Benchmarks for Science Literacy (AAAS)Benchmarks for Science Literacy is the Project 2061 statement of what all students should know and be able to do in science, mathematics, and technology by the end of grades 2, 5, 8, and 12. The recommendations at each grade level suggest reasonable progress toward the science literacy goals
Science Websites
"Weather Dude"A weather education site especially for students, parents, kids, and teachers from national TV meteorologist Nick Walker.
Ambitious Science TeachingAmbitious teaching can be learned. Ambitious Science Teaching supports students in tackling authentic and meaningful science phenomena with attention to students’ histories, social interactions, and local and global communities. Ambitious teaching requires that teachers develop deep commitments to student learning and a historical understanding of inequity in science and schools. Ambitious teaching takes practice. This website provides resources to develop a vision of ambitious science instruction for today’s complex K-12 classrooms, professional learning, and teacher education.
Climate Kids NASALaunched in 2010, NASA's Climate Kids website tells the story of our changing planet through the eyes of the NASA missions studying Earth. Targeting kids ages 8 and up, the site is full of games, activities and articles that make climate science accessible and engaging.
Environmental Kids clubEnvironmental Kids club
This website offers something for both teachers and students. Under the "games" section, students can play interactive games, word searches and crossword puzzles on all different environmental topics. The teachers section has lesson plan ideas, school project ideas, and free printable materials.
Grades: 2 - 8
EPA Learning & TeachingSite for teachers. Information on environmental concepts, environmental curriculum, resources and activities, workshops and conferences.
ExploratoriumThe Exploratorium is science museum in San Francisco. In the Explore section of this website you can: Browse by Topic, or Browse by Type for different hands-on activities for kids. In the Education section Tools for Teaching and Learning discusses many of the resources available from the website, including podcasts, videos, and links to other websites.
Grades: 4 - 10
GLOBEGLOBE (Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment) is a hands-on, inquiry-based science program. Many resources are provided to help teachers participate in the many GLOBE data collection projects. The website can be translated to French, Spanish, German and Russian.
Grades: K - 12
The K-12 Internet Resource CenterScience Trek offers a wealth of materials specifically for teachers. Each topic site includes several tabs with a wealth of information. Click on the “Educators” tab in each individual topic site. For each science topic, you’ll find essential background for teachers, suggested lesson plans, ideas for classroom activities, resources from PBS LearningMedia, alignment with standards, and links to interactives and tools suitable for whole-class and small-group instruction.
K12 Science: A Portal to SERC's ResourcesThe Science Education Resource Center (SERC) @ Carleton College has organized this extensive collection of lessons, activities, lab investigations, projects and field trips on a wide range of topics. Searchable by type of type of activity, subject and grade level.
Grades: K - 12
National Geographic EducationCovering a variety of subject areas National Geographic Education tries to inspire the spirit of adventure. Videos, games, lesson plans, unit plans and other learning activities are searchable by grade level and subject area.
Grades: K - 12
Ology-Climate changeThis site created by the American Museum of Natural History is both educational and entertaining. There are several interactive games, stories and hands-on activities that explain different aspects of climate change. The " for educator" link at the bottom opens another screen where a teacher can find dozens of OLogy articles and paired with vocabulary lessons and formative assessments. These units cover Earth, life, and physical science content and are available for elementary through high school students.
Grades: 3 - 12
PBS LearningMedia - ScienceExplore natural phenomena and scientific practices with videos, lesson plans, and interactive tools. Search by grade level and topic to find the perfect activities to enrich your science class.
PhysclipsPhysclips: A multi level, multi-media resource
Developed by UNSW (University of New South Wales) this website includes videoclips and animations to illustrate the physics concepts of momentum, sound and waves and light, as well as electricity and magnetism and thermal physics. Supporting materials are also available.
Grades: 9 - 12
ProTeacherProTeacher is a community of teachers and other professionals in the field of education, college students preparing for careers in education, and those who have retired from careers in education.
Science-Teachers.comA teaching resource providing lesson plans, worksheets, and activities for upper elementary and middle school science teachers.
Science BuddiesScience Buddies mission is to inspire and educate students of all ages with hands-on STEM explorations that reflect their unique personal interests. By providing highly personalized educational experiences, we drive student discovery, engagement, and learning in STEM subjects.
Science NetLinks: Resources for Teaching ScienceLessons, tools, resources, and benchmarks. Reviewed websites to support standards-based teaching and learning. Links to the American Association for the Advancement of Science website.
The Science SpotTracy’s website has been on the web for many years, she has lots of great resources to use in your classroom
Smithsonian Life Science Resourcesmenu
Teaching Resources
Anthropology and Social Studies
Earth Science
Engineering and Technology
Featured Collections
Life Science
Paleontology
Physical Science
Scientist Spotlight Videos
Breadcrumb
Home Education Teaching Resources Life Science Resources
These Life Science teaching resources include short articles written by Smithsonian museum educators; curated collections of links to lessons, activities, posters, worksheets, and more; an exciting project; and videos featuring Smithsonian scientists and experts from many of the museum's research departments, including Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology, and Vertebrate Zoology.
Smithsonian Search All ResourcesSearch All Resources
Explore more than 300 resources! Science resources in this library align with Disciplinary Core Ideas and Crosscutting Concepts from the Next Generation Science Standards and social studies resources support the themes in the National Curriculum Standards for Social Studies.
Weather Wiz Kids®Weather Wiz Kids® especially for children to allow them to learn more about the fascinating world of weather. It’s a comprehensive website answering common weather and natural disaster questions.
Web Weather for KidsThis site is sponsored by the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research. Students learn information and answer questions related to climate, weather,sun/space and atmosphere. The learning zone provides games, simulations, videos and images. Under classroom activities, teachers can find lesson plans, teaching boxes, and experiments that coordinate with these topics.
Grades: 7 - 12
WONDERVILLEWHAT IS WONDERVILLE?
Wonderville makes learning science fun! Our resources and tools give teachers new ways to engage students in STEM.
Used in 170 countries, our award winning STEM content helps inspire lifelong learning. Want to explore? Simply click on any of the themes below!
ZOOMsciBased on the PBS program, ZOOM, this website includes a variety of science activities for elementary students. Organized by broad subject areas, e.g. chemistry, my five senses, etc. Each entry lists materials needed, instructions and feedback from students who have tried the activity. Includes games and printables.
Grades: 2 - 6
