Find Books option provides one-stop searching for books and e-books, journal articles, DVDs, and more. The search box in the widget above allows you to directly search for materials found in what was previously called the Library Catalog.
The video below provides a brief introduction on how to use the new Search to find books and e-books in the USC Upstate library collection.
ASE Guide to Primary Science Education by 
Activity Theory in Formal and Informal Science Education by
The purpose of this book is to establish a broader context for rethinking science learning and teaching by using cultural historical activity theoretic approach. Activity theory already steps in its third generation and only a few works have been done on its applications to science education, especially in Europe. The context takes into account more recent developments in activity theory applications in US, Canada, Australia and Europe. The chapters articulate new ways of thinking about learning and teaching science i.e., new theoretical perspectives and some case studies of teaching important scientific topics in/for compulsory education. The ultimate purpose of each chapter and the collective book as a whole is to prepare the ground upon which a new pedagogy in science education can be emerged to provide more encompassing theoretical frameworks that allow us to capture the complexity of science learning and teaching as it occurs in and out-of schools. The book captures the dialogic and interactive nature of the transferring the activity theory to both formal and informal science education. It also contributes to the development of innovative curricula, school science textbooks, educational programs and ICT's materials. As a whole, the book moves theorizing and practicing of science education into new face and uncharted terrain. It is recommended to new scholars and researchers as well as teachers/researchers.
Creative Ways to Teach Primary Science by
Do you need quick and easy access to great ideas for teaching primary science? If so then this is the book for you! Creative Ways to Teach Primary Science draws on the best ideas about teaching primary science, using an evidence-based approach which recognizes that there are some proven and more effective methods for teaching primary science. Creativity is one of the most powerful indicators of successful teaching, and the key is a willingness to take risks and to accept uncertainty. This can be tricky for busy teachers, so this book lends you a helping hand! The authors explain why the methods presented are successful and encourage you to apply these creative techniques to new situations. The book: Offers a handy 'one stop shop' of creative ideas for teaching primary science Provides a 'helping hand' for you to get started in the classroom by presenting a range of teaching methods that are proven to work Encourages creativity and experimentation, regularly recognized as features of outstanding teaching Inspires you to develop all the ideas for yourself Providing a highly practical and accessible handbook to the creative aspects of teaching and learning primary science, this is invaluable reading for trainee and practising primary teachers.
Primary Science Curriculum Guide by
This guide provides trainee teachers with an insight into the nature and teaching of primary science. It aims to introduce you to the ways in which children learn science, and to the science itself. Each Unit can be studied independently or used to support/prepare for school experiences. You will be directed towards additional reading, which will develop or confirm the subject knowledge you will need to achieve QTS. the curriculum guide is up-to-date, revised to take account of Curriculum 2000 and accepted 'good practice' in primary science teaching and learning. It is also flexible - many of the Units are stand-alone. They can be undertaken in any order, at your own pace, to complement school experiences. The Units are practical and feasible: the activities suggested can be undertaken by the non-specialist; in many cases without specialized equipment or access to large numbers of pupils. The guide is comprehensive, covering all the primary science elements in Curriculum 2000 and giving background information into other aspects of primary science teaching. It is also supportive - the guide suggests further texts to support trainees' own understanding of the scientific and pedagogical concepts involved. Additional reading draws on the TTA's list of approved key texts. The original text was piloted by students following a distance-learning PGCE course. It has been revised and updated in line with their comments and to meet Curriculum 2000 and Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage. The text was initially developed as a core text for the part-time distance-learning course at Liverpool Hope and is designed for trainee teachers on distance learning and flexible routes, returning, converting or overseas teachers.
Hard-To-Teach Science Concepts by
The authors explain how to use the framework and provide a variety of tools and examples of its application. Both preservice and inservice elementary school teachers will find this approach appealing.
Essentials of Science Classroom Assessment by
A concise science assessment text that helps K-12 teachers master the effective science assessment methods that lead to improved student learning Presenting both traditional and innovative assessment methods integral to science teaching and learning, Essentials of Science Classroom Assessment shows teachers the connection between effective science assessment and improved student learning. The text uses a competence-based approach consistent with the National Science Education Standards to help teachers master assessment skills, apply them to science classroom instruction, and evaluate their impact on student learning. Key Features and Benefits Provides practical examples from both elementary and secondary science classrooms to demonstrate how to design a wide variety of traditional and innovative assessment methods Presents case scenarios in each chapter that help teachers reflect on the assessment issues they will encounter in their own classrooms Includes end-of-chapter checklists and practice questions that allow readers to check their mastery of assessment skills before moving on, as well as annotated bibliographies that direct them to additional readings on topics of interest The Web-based Student study site provides electronic flashcards, practice quizzes, alternative assessment tasks, additional Web resources, and abstracts identifying more than forty common K-12 student preconceptions of science topics.
