LibGuides: Primary Sources: Links to Online Primary Resources

Primary Sources - Websites

Due to the broad range of topics represented in this list of primary source websites, the decision was made to group them alphabetically rather than by subject. This list is actively being added to as more institutions bring primary source materials online. Please click through all the tabs to view the different websites.

African Activist Archive - Michigan State University
The African Activist Archive Project is building an online archive of primary materials - documents, photographs, artifacts, and written and oral memories - of 50 years of activist organizing in the United States in solidarity with African struggles against colonialism, apartheid, and injustice. This is a "people's archive" focused primarily on local organizations in the U.S. that supported African struggles against colonialism and white minority rule.
Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy 1719-1820
In 1984, a professor at Rutgers University stumbled upon a trove of historic data in a courthouse in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Over the next 15 years, Dr. Gwendolyn Midlo Hall, a noted New Orleans writer and historian, painstakingly uncovered the background of 100,000 slaves who were brought to Louisiana in the 18th and 19th centuries making fortunes for their owners. Poring through documents from all over Louisiana, as well as archives in France, Spain and Texas, Dr. Hall designed and created a database into which she recorded and calculated the information she obtained from these documents about African slave names, genders, ages, occupations, illnesses, family relationships, ethnicity, places of origin, prices paid by slave owners, and slaves' testimony and emancipations. Together, Dr. Hall, the Center for the Public Domain, and ibiblio.org bring you the Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy 1699 - 1820 Database, a user-friendly, searchable, online database that is freely accessible to the public.
Alan Lomax Sound Archives
The Sound Recordings catalog comprises over 17,400 digital audio files, beginning with Lomax’s first recordings onto (newly invented) tape in 1946 and tracing his career into the 1990s. In addition to a wide spectrum of musical performances from around the world, it includes stories, jokes, sermons, personal narratives, interviews conducted by Lomax and his associates, and unique ambient artifacts captured in transit from radio broadcasts, sometimes inadvertently, when Alan left the tape machine running. Not a single piece of recorded sound in Lomax’s audio archive has been omitted: meaning that microphone checks, partial performances, and false starts are also included.

more... less...

This material from Alan Lomax’s independent archive, begun in 1946, which has been digitized and preserved by the Association for Cultural Equity, is distinct from the thousands of earlier recordings on acetate and aluminum discs he made from 1933 to 1942 under the auspices of the Library of Congress. This earlier collection — which includes the famous Jelly Roll Morton, Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, and Muddy Waters sessions, as well as Lomax’s prodigious collections made in Haiti and Eastern Kentucky (1937) — is the provenance of the American Folklife Center at the Library. Attempts are being made, however, to digitize some of this rarer material, such as the Haitian recordings, and to make it available in the Sound Recordings catalog. Please check in periodically for updates.
All Hands - Magazine of the U.S. Navy
The first "issue" of All Hands was printed as the Bureau of Navigation News Bulletin No. 1 (dated Aug. 30, 1922). Twenty years later, the title was changed to Bureau of Naval Personnel Information Bulletin. As America claimed "Victory in Europe" on the cover of June 1945, the magazine's new banner read, All Hands, and the name stuck.
American Journeys: Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement
American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. Read the words of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. View, search, print, or download more than 150 rare books, original manuscripts, and classic travel narratives from the library and archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society.

more... less...

Funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum & Library Services and by private donors, American Journeys is a collaborative project of the Wisconsin Historical Society and National History Day. It was originally created for students exploring National History Day's 2004 theme, "Exploration, Encounter & Exchange" and everyone else who loves American history.
American Legion Digital Archive
The American Legion National Library and Museum administers the Digital Archive, which represents the library's digital holdings. The Digital Archive provides full-text access to The American Legion magazine, national meeting digests, post and officer manuals, newsletters, press releases, and other publications published by the national organization. Additionally, the archive contains the ruling documents of The American Legion including current resolutions.
American Radicalism Digital Collection
The Radicalism Collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world.
Archives of Women's Political Communication - Iowa State University
The Archives of Women's Political Communication is an online archives launched in 2006 by the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics at Iowa State University devoted entirely to women's political speech. The archives houses the speeches and campaign advertising of U.S. women senators and representatives, cabinet members, Supreme Court justices, governors and lieutenant governors, and first and second ladies; international women leaders; and recipients of the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics at Iowa State University. It also features the speeches of historically significant women, social activists and women who have used their position of celebrity to advocate for political causes.
Asia for Educators - Primary Sources
An initiative of the Weatherhead East Asian Institute at Columbia University, Asia for Educators (AFE) is designed to serve faculty and students in world history, culture, geography, art, and literature at the undergraduate and pre-college levels. Links directly to the Primary Sources page.
The Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy from Yale Law School
From the website: "The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

