Faculty & Staff
| Administration | 864-503-5620 |
| Access Services | 864-503-5611 |
| Archives & Special Collections | 864-503-5648 |
| Research Services | 864-503-5638 |
 |
John Barnett
|
| A native of coastal North Carolina, John has more than 25 years of experience in library management, leadership, collections, outreach to diverse audiences, grant writing, scholarly communication and reference and instructional services. Prior to joining USC Upstate, John served as executive director of the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL), an academic library consortium headquartered in Toronto, Canada. John also has held positions with the University of Pittsburgh, the Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium (PALCI), Gettysburg College, the University of Texas at San Antonio, and San Antonio Public Library. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in English, Writing and Editing from East Carolina University and a Master of Library and Information Studies from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. He served as past co-editor of Pennsylvania Libraries: Research and Practice, an open-access journal, and continues to research and write about libraries, books, media, travel, and culture. | |
 |
Tina Hughes
|
| Tina graduated from USCS with a degree in Elementary Education. After graduation, she worked at QS/1 Data Systems and First Baptist Church Weekday Preschool. She came to Upstate in 2011 to work in Content Management Services, where she processed and ordered the books for the library. She is currently the administrative assistant for the Library. | |
 |
Kerrie Channel
|
| Kerrie Channel graduated from USC Upstate with a BA in Interdisciplinary Studies and a Minor in Art History. Prior to her employment with the university, she spent six years working in a public library system. She now serves the library as the Interlibrary Loan Specialist. | |
 |
Johnaca Dunlap
|
| Johnaca has worked with USC Upstate since 2002 as an information resource coordinator serving as an on-call technical assistant to end users on a variety of computer, software, and hardware issues. As an IRC, she identifies, researches, and resolves technical problems; responds to telephone calls, email, and personal requests for technical support; documents, tracks and monitors the problem to ensure a timely resolution for faculty, staff, and students. | |
 |
Tessie Holliday
|
| Theresa “Tessie” Holliday is an Access Services Assistant at USC Upstate Library. Prior to joining USC Upstate in 2015, she worked for nine years as a Teen Services Assistant at the Cowpens Library in Spartanburg. Tessie completed her BA in Interdisciplinary Studies at USC Upstate, and her Master of Library and Information Science degree at UofSC. | |
|
|
Al Miller
|
| Al Miller is a graduate of USC Upstate with a bachelor's in graphic design along with a minor in computer science. While at the library, Al works at the information desk by answering questions, help solve issues and take calls. Al also serves the library by coordinating course reserves and PASCAL deliveries. | |
|
|
Jonathan Newton
|
| Jonathan Newton graduated from Furman University with a Bachelor's in Asian Studies/Civilization and earned his Masters of Library and Information Science from the University of South Carolina. Jonathan serves the library by coordinating the Access Services Department. | |
 |
Ann Merryman
|
| Ann holds a B.A. in Business and Economics from Benedictine University and an MLIS from the University of South Carolina. She has more than 24 years of business experience in the public sector prior to joining USC Upstate. Her primary responsibility in the library is managing the University Archives and Special Collections, with a secondary role as a reference librarian. She has been instrumental in elevating the University Archives into a collection that is open, usable, and connected not only to the university but also to the surrounding community, as well as developing the foundations of a digital collections presence at Upstate. Her professional interests include leveraging partnerships among smaller repositories and advocating for the continued expansion of both the University Archives and the University Library. | |
 |
Deborah Rouse
|
| Deborah holds an Associate in Arts from St. Johns River Community College, a Bachelor of Arts in Art History from the University of North Florida, and a Master of Library and Information Science from Florida State University. She has worked in a variety of positions in both public and academic libraries, but primarily as an Archives and Special Collections Librarian working with rare books and manuscripts. She has been at USC Upstate since 2017 and works part-time on the Reference desk and in the University Archives. | |
|
|
Michael Sanders
|
| Michael graduated from Winthrop University where he earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in English-Creative Writing. He works in the Archives and Special Collections as an archives assistant where he processes, documents, and preserves a variety of material to help promote the knowledge and understanding of the history of both USC Upstate and the Upstate region of South Carolina. | |
 |
Camille McCutcheon
|
| Camille earned a B. A. degree in English and Public Affairs from Columbia College and a Joint Master’s Degree in English and Library and Information Science from USC. She also holds a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Study in Library and Information Science. She has worked at Converse College and USC Upstate as a professional librarian. Camille serves as Coordinator of Collection Management for the USC Upstate Library and is library liaison for education, physical education, exercise science, history, and political science. | |
 |
Virginia Cononie
|
| Virginia Cononie graduated from Lander University with a Bachelor's in English and earned her Masters of Library and Information Science from the University of South Carolina. Virginia serves the library through research services, collection management, and information literacy instruction. She is the library liaison to the Natural Sciences, Biology Studies and Mathematics Studies. Her research interests include copyright, creative commons, and legislative advocacy for the academic library. | |
 |
Laura Karas
|
| Laura holds a BFA from Savannah College of Art and Design in both Interior Design and Historic Preservation, with minors in Architectural History and Art History. In 2000, she completed her MLIS from the University of South Carolina. While a graduate student, Laura worked as a graduate assistant in the USC Upstate Library and then joined the library faculty. Laura oversees LibGuides, a CMS that houses online web-based research tools, as well as research and library instruction responsibilities. | |
 |
Jim LaMee
|