The Science Teacher's Toolbox by
A winning educational formula of engaging lessons and powerful strategies for science teachers in numerous classroom settings The Teacher's Toolbox series is an innovative, research-based resource providing teachers with instructional strategies for students of all levels and abilities. Each book in the collection focuses on a specific content area. Clear, concise guidance enables teachers to quickly integrate low-prep, high-value lessons and strategies in their middle school and high school classrooms. Every strategy follows a practical, how-to format established by the series editors. The Science Teacher's Toolbox is a classroom-tested resource offering hundreds of accessible, student-friendly lessons and strategies that can be implemented in a variety of educational settings. Concise chapters fully explain the research basis, necessary technology, Next Generation Science Standards correlation, and implementation of each lesson and strategy. Favoring a hands-on approach, this bookprovides step-by-step instructions that help teachers to apply their new skills and knowledge in their classrooms immediately. Lessons cover topics such as setting up labs, conducting experiments, using graphs, analyzing data, writing lab reports, incorporating technology, assessing student learning, teaching all-ability students, and much more. This book enables science teachers to: Understand how each strategy works in the classroom and avoid common mistakes Promote culturally responsive classrooms Activate and enhance prior knowledge Bring fresh and engaging activities into the classroom and the science lab Written by respected authors and educators, The Science Teacher's Toolbox: Hundreds of Practical Ideas to Support Your Students is an invaluable aid for upper elementary, middle school, and high school science educators as well those in teacher education programs and staff development professionals.
Picture-Perfect Science Lessons by
How do you improve upon perfection? For years, new and experienced elementary school teachers alike have extolled the virtues of Picture-Perfect Science Lessons-- the expertly combined appeal of children's picture books with standards-based science content. The award-winning, bestselling book presents ready-to-teach lessons, complete with student pages and assessments, that use high-quality fiction and nonfictionpicture books to guide hands-on science inquiry. This newly revised and expanded 2nd edition of Picture-Perfect Science Lessons manages to surpass the original. Classroom veterans Karen Ansberry and Emily Morgan, who also coach teachers through nationwide workshops, know elementary educators are usually crunched for science instructional time and could often use refresher explanations of scientific concepts. So the authors added comprehensive background notes to each chapter and included new reading strategies. They still show you exactly how to combine science and reading in a natural way with classroom-tested lessons in physical science, life science, and Earth and space science. And now they offer five brand-new lessons-- " Batteries Included," " The Secrets of Flight," " Down the Drain," " If I Built a Car," and " Bugs!" -- bringing the total to 20. Picture-Perfect Science Lessons draws on such diverse-- and engaging-- books as Dr. Xargle's Book of Earth Hounds, A House for Hermit Crab, Rice Is Life, Oil Spill!, Sheep in a Jeep, The Perfect Pet, and Weird Friends: Unlikely Allies in the Animal Kingdom. As a result, both reluctant scientists and struggling readers will quickly find themselves absorbed in scientific discovery. You' ll love how effective this book is, and your students will love learning about science.
Crosscutting Concepts by
Maybe you have a good grasp of disciplinary core ideas and science and engineering practices--critical parts of the Next Generation Science Standards--but you are looking for more resources about integrating crosscutting concepts (CCCs). Or maybe you understand CCCs but want to know more about how to make them part of your students' toolkit for exploring science phenomena or engineering problems, both now and in the future. Regardless of your needs, Crosscutting Concepts is your guide. It shows how to design and implement three-dimensional instruction for all students by understanding the potential of CCCs to strengthen science and engineering teaching and learning. Crosscutting Concepts helps you do the following: * Grasp the foundational issues that undergird crosscutting concepts. You'll find out how CCCs can change your instruction, engage your students, and broaden access and inclusion of all students into your science classroom. * Gain in-depth insights into individual crosscutting concepts. You'll learn how to use each CCC across disciplines, understand the challenges students face in learning CCCs, and adopt exemplary teaching strategies.
Teaching for Conceptual Understanding in Science by
What do you get when you bring together two of NSTA's bestselling authors to ponder ways to deepen students' conceptual understanding of science? A fascinating combination of deep thinking about science teaching, field-tested strategies you can use in your classroom immediately, and personal vignettes all educators can relate to and apply themselves. Teaching for Conceptual Understanding in Science is by Richard Konicek-Moran, a researcher and professor who wrote the Everyday Science Mysteries series, and Page Keeley, a practitioner and teacher educator who writes the Uncovering Student Ideas in Science series. Written in an appealing, conversational style, this new book explores where science education has been and where it's going; emphasizes how knowing the history and nature of science can help you engage in teaching for conceptual understanding and conceptual change; stresses the importance of formative assessment as a pathway to conceptual change; and provides a bridge between research and practice. This is the kind of thought-provoking book that can truly change the way you teach. Whether you read each chapter in sequence or start by browsing the topics in the vignettes, Konicek-Moran and Keeley will make you think-really think-about the major goal of science education in the 21st century: to help students understand science at the conceptual level so they can see its connections to other fields, other concepts, and their own lives.
