Searching the library catalog for reference materials is a great place to start your research. Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Specialized Reference Books can offer a background of information you can build your research around. When searching the catalog type REF AND and then your topic to find reference materials on your topic. Remember that you often have to go broader in your thinking to find background information.
The Reference materials are found in the first few rows of compact shelving just beyond the Reference Desk. If you have any problems finding something please Ask a Librarian.
Mobspeak: The Dictionary of Crime Terms by 
The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice by 
The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice by 
The Great Pictorial History of World Crime by 
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by 
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by 
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory by 
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by 
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment by 
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States by The Great Pictorial History of World Crime by 
The Historical Atlas of American Crime by 
Key Issues in Crime and Punishment: Corrections by 
Key Issues in Crime and Punishment: Courts, Law, and Justice by 
Key Issues in Crime and Punishment: Crime and Criminal Behavior by 
Key Issues in Crime and Punishment: Juvenile Crime and Justice by 
Key Issues in Crime and Punishment: Police and Law Enforcement by 
The Encyclopedia of Serial Killers by 
Dictionary of Culprits and Criminals by 
Cops, Crooks and Criminologists by 
The Book of Assassins by 
