LibGuides: Business Resources: Overview: Find Articles on a Topic

Search Tool Worksheets

The following worksheets will help you come up with search terms and keep track of your searches.

Tips and Tricks

To increase the size of the video for playback, begin the video and in the lower right hand corner of the video, choose the full screen option (which looks like a square).

Search Strategies Video Transcript This is a transcript for the search strategies video.

Finding the Full Text (Complete) Articles

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

Look for a PDF Full Text or PDF link.
No PDF Full Text or PDF link? Look for another full text link, such as Find It Check for Full Text, Linked Full Text, or HTML Full Text.
Full text link does not give you the entire article? Use Journal Search. Enter the title of the journal, not the title of the article.
Still no luck? You can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.
- Most Interlibrary Loan article requests will be filled in three to five (3-5) business days, excluding holidays and weekends. However, some articles may take seven to ten (7-10) working days to arrive. Be sure to plan for this extra amount of time.

Recommended Starting Points

In order to find articles on a topic, use the library's databases. Remember that different databases have different content, so it is always a good idea to search more than one database. As such, other databases are listed below.

SEARCH HINTS:

Select the Peer Reviewed (Scholarly) Articles box, in the middle or at the bottom of the search page OR in the left-hand column of search results, to find scholarly/journal articles.
If you only need a few articles, or have waited to the last minute to do your research, select Linked Full Text or Full Text to find articles available online.
Be sure to print, save, or e-mail articles. Do not copy and paste the link in the search box of your Internet browser.
Consider using other databases depending on the focus of your topic. For instance, there are subject-specific databases for psychology.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly business journals and other sources.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business related information including journals and company profiles.

Business Analytics Databases

In addition to the previously recommended databases such as Business Source Complete and ABI/INFORM, the following databases may also be useful to find articles relevant to business analytics.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references with limited full text in leading scholarly science and technical journals along with coverage from the social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covers applied science specialties such as aeronautics, neural networks, and nuclear engineering.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Papers published, co-published, or co-marketed by the Association for Computing Machinery and other related publishers.

Even More Databases

Databases by Subject: Business / Economics
A-Z Database & E-Resources List
All USC Upstate databases, arranged alphabetically. Also searchable by subject and type.

Newspapers

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles and television and radio news transcripts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, legal, business, medical news and reference information.
New York Times Educational Subscription This link opens in a new window
Complete, up-to-the-minute access to The New York Times, including English, Chinese ,and Spanish editions. Must register to access digital subscription and extras (please click "more" for instructions).
To register: 1. Click link listed in A to Z database list; 2. Choose school (must type University of South Carolina Upstate, not USC Upstate); 3. Fill in required information using official USC Upstate e-mail address. After registering, you should be able to access the entire newspaper on any device, on and off campus. Mobile apps are also available. Access is good for one year, after which you will be required to re-register for continued access (access limited to current students, faculty, and staff). Archival article access is limited; for historical articles, please see "New York Times Historical Newspaper" listed on A to Z database list. For troubleshooting, please see https://uscupstate.libguides.com/TechHelp/NYT

Need Help?

John Siegel

Coord. of Library Instructional Services

Contact:

864-503-5639
jsiegel2@uscupstate.edu
Office: Library 117D
Main Library: 864-503-5620

Subjects: Business / Economics, Community Health, Exercise Science, Psychology, Sociology / Women's Studies / Gender Studies

Business Resources: Overview: Find Articles on a Topic

Search Tool Worksheets

Tips and Tricks

Finding the Full Text (Complete) Articles

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

Look for a PDF Full Text or PDF link.

Full text link does not give you the entire article? Use Journal Search. Enter the title of the journal, not the title of the article.

Still no luck? You can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Most Interlibrary Loan article requests will be filled in three to five (3-5) business days, excluding holidays and weekends. However, some articles may take seven to ten (7-10) working days to arrive. Be sure to plan for this extra amount of time.

Recommended Starting Points

Business Analytics Databases

Even More Databases

Newspapers

Need Help?