Using Physical Science Gadgets and Gizmos 3-5 by
What student-- or teacher-- can resist the chance to experiment with Velocity Radar Guns, Running Parachutes, Super Solar Racer Cars, and more? The 30 experiments in Using Physical Science Gadgets and Gizmos, Grades 3- 5, let your elementary school students explore a variety of phenomena involved with speed, friction and air resistance, gravity, air pressure, electricity, electric circuits, magnetism, and energy.The authors say there are three good reasons to buy this book:1. To improve your students' thinking skills and problem-solving abilities.2. To get easy-to-perform experiments that engage students in the topic.3. To make your physics lessons waaaaay more cool.The phenomenon-based learning (PBL) approach used by the authors-- two Finnish teachers and a U.S. professor-- is as educational as the experiments are attention-grabbing. Instead of putting the theory before the application, PBL encourages students to first experience how the gadgets work and then grow curious enough to find out why. Working in groups, students engage in the activities not as a task to be completed but as exploration and discovery using curiosity-piquing devices and doohickeys.The idea is to motivate young scientists to go beyond simply memorizing science facts. Using Physical Science Gadgets and Gizmos can help them learn broader concepts, useful thinking skills, and science and engineering practices (as defined by the Next GeneratioWhat student-- or teacher-- can resist the chance to experiment with Velocity Radar Guns, Running Parachutes, Super Solar Racer Cars, and more? The 30 experiments in Using Physical Science Gadgets and Gizmos, Grades 3- 5, let your elementary school students explore a variety of phenomena involved with speed, friction and air resistance, gravity, air pressure, electricity, electric circuits, magnetism, and energy.
Using Physical Science Gadgets and Gizmos, Grades 6-8 by
What student-or teacher-can resist the chance to experiment with Rocket Launchers, Sound Pipes, Drinking Birds, Dropper Poppers, and more? The 35 experiments in Using Physical Science Gadgets and Gizmos, Grades 6-8, cover topics including pressure and force, thermodynamics, energy, light and color, resonance, and buoyancy. The authors say there are three good reasons to buy this book: To improve your students' thinking skills and problem-solving abilities. To get easy-to-perform experiments that engage students in the topic. To make your physics lessons waaaaay more cool. The phenomenon-based learning (PBL) approach used by the authors-two Finnish teachers and a U.S. professor-is as educational as the experiments are attention-grabbing. Instead of putting the theory before the application, PBL encourages students to first experience how the gadgets work and then grow curious enough to find out why. Students engage in the activities not as a task to be completed but as exploration and discovery. The idea is to help your students go beyond simply memorizing physical science facts. Using Physical Science Gadgets and Gizmos can help them learn broader concepts, useful thinking skills, and science and engineering practices (as defined by the Next Generation Science Standards). And-thanks to those Sound Pipes and Dropper Poppers-both your students and you will have some serious fun.
Making Physics Fun by
"The activities and examples include many that have withstood the test of time for successful science instruction and that enable teachers to link science to the lives of students."--Elizabeth Hammerman, Science Educator and Consultant "A substantial contribution to the field of science education and an easy way for busy teachers to make science more meaningful, exciting, and connected for students. An important mix of both content and activities that teachers can use to meet individual needs."--Kerry Williams, Professor, Wayne State College Boost student interest and understanding in the physical sciences! Teaching physical science in the elementary and middle grades can be challenging for busy teachers faced with growing science demands and limited classroom resources. Robert Prigo provides fun and engaging activities using safe, available materials that educators can easily incorporate into lesson plans. Extensive examples, sample inquiry questions, and ideas for initiating units are readily available for teachers to pick and choose from to meet student needs. The result of more than two decades of professional development work with hundreds of teachers and administrators, Making Physics Fun addresses five specific areas of physical science: motion and force, fluids and buoyancy, waves and sound, light and electromagnetic waves, and electricity and magnetism. Dozens of activities demonstrating physics in action help students of all ages relate physics principles to their everyday experiences. Using easy-to-understand language, this practitioner-friendly resource helps teachers: Address the "big ideas" in K-8 science education Promote student understanding with ready-to-use learning experiences Use hands-on activities to help students make larger, real-world connections Assemble classroom learning centers to facilitate deeper understanding of basic physics principles With conceptual summaries to support teachers′ proficiency and understanding of the content, this guidebook is ideal for bringing physics to life for students in the classroom and in their lives!