The Avalon Project will no doubt contain controversial documents. Their inclusion does not indicate endorsement of their contents nor sympathy with the ideology, doctrines, or means employed by their authors. They are included for the sake of completeness and balance and because in many cases they are by our definition a supporting document."
Babe Ruth Scrapbooks - National Baseball Hall of Fame
10 digitized volumes. The scrapbooks were originally compiled by Ruth’s agent, Christy Walsh. Each book is packed with newspaper articles, game scores and all sorts of other memorabilia from Ruth’s career in the 1920s and '30s.
Bomb Sight
The Bomb Sight project is mapping the London WW2 bomb census between 7/10/1940 and 06/06/1941. Previously available only by viewing in the Reading Room at The National Archives, Bomb Sight is making the maps available to citizen researchers, academics and students. They will be able to explore where the bombs fell and to discover memories and photographs from the period.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938 (Library of Congress)
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA). At the conclusion of the Slave Narrative project, a set of edited transcripts was assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves.

more... less...

In 2000-2001, with major support from the Citigroup Foundation, the Library digitized the narratives from the microfilm edition and scanned from the originals 500 photographs, including more than 200 that had never been microfilmed or made publicly available. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs divisions of the Library of Congress.
Boston Athenaeum Digital Collections
Founded in 1807, the Boston Athenæum is one of the oldest and most distinguished independent libraries and cultural institutions in the United States. Today its collections comprise over half a million volumes, with particular strengths in Boston history, New England state and local history, biography, English and American literature, and the fine and decorative arts.
British History Online
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world.
BHO was founded by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust in 2003. Our collection currently contains over 1,250 volumes and is always growing.
Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
The Carlisle Indian Industrial School is a major site of memory for many Native peoples, as well as a source of study for students and scholars around the globe. This website represents an effort to aid the research process by bringing together, in digital format, a variety of resources that are physically preserved in various locations around the country. Through these resources, we seek to increase knowledge and understanding of the school and its complex legacy, while also facilitating efforts to tell the stories of the many thousands of students who were sent there.
Carolana
The site contains links to many historical government documents and other primary source material. This site is primarily intended to provide accurate information about the history of North Carolina and South Carolina, and all efforts possible have been made to ensure that the information contained herein is accurate.
Census Records of the U.S. - National Archives
Census records can provide the building blocks of your research. The first Federal Population Census was taken in 1790, and has been taken every ten years since. Because of a 72-year restriction on access to the Census, the most recent year available is 1940. The 1950 Census will be released on April 1, 2022.

The National Archives has the census schedules on microfilm available from 1790 to 1940, and most have now been digitized by our digitization partners. Family researchers generally find it most helpful to begin with the most current census and work backwards as a strategy for locating people in earlier generations.
Children's Book Selections - Library of Congress Digital Collections
This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. The books in this collection were published in the United States and England before 1924, are no longer under copyright, and free to read, share, and reuse however you’d like.
Civil Rights History Project - Library of Congress
The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide range of topics within the freedom struggle, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists. Actions and events discussed in the interviews include the Freedom Rides (1961), the Albany Movement (1961), the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom (1963), the Selma to Montgomery Rights March (1965), the Orangeburg Massacre (1968), the Poor People’s Campaign (1968), sit-ins, and voter registration drives in the South. The murder of fourteen year old Emmett Till in 1955, a horrific event that galvanized many young people into joining the freedom movement, looms large in the memories of many movement veterans.
Civil War in the American South
In recognition of the sesquicentennial of the start of the American Civil War, Civil War in the American South provides a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). This site currently links to more than 10,000 items from 32 libraries. The shared collection continues to grow, providing ready access to a world-class collection of primary source materials from the American Civil War era.
Colonial North America at Harvard Library
Colonial North America at Harvard Library provides access to remarkable and wide-ranging materials digitized as part of an ongoing, multi-year project. When complete, the project will make available to the world approximately 650,000 digitized pages of all known archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th- and 18th-century North America.
Columbia University Digital Collections
Columbia's digital library collection websites are a gateway to digital reproductions and descriptions of photographs, posters, drawings, objects, ephemera, and manuscripts as well as other archival material from Columbia's rare and special collections.
Congressional Record
The Congressional Record is the official daily record of the debates and proceedings of the U.S. Congress. The Daily Digest summarizes floor and committee actions in the Senate and the House of Representatives, is an index to the day's proceedings.
Cornell Digital Collections
Collections digitized and curated by Cornell University Library.
CSI: Dixie
Coroners’ inquests are some of the richest records we have of life and death in the nineteenth century South. As mortals, we all die, but we do not die equally. Race, place, gender, profession, behavior, and good and bad luck play large roles in determining how we go out of the world. Collecting extant coroners' inquests for the state of South Carolina between 1800 and 1900, "CSI: Dixie" provides rare glimpses into Victorian-era suicide, homicide, infanticide, abortion, child abuse, spousal abuse, master-slave murder, and slave on slave violence.

