Call Numbers for Fine Arts & Art History - N to NX
Browse for Books in the Stacks.
We organize our library using the Library of Congress Classification System below is a breakdown of the Visual Arts area. For a more detailed listing of Library of Congress Classification System check out the Libraray of Congress's Web Page
The Dictionary of Art by 
The encyclopedia of art : painting, sculpture, architecture, and ornament, from prehistoric times to the twentieth century by 
Encyclopedia of Creativity by 
Facts on File Encyclopedia of Art by 
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by 
The Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History by 
The Praeger Handbook of Religion and Education in the United States by 
30,000 Years of Art by 
Art History: Key Concepts by 
Art history / Marilyn Stokstad. by 
Atlas of World Art by 
Gardner's Art Through the Ages by 
Janson's History of Art by 
The Oxford Companion to Western Art by 
Great Events from History II, Arts and Culture by 
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by A catalogue raisonné, broadly speaking, is a reference work that provides as comprehensive and detailed a list as possible of an artist’s works. Sometimes the catalog of works is broken down by format or medium, or broken down into chronological sequences.
Lee Krasner: a catalogue raisonn'e by When searching the Catalog for books on art movements do a keyword search for the name of the movement AND art, for example Formalism AND art. Many movements are not just in art so if you search for just the movement such as Marxism you will get philosophy, literature, history and more. Below are just a few Subject Links that will take you into the catalog for books on related subjects. Below that are a few books relating to the subjects for this class.
A People's Art History of the United States by 
Feminism and Art History by 
The Neo Impressionists by 
Realism, Rationalism, Surrealism by Find Books option provides one-stop searching for books and e-books, journal articles, DVDs, and more. The search box in the widget above allows you to directly search for materials found in what was previously called the Library Catalog.
The video below provides a brief introduction on how to use the new Search to find books and e-books in the USC Upstate library collection.
Click on the title of a book in the results list to access the record for that book, which includes two useful aids:
