This image, taken from an article on the Jamestown Exposition from the Teddy Roosevelt Center at Dickinson State University, is a post card from the time which includes a proclamation by president Roosevelt announcing the Exposition, and it includes his portrait as well as the portraits of other politicians associated with the event whose names are all seen at the bottom of the post card.
Citation:
Sieber, Karen. "The Jamestown Exposition of 1907." Theodore Roosevelt Center at Dickinson State University. April 26, 2020. https://www.theodorerooseveltcenter.org/Blog/Item/The%20Jamestown%20Exposition%20of%201907
The Jamestown Exposition was held to commemorate the tricentennial anniversary of the founding of Jamestown, the first American colony. Were there any other notable events similar to it, in honor of other major events? Could there have been any closer to home for Blanche, in South Carolina?
The Exposition did not end up being very successful, financially, why could that be? What went wrong? What, if much of anything, went right?
The following object description information includes basic elements from the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative (DCMI). An additional notes field is included to list dates from the actual letter, envelope postmark locations, and any other identifying details.
Just two days before Willie wrote this letter, on December 6, 1907 one of the worst coal mine disasters in United States history took place in Monongah, West Virginia. Given the significance of the event and the location being in the south and not terribly far from the Carolinas, it's probably likely that Willie and/or Blanche would have heard about the event. Shown here is a video provided by the West Virginia encyclopedia from West Virginia Public Broadcasting giving viewers information about the mine disaster, and showing images from when the event happened, as well as its aftermath, and the article accompanying the video gives much of the same information. Another similar video can be found at the very top of the article.
Citation: McAteer, J. Davitt "Monongah Mine Disaster." e-WV: The West Virginia Encyclopedia March 14, 2023. https://www.wvencyclopedia.org/articles/2012
Linked below is a page from the United States Department of Labor which catalogs the number of mine disasters that have taken place in the U.S. since about 1875. Interestingly, the author of the page as well as the accompanying charts show the fact that 1907 had about 20 mining disasters, 18 of which were in the coal industry and includes the Monongah mine disaster.
Citation: United States Department of Labor. "Historical Data on Mine Disasters in the United States." Accessed October 9, 2023. https://arlweb.msha.gov/MSHAINFO/FactSheets/MSHAFCT8.htm
The video featured here is of the Jamestown Exposition, and while it does not have any audio or narration or similar additional context provided with it, it is certainly interesting to get a glimpse into the event and see what attendees of it, like Willie, might have witnessed during their visit to the Exposition. It focuses on President Roosevelt's involvement with the event, such as his opening speech and also heavily features military officials and soldiers.
Citation: Bitzer, G. W., Camera, American Mutoscope And Biograph Company, and Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection. Jamestown Exposition. 1907. Video. https://www.loc.gov/item/mp76000116/.
This photograph is of President Roosevelt and his wife at the Jamestown Exposition riding in a coach, and it may be worth noting that said coach is being driven by an African American man. The text accompanying the image seems to be from the back of the original photograph, and is a small article providing information about why the Exposition is taking place, President Roosevelt's involvement, and lists some of the local "tourist attractions," notable and historically significant locations of Jamestown and its surrounding area.
Citation: Keystone View Company, Publisher. President and Mrs. Roosevelt at the Jamestown Exposition. Norfolk Virginia, ca. 1907. Meadville, Pa.: Keystone View Company, manufacturers, August 9. Photograph. https://www.loc.gov/item/2010649469/.