Death Penalty - Capital Punishment - Criminal Justice - LibGuides at University of South Carolina Upstate

Definition

Law & Legal Databases

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full text links from justice and substance abuse resources.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminology, criminal justice, criminal law, forensic sciences, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, legal, business, medical news and reference information.

Pro / Con

Statistics Resources

LibGuide on Statistical Resources
This LibGuide has many resources for statistics for World, U.S., South Carolina; also Economic and Healthcare.

FedStats This link opens in a new window
A free government source for federal statistical information.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, dating back to 1878.

U. S. Census Bureau Data

Readings

Muhlhausen, D. (2007, June 27). The Death Penalty Deters Crime and Saves Lives. Retrieved from https://www.heritage.org/testimony/the-death-penalty-deters-crime-and-saves-lives

Reggio, M. H. (n.d.). History of the Death Penalty. Retrieved from https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/article/history-of-the-death-penalty/

Sethuraju, R., Sole, J., & Oliver, B. E. (2016). Understanding Death Penalty Support and Opposition Among Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement Students. SAGE Open. https://doi.org/10.1177/2158244015624952

Web Sites

1000+ Death Penalty Links
Clark County Prosecuting Attorney office compiled links. Although the page was last updated in 2008 most links take you to active web pages.
Juveniles and the Death Penalty (1000+ Death Penalty Links)
Race and Class Bias (1000+ Death Penalty Links)
Mental Illness and the Death Penalty (1000+ Death Penalty Links)
Women and the Death Penalty (1000+ Death Penalty Links)
Death Penalty Information Center
The Death Penalty Information Center is a national non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. Founded in 1990, the Center promotes informed discussion of the death penalty by preparing in-depth reports, conducting briefings for journalists, and serving as a resource to those working on this issue.
Equal Justice Initiative
The Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.
Pro Death Penalty
This site is being developed as a resource for those searching the internet for pro-death penalty information and resources. Capital punishment is a topic that brings up deep emotional reactions for those on both sides of the issue and conflict for those who are undecided how they feel.
SC Death Penalty Information
"Welcome to DPIC's new State-by-State information database. Here you will find the information once maintained on several individual pages. To use this database, simply click on the state of your choice using the map or drop-down menu below to display the state's information in the box to the right."
ACLU Death Penalty 101
CNN Death Penalty Fast Facts
U of Michigan Law - National Registry of Exonerations
American Bar Association Death Penalty Representation Project
Southern Center for Human Rights
The Innocence Project
Center on Wrongful Convictions (Northwestern University Law School)
National Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty
Amnesty International
Center for Church and Prison, Inc.

Video

Films on Demand: TEDTalks: Bryan Stevenson Death Penalty

Criminal Justice: Death Penalty - Capital Punishment