

1

Biology / Chemistry

2

Business / Economics

2

Computer Science / Informatics

1

Criminal Justice / Law

1

Education

1

English / World Languages / Literature

1

Exercise Science

1

See more...

Tags

holiday

1

hours

1

break

1

Recent Posts

Roots of Hope Through Tinted Windows

On view on the library's 1st floor is “Roots of Hope Through Tinted Lenses,” a mixed media artistic work by USC Upstate students, created as part of Network8's “Treedom Project.” This initiative focuses on child advocacy and raising awareness about imprisoned children worldwide. The Treedom Project uses the symbolism of trees to represent children growing in adverse environments, while aiming to nurture hope, demand justice, and call for an end to youth imprisonment.Stemming from Network8's “A Cup of Knowledge” painting session, the artwork employs coffee as a medium of expression.To find out more about USC Upstate's Network8 activities and advocacy efforts, visit their Instagram page....

Hispanic Heritage Month poster exhibit

Fast Fact Número Uno: From the most recent data available, nearly 8% of Upstate students identify as Hispanic/Latino. Fast Fact Número Dos: According to the U.S. Postsecondary National Policy Institute, in Fall 2022, Latino students made up more than 20% of postsecondary enrollment. ***Now on view on the library's 1st floor is a series of posters commemorating and celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15-October 15).You'll find most of the posters near Perk Up!, the library's café. Others are displayed along the wall in the study room area. You'll find a few more near the parking lot entrance to the library.Commemorated and celebrated are the cultural contributions from different Hispanic nations and heritages, from Argentina to the U.S., from Honduras to Peru, from Mexico to Puerto Rico, along with many others.The posters will be on display through mid-October....

Library joy! Popular reads collection debuts

The USC Upstate Library is excited to announce the debut of its new “Popular Reads” collection.When fully rolled out, the collection will feature nearly 400 current popular fiction and nonfiction titles, all available for 3-week checkouts. While the focus of the collection is on titles that we hope will appeal to students, there should be a book to interest everyone.This is a "rotating reads" collection, meaning that the library can add the latest popular titles to the collection on an ongoing basis. We can also return books that don't circulate and replace them with different titles. And if the book proves super popular, we may add it to our permanent collection. In this way, the collection stays current and adaptable to reader interests.As you have time, please stop by the library to browse the collection. You can also use our online discovery tool to search for titles.All students, staff, and faculty with a valid ID can check out titles from the collection.Don’t see a book that appeals to you? Let us know, and we’ll investigate adding it or a similar title to the collection.Happy reading! Image: Coordinator of Library Instructional Services John Siegel shows his “library joy” at the debut of the library's “Popular Reads” collection. Image credit: Kerrie Channel, 2025...

Wall Street Journal access

Full image access to The Wall Street Journal (WSJ) is now available via the USC Upstate Library databases page. This means that not only can you read the text of WSJ articles, but you can also view photos, images, charts, tables, graphs, and more.In addition, the library's subscription to The WSJ includes access to apps, subscriber-only podcasts, videos, instructional materials, and more.The subscription is available to USC Upstate students, staff, and faculty. You'll need to create a user account to access The Wall Street Journal and its additional content. You must use your university email address to register for your free WSJ account.Have questions about access? For help, contact USC Upstate Library Research Services via chat, text, phone, or in person at the Spartanburg campus....