Digital Library of Appalachia
The Digital Library of Appalachia seeks to provide online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The thirty-three member libraries, archives, and museums associated with the Appa
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
A portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to incredible resources, wherever they may be in America. Far more than a search engine, the portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, format, subject, and partner.
DocsTeach
Run by the National Archives, DocsTeach provides audio, video, charts, graphs, maps and more. No account is required to view the digitized records.
Documenting the American South (DocSouth)
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings. The UNC University Library is committed to the long-term availability of these collections and their online records. An editorial board guides development of this digital library.
Dr. Seuss Advertising Artwork - UC San Diego
Advertising artwork created by Theodor Seuss Geisel, author and illustrator known internationally as Dr. Seuss. Geisel's major clients included Standard Oil of New Jersey, Flit pesticide and the National Broadcasting Company. His remarkable and imaginative campaign for Standard Oil promoted Esso Motor Oil with the monsters Karbo-nockus, Moto-raspus, Zerodoccus, Moto-munchus and Oilio-gobelus. Other clients included Holly Sugar, Brevo Shaving Cream, Narragansett Lager and Ale, and Hankey Bannister Scotch Whiskey. Geisel also produced a poster and cartoons for the War Department for use in their War Savings Campaign in 1943. These images have been digitized from the originals, held by the UC San Diego Library.
Dr. Seuss Political Cartoons - UC San Diego
Political cartoons drawn for the New York newspaper PM by author and illustrator Theodor Seuss Geisel. From 1941-1943, Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss, worked as the chief editorial cartoonist for the New York magazine PM, creating over 400 editorial cartoons. These images have been digitized from the published versions of the cartoons, held by the UC San Diego Library.
Duke University Digital Collections
Digitized historic photographs, advertisements, texts & more from Duke's unique library collections. 860 collections represented.
Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA)
The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA was published and supported by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) under the general editorship of Professor Ralph Bauer, at the University of Maryland at College Park. Intended as a long-term and inter-disciplinary project committed to exploring the intersections between traditional humanities research and digital technologies, it invited scholars from all disciplines to submit their editions of early American texts for publication on this site.
East Asian History Sourcebook
This page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks listed below, along with added texts and web site indicators. For more contextual information, for instance about Western imperialism, or the history of a given period, check out these web sites.

more... less...

There is no way of avoiding the fact that China is the central culture of Eastern Asia. Massively larger than any of her neighbors, China may have developed its cultural forms in relative isolation, but since the advent of Buddhism has both absorbed outside influences and disseminated its own culture. Japanese, Korean and Vietnamese cultures are not comprehensible without taking into account power of Chinese culture in art, literature and religion.
The Elizabeth Murray Project
This biographical resource site attempts to answer such questions through an exploration of important themes in early American history, with an online collection of documents and images, as well as curriculum materials for history courses at the elementary through university levels. The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) has provided generous support for this project.
The Empty Closet Newspaper - University of Rochester River Campus Libraries Digital Collections
The Empty Closet is one of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. It was begun at the University of Rochester by Bob Osborn and Larry Fine, the founders of the UR student group, Rochester Gay Liberation Front, and later transferred to the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley (GAGV). In 2010, the Empty Closet celebrated its 40th year of continuous publication. As it always has, the newspaper covers local, state, national and international news, as well as issues pertaining to the LGBT community. For as long as it has been published, the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections has been collecting, preserving and making available paper copies of the Empty Closet.
Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade
With the help of scholars, educators, and family historians, Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade (Enslaved.org) is rapidly expanding in 2021. We are building a robust, open-source architecture to discover, connect, and visualize 600,000 (and growing) people records and 5 million data points. From archival fragments and spreadsheet entries, we see the lives of the enslaved in richer detail. Explore the data and life stories on Enslaved.org and read articles on data-driven research about the lives of the enslaved in the Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe
These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions. Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

more... less...