| James “Jim” LaMee completed his B.A. at Carson-Newman College, his MDIV from Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, a Certificate MFT from West Gate Training & Consultation Network, and his MLIS from USC Columbia. He began working part-time in the USC Upstate Library in 2002 and became a member of the full-time faculty in 2007, retired in 2021 and returned as part time faculty in 2021. | |
|
Mary Lanham
|
| Mary earned her undergraduate degree in History and a Master of Library Science from the University at Buffalo in Buffalo, NY. In 2015, she moved to South Carolina and began working as a part-time research librarian at USC Upstate. In addition to working at the university, Mary is the Head of Research and Special Collections for a public library in the Upstate region. | |
 |
Danette Lovingood
|
| Danette Lovingood started at USC Upstate Library in 2019 and assists patrons at the research desk. | |
|
Ann Merryman
|
| Ann holds a B.A. in Business and Economics from Benedictine University and an MLIS from the University of South Carolina. She has more than 24 years of business experience in the public sector prior to joining USC Upstate. Her primary responsibility in the library is managing the University Archives and Special Collections, with a secondary role as a research librarian. She has been instrumental in elevating the University Archives into a collection that is open, usable, and connected not only to the university but also to the surrounding community, as well as developing the foundations of a digital collections presence at Upstate. Her professional interests include leveraging partnerships among smaller repositories and advocating for the continued expansion of both the University Archives and the University Library. | |
 |
Lina Maloney
|
| Lina earned an Associate of Arts from Greenville Technical College, a Bachelor’s of Science in Political Science from Clemson University, and a Master’s of Library and Information Science from the University of South Carolina. She works as a part-time research librarian at the Upstate Library. | |
 |
Erika Montgomery
|
| Erika graduated from USC Upstate with a Bachelor’s in Psychology and received a Master’s in Library and Information Science from USC Columbia. Her primary responsibilities currently include answering questions at the research desk, working on LibGuides, and teaching information sessions for her liaison areas: Sociology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Informatics, and Health Informatics. | |
 |
Allison Read
|
| Allison graduated from Erskine College in 2007 with a Bachelor’s degree in English. She then completed her Master’s in Library and Information Science at USC Columbia in 2008. She came to the Upstate Library in 2016 as an adjunct research librarian and then joined full-time in 2019. Allison's primary responsibilities include answering questions at the research desk, working on library outreach, and teaching information sessions in her liaison areas of English and World Languages. | |
|
Deborah Rouse
|
| Deborah holds an Associate in Arts from St. Johns River Community College, a Bachelor of Arts in Art History from the University of North Florida, and a Master of Library and Information Science from Florida State University. She has worked in various positions in both public and academic libraries, but primarily as an Archives and Special Collections Librarian working with rare books and manuscripts. She has been at USC Upstate since 2017 and works part time at the research desk and in the University Archives. | |
 |
John Siegel
|
| John Siegel joined USC Upstate in July 2018. He earned an Associate in Arts (A.A.) degree from the City Colleges of Chicago, a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in social work from San Francisco State University, and Master of Library Science (M.L.S.) from the University of Maryland. In addition, he completed a Master of Education (M.Ed.) in adult and professional learning at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. His professional interests include meeting the needs of diverse populations (i.e. LGBTQ+, people with disabilities, military, and nontraditional students), as well as investigating the use of instructional design. Prior to joining USC Upstate, John worked at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and the DuBois campus of Penn State University. | |
 |
Mark Smith
|
| Mark graduated from USC Upstate in 1995, and received a Master’s in Library and Information Science from USC Columbia in 2017. His primary responsibilities include answering questions at the research desk, teaching UNIV 101, ENGL 101/102 classes and teaching information sessions for his liaison areas of Philosophy and Religion. | |
|
Janet Ward
|
| Janet graduated from Clemson University in Human Resource Development. She also holds a Bachelor of Science from Limestone College in Database Management and Web Development, and a Master in Library Information Science from USC. Janet has more than 19 years of experience in library reference, databases, staff training, and student engagement. Janet has presented Freshman Lost On Campus: Meeting the Needs of First Year Students at many conferences, including Georgia Southern Information Literacy Conference, Carolina Consortium, SCLA Conference, Winthrop Conference on Teaching and Learning, Transforming Librarians Through Technology Conference at USC Upstate, and at the SCTEA Conference. In addition to working as a part-time librarian for USC Upstate, Janet is the Assistant Director of the Library and Assistant Professor at Limestone College, and an Adjunct Instructor at the Spartanburg Community College. | |
 |
Blake Deegan
|
| Blake graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in East Asian Studies and a minor in History. She worked at Coastal Carolina University in both the Interlibrary Loan and the Circulation departments. She currently works at the USC Upstate library in the Technical Services department, cataloging books and working with journals. | |
 |
Melissa Stevenson
|
| Melissa grew up in Liberty, S.C. Before coming to USC Upstate, she worked at libraries for the Navy in Washington, D.C., Duke University, USC Columbia and USC Union. She holds a Master of Library and Information Science and a Bachelor of Arts in history with a minor in business from USC Columbia. She is currently working in the Technical Services Department of the library. She is also a USC Upstate liaison for the USC system-wide Digital Accessibility Team. Additionally, she serves on an advisory board for the S.C. Interagency Deaf/Blind Project. | |
 |
Lee Wilson
|
| Lee Wilson graduated from Strayer University in Greenville, South Carolina with a Bachelor’s of Science in Information Systems with a concentration in Computer Security. Additionally, he graduated from the University of South Carolina with a Masters of Library and Information Science degree. | |