chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library | USC Upstate
×
Important Information About COVID-19 Testing, Vaccines and Resources
Library Hours

Book a Librarian

Virginia Cononie
Virginia Cononie

Assistant Librarian; Coordinator of Reference and Research
vcononie@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5735

Virginia Cononie graduated from Lander University with a Bachelor's in English and earned her Masters of Library and Information Science from the University of South Carolina. Virginia serves the library through reference services, collection management, and information literacy instruction.


Laura Karas
Laura Karas

Senior Instructor Librarian
karas@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5637

Laura holds a BFA from Savannah College of Art and Design in both Interior Design and Historic Preservation with minors in Architectural History and Art History. In 2000, she completed her MLIS from the University of South Carolina. While a graduate student, Laura worked as a graduate assistant in the USC Upstate Library and then joined the library faculty. Laura has is now a Senior Instructor in the library and currently oversees LibGuides, a CMS that houses online web-based research tools, as well as reference and library instruction responsibilities. 


Andrew Kearns
Andrew Kearns

Librarian; Coordinator of Distributed Education
kearnsak@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5403

Andrew holds a Master of Library and Information Science from the University of South Carolina and a Ph.D in Musicology from the University of Illinois. He coordinates the library's outreach to distance learners and online programs and serves as on-site librarian at University Center in Greenville. He also heads the library's affordability and open educational resources (OER) initiative. He serves as librarian liaison to Advanced Manufacturing Management, Engineering Technology Management, Music, and the Mary Black College of Nursing. He has published in Reference Services Review, Southeastern Librarian and College and Undergraduate Libraries and has presented at national and regional conferences such as OpenEd 21, LOEX (Library Orientation Exchange), the Southeastern Library Association, and the Georgia International Conference on Information Literacy.


Ann Merryman
Ann Merryman

Assoc. Librarian; Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
amerryman@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5275

Ann holds a B.A. in Business and Economics from Benedictine University and an MLIS from the University of South Carolina. She has more than 24 years of business experience in the public sector prior to joining USC Upstate. Her primary responsibility in the library is managing the University Archives and Special Collections, with a secondary role as a reference librarian. She has been instrumental in elevating the University Archives into a collection that is open, usable, and connected not only to the university but also to the surrounding community, as well as developing the foundations of a digital collections presence at Upstate. Her professional interests include leveraging partnerships among smaller repositories, and advocating for the continued expansion of both the University Archives and the University Library.


Erika Montgomery
Erika Montgomery

Reference and Research Librarian
erikam@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5530

Erika graduated from USC Upstate with a Bachelor’s in Psychology and received a Master’s in Library and Information Science from USC Columbia. Her primary responsibilities currently include answering questions at the Reference Desk, working on LibGuides, and teaching information sessions for her liaison areas.


Allison Read
Allison Read

Reference and Research Librarian
reada@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5613

Allison graduated from Erskine College in 2007 with a Bachelor’s degree in English. She then completed her Master’s in Library and Information Science at USC Columbia in 2008. She came to the Upstate Library in 2016 as an adjunct reference librarian and then joined full-time in 2019. Allison's primary responsibilities include answering questions at the reference desk, working on library outreach, and teaching information sessions in her liaison areas.


John Siegel
John Siegel

Associate Librarian; Coordinator of Information Literacy
jsiegel2@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5639

John Siegel joined USC Upstate in July 2018. He earned an Associate in Arts (A.A.) degree from the City Colleges of Chicago, a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in social work from San Francisco State University, and Master of Library Science (M.L.S.) from the University of Maryland. In addition, he completed a Master of Education (M.Ed.) in adult and professional learning at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. His professional interests include meeting the needs of diverse populations (i.e. LGBTQ+, people with disabilities, military, and nontraditional students), as well as investigating the use of instructional design. Prior to joining USC Upstate, John worked at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and the DuBois campus of Penn State University.


Mark Smith
Mark Smith

Reference and Research Librarian
smith432@uscupstate.edu
864-503-5872

Mark graduated from USC Upstate in 1995, and received a Master’s in Library and Information Science from USC Columbia in 2017. His primary responsibilities include answering questions at the Reference Desk and teaching.