No guarantee of accuracy is implied or assumed, particularly for remote links over which the webmaster has no control.

The Library of Congress provides tips for citing electronic sources from this website (eurodocs.lib.byu.edu).
Europeana Digital Collection
Europeana.eu is the EU digital platform for cultural heritage. More than 3,000 institutions across Europe have contributed to Europeana. These range from major international names like the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the British Library and the Louvre to regional archives and local museums from every member of the European Union. Together, their assembled collections let users explore Europe's cultural and scientific heritage from prehistory to the modern day.

more... less...

Licenses vary. Verify individual items.
European History Primary Sources
An index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitised primary sources on the history of Europe, created by the European University Insitute. Search collections by keyword or browse by country, language, period or subject.
FBI Records: The Vault
The Vault is our new FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office. Included here are many new FBI files that have been released to the public but never added to this website; dozens of records previously posted on our site but removed as requests diminished; files from our previous FOIA Library, and new, previously unreleased files.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) - Historical Documents
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the Department of State's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.
The Freedmen's Bureau Online
The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands...
...often referred to as the Freedmen's Bureau, was established in the War Department by an act of March 3, 1865. The Bureau supervised all relief and educational activities relating to refugees and freedmen, including issuing rations, clothing and medicine. The Bureau also assumed custody of confiscated lands or property in the former Confederate States, border states, District of Columbia, and Indian Territory. The bureau records were created or maintained by bureau headquarters, the assistant commissioners and the state superintendents of education and included personnel records and a variety of standard reports concerning bureau programs and conditions in the states.
From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection 1822-1909 (Library of Congress)
From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909 presents 396 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington.

Gabriel García Márquez Collection
The digital archive of Colombian-born writer Gabriel García Márquez includes manuscript drafts of published and unpublished works, research material, photographs, scrapbooks, correspondence, clippings, notebooks, screenplays, printed material, ephemera, and an audio recording of García Márquez's acceptance speech for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1982. The searchable, online archive is comprised of approximately 27,500 items from García Márquez's papers, and was made possible by a Digitizing Hidden Special Collections and Archives grant from the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR).

more... less...

The papers of Gabriel García Márquez, acquired by the Ransom Center in 2014, include original manuscript material, predominantly in Spanish, for 10 books, more than 2,000 pieces of correspondence, drafts of his 1982 Nobel Prize acceptance speech, more than 40 photograph albums documenting all aspects of his life over nearly nine decades, the Smith Corona typewriters and computers on which he wrote some of the twentieth century's most beloved works, and scrapbooks meticulously documenting his career via news clippings from Latin America and around the world.
Hanover Historical Texts Collection
The faculty and students of the Hanover College History Department initiated the Hanover Historical Texts Project in 1995, at a time when few primary sources were available outside of published anthologies. To make primary texts readily available for classroom use, they selected important documents, scanned print versions that were out of copyright, converted the scans into HTML format, proofread the resulting documents to correct OCR errors, edited them to provide page breaks, page numbers, and bibliographical information, and posted them online. Most of the texts in the Hanover Historical Texts Collection are in public domain.
Hansard - the official report of all Parliamentary Debates
The main business in both Houses of Parliament often takes the form of a debate including discussion on a Bill, general topics of interest, or issues selected by the major parties. All these debates are published in a daily record called Hansard. Published Parliamentary material has been digitized and made available on the Internet by various organisations. Please note that Parliament is not responsible for the content of external websites.

more... less...

Hansard is a “substantially verbatim” report of what is said in Parliament. Members’ words are recorded, and then edited to remove repetitions and obvious mistakes, albeit without taking away from the meaning of what is said. Hansard also reports decisions taken during a sitting and records how Members voted to reach those decisions in Divisions.
Harvard Digital Collections
Harvard Digital Collections provides free, public access to over 6 million objects digitized from our collections - from ancient art to modern manuscripts and audio visual materials.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust began in 2008 as a collaboration of the universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository to archive and share their digitized collections. The initial focus of the partnership has been on preserving and providing access to digitized book and journal content from the partner library collections. This includes both in copyright and public domain materials digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft, as well as through in-house initiatives.
Historical Photographs of China
This project locates, digitalizes, archives, and disseminates online photographs from the substantial holdings of images of modern China held mostly in private hands outside that country. These are often of even greater historic interest than might ordinarily be the case, as the destruction of materials in China through war and revolution in the twentieth century, and especially during the 1966-69 Cultural Revolution, means that there is a relative dearth today of accessible photographic records in China itself.

more... less...

If you were heading to hpc.vcea.net or Visualising China then please rest assured that you are in the right place: we moved to a new platform in 2017 with a new address, and more content.
Historical Newspapers of South Carolina
Historic Newspapers of South Carolina provides free online access to historic local and regional newspapers originating throughout South Carolina since the 1700s.

more... less...

The Historic Newspapers of South Carolina repository provides online access to fulltext searchable historic newpspapers originating in South Carolina since it became a state in 1788. The is online collection is a continuation and extension of the South Carolina Digital Newspaper Program (SCDNP) that began in 2009 as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program. The University of South Carolina is one of many institutions that participated in the program as part of a national effort to preserve America's historical newspapers. This site seeks to continue what that program began by continuing to digitize and make accessible as many historical newspapers originating in South Carolina as we can find.
Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library
The collections contained within the Ike Skelton Combined Arms Research Library Digital Library are largely composed of digital versions of paper documents from the Ike Skelton CARL collections and student papers produced at the US Army Command and General Staff College. We have recently partnered with several Army educational and historical organizations whose collections appear here also.
Imperial War Museum - Digital Collections
Imperial War Museums is the world’s leading museum of war and conflict. Founded while the First World War was still raging, it gives voice to the extraordinary experiences of ordinary people forced to live their lives in a world torn apart by conflict.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Part of the Oklahoma State University Digital Collections, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, this historically significant, seven volume compilation contains U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. There are three sourcebooks presented: Ancient History, Medieval, and Modern History. A link to instructions on how to cite the website is included on the home page. The website's most recent update appears to be in 2006.

Joseph A. Labadie Collection - University of Michigan
The Joseph A. Labadie Collection is one of the oldest, largest, and most comprehensive collections of its kind, with materials on anarchism, anti-colonialist movements, antiwar and pacifist movements, atheism and free thought, civil liberties and civil rights, ecology, labor and workers’ rights, feminism, LGBTQ movements, prisons and prisoners, the New Left, the Spanish Civil War, and youth and student protest.

more... less...

Access the digitized materials via the Digital Collections links partway down the page on the left hand side.
The Korean War and Its Origins
This collection focuses on the Korean War. The collection includes 275 documents totaling 1151 pages covering the years 1945 through 1953. Supporting materials include official documents and photographs.
Korean War Propaganda Leaflets (NDSU)
During the Korean War, North Dakota native Albert G. Brauer served as Chief of the Projects Branch, Psychological Warfare Division, G3 section. He was responsible for overseeing the creation of propaganda pamphlets that were airdropped over North Korea. This collection contain propaganda leaflets produced by the United States Army as well as leaflets produced by the communist forces in Korea.
Lowcountry Digital Library (LCDL)
The Lowcountry Digital Library (LCDL) produces digital collections and projects that support research about the Lowcountry region of South Carolina and historically interconnected sites in the Atlantic World.

more... less...

The Lowcountry Digital Library serves not only an audience of scholars, but students, educators and other patrons from across the globe. LCDL is harvested and fully searchable within the South Carolina Digital Library and the Digital Public Library of America, which brings our partner institutions and their collections to the national and international stage. LCDL is also indexed by Google and all other major search engines. This increased visibility, coupled with LCDL's complimentary digital preservation services, facilitates the sustainability, accessibility, and public engagement of our partners’ digital projects.
Making of America Digital Archive
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal America
Mapping Inequality brings one of the country's most important archives to the public. HOLC's documents contain a wealth of information about how government officials, lenders, and real estate interests surveyed and ensured the economic health of American cities. And with the help of ongoing research, we continue to learn at what cost such measures were realized.

more... less...

Mapping Inequality opens the HOLC files at the National Archives to scholars, students, and residents and policy leaders in local communities. This site makes the well-known security maps of HOLC available in digital form, as well as the data and textual assessments of the area descriptions that were created to go with the maps. By bringing study of HOLC into the digital realm, Mapping Inequality embraces a big data approach that can simultaneously give a national view of the program or a neighborhood-level assessment of the 1930s real estate rescue.
Mexican-American War: Primary Sources (Northern Illinois University)
Texts and images related to the war (1846-1848).
MIT Visualizing Cultures
Visualizing Cultures weds images and scholarly commentary in innovative ways to illuminate social and cultural history. NOTE: This link opens the "About" page; navigation to various units using the link at the top of the page.

National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
Naval History and Heritage Command - Archives
The Naval History and Heritage Command (NHHC), headed by the Director of Naval History, is an Echelon II command headquartered on the Washington Navy Yard, D.C.
New Jersey Jewish News (newspaper)
For 70 years the New Jersey Jewish News was the newspaper of record for New Jersey’s Jewish Community. The paper chronicled the social, religious, personal and business developments of the community. In addition to these local issues, its pages included national and world events affecting the community; Jewish culture and the arts; and Jewish holidays, celebrations, and other topics of interest.
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
NPGallery Digital Asset Management System (U.S. National Park Service)
The NPGallery Digital Asset Management System is an enterprise system for storing, organizing, and sharing photos and other digital files. NPGallery's central online repository offers a place for the NPS to store digital assets, including photos, illustrations, audio files, videos, and documents. T
P.T. Barnum Digital Collection
The P. T. Barnum Digital Collection draws from the holdings of the Barnum Museum and the Bridgeport History Center, Bridgeport Public Library, both located in Bridgeport, Connecticut. The 1000+ archival items and artifacts selected for this collection pertain to the world-famous showman, Phineas Taylor Barnum (1810-1891), and many of his associates, such as Charles S. Stratton (“Gen. Tom Thumb”), Jenny Lind, and Jumbo the Elephant, as well as his American Museum in New York City, circuses, four homes in Bridgeport, and other career, civic-life, and family-life topics. Both the planning and implementation phases of this project received generous support from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Peace and War in the 20th Century
McMaster University Library, Ontario, Canada. Our site includes almost 3000 records, organized around some 50 case studies. As well as a timeline to provide chronological context, some of the case studies include audio or video, and we have transcribed many of the original materials for easier reading.
Perseus Digital Library (Tufts University)
Perseus is a growing collection of online resources for studying the ancient world. Materials include ancient texts and translations, maps, articles, essays, and images form over 70 museums around the world.
Post Family Papers Project - University of Rochester
In the nineteenth-century, Rochester, New York was a boiling cauldron of civic activism. No other family epitomized this “commotion” of activity as much as the members of the Post family. The Post Family Papers Digitization Project has digitized all of the materials in the Post Family Papers housed in the University of Rochester Library. The work was undertaken by undergraduate and graduate students, and the materials, which include letters from Frederick Douglass, Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Harriet Tubman and many others are available for study.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog - American Memory - Library of Congress
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
Roz Payne Sixties Archive - University of Nebraska-Lincoln
The Roz Payne Sixties Archive is a free, web-based, educational archive of political artifacts from the 1960s-era, collected and saved over the years by activist, photographer and filmmaker, Roz Payne. The collection was digitized and curated by Dr. Patrick D. Jones, associate professor of History and Ethnic Studies at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The project has been facilitated by and is housed at the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities at UNL. All materials included in the archive are put forth under the fair use doctrine.

Rocket
The Rocket was a Seattle music and entertainment magazine that published over 300 issues from 1979 through 2000. It was the first publication to cover Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Alice in Chains, and other Northwest bands that would later become superstars. Many of the band members of those groups found other bandmembers by advertising in The Rocket's musician personals. For over two decades, The Rocket was the central clearinghouse for Northwest music and entertainment.
Rutgers Oral History Archives
ROHA's digital archive features 1,175 life course oral history interviews and over 32,000 pages of fully text-searchable transcripts. All content is available to students, teachers, and scholars free of charge for educational purposes.
Rutgers University Digital Collections
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps - Library of Congress
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division. The online checklist is based upon the Library's 1981 publication Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress and will be continually updated to reflect new acquisitions. The online checklist also contains links to existing digital images from our collection and will be updated as new images are added.
SC Department of Archives and History - Online Research
Links to multiple online records available through the SC Department of Archives and History in Columbia, SC.
The September 11 Digital Archive
The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of the September 11, 2001 attacks in New York, Virginia, and Pennsylvania and the public responses to them.
South Carolina and the Civil War
South Carolina and the Civil War brings together eyewitness views and accounts of this period of American history, selected from the rich holdings of University of South Carolina Libraries. Books, diaries, sheet music, maps, letters, photographs and illustrations all provide glimpses of everyday life during exceptional times. This collection provides students and other researchers with primary sources on the Confederate and Union soldiers, women, African Americans, and others who lived in camps and on battlefields, in urban and rural areas, at the homefront and on both sides of the blockade during our bloodiest conflict.
South Carolina Digital Library
The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. Over 200,000 items have been added so far.
South Carolina State Library Digital Collections
The South Carolina State Library Digital Collection provides documents and information that expand the State Library’s mission to provide equal access for all South Carolinians. These online collections create greater access to the State Library’s unique historical resources, government documents, and new digital projects.
Spartanburg County Public Library Historical Digital Collections
The Spartanburg County Public Libraries Digitization Program creates digital collections of local history materials from the Kennedy Room of Local and South Carolina History and Cleveland Genealogical Department and makes them available:
to enhance local history and genealogical research;
to increase access to its holdings;
to promote lifelong learning by the citizens of Spartanburg, South Carolina and the public at large.
Speaking While Female - Speech Bank
Speaking While Female showcases women speakers across time and around the world, from antiquity to the present. Historically women have not been silent, but their words have scarcely been noted in the history books. What they said was seldom valued, recorded, or remembered.

more... less...

We’re celebrating speeches by women of different backgrounds and beliefs. We’re recovering the speeches the history books forgot and making them accessible to everyone. We’re showing the evolution of women’s thought and expression — women in dialogue with one another and the history of ideas.

Every woman and girl should be able to see what a powerful female speaker looks like, read her words, and hear what she sounds like. That’s why we’re featuring transcripts, video, and in some cases just recorded sound.

U.S. - Korean Relations Collection
This collection contains a digital facsimile of records held by the United States National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) related to relations between the United States and the Korean peninsula, 1882-1963.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) - National Digital Library
Use the search engine or browse list of hyperlinked keywords to find recent images of Alaska, the northeast U.S. and in other regional categories, and historic images as well. Most, if not all, the images are 5″ x 7″, suitable for printing, and free for public use.
UCLA Library Digital Collections
The UCLA Digital Library Program (DLP) serves as the catalyst for the creation, management, and delivery of digital content in support of the UCLA Library mission and goals. The Program provides for the storage and dissemination of digital objects, including text, images, audio, and video in their various digital manifestations and combinations.
UHM [University of Hawaii at Manoa] Library Digital Image Collections
The Digital Collections include historical and cultural material that has been scanned and made available online. These collections feature scanned material from several collections and departments at the University of Hawai’i at Manoa Library.
United States Army in the World War, 1917-1919
The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) has digitized the 17-volume set, United States Army in the World War, 1917-1919, in recognition of the 100th anniversary of the end of the conflict, and it is now available on govinfo. Published in 1948, this publication compiles key documents, maps, and records for the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) from the start of the American involvement in World War I through the occupation of Germany.

more... less...

Volumes one and two focus on the formation and organization of the American Expeditionary Forces.
Volume three looks at the training and use of American units in the British and French armies.
Volumes four - eight provide documents on military operations.
Volume nine focuses on operations in the Meuse-Argonne.
Volumes 10 and 11 are documents related to the armistice and American occupation of Germany.
Volumes 12-15 contain reports of the Commander-in-Chief, AEF.
The final two volumes, 16 and 17, contain bulletins from the general headquarters of the AEF.
This publication offers a glimpse into the organization and operations of the AEF through primary source documents compiled by the Historical Division, U.S. Army.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Use the menu link in the upper left-hand corner of the website to navigate to the "Collections Search" link located under "Research and Collections".

more... less...

Since its dedication in 1993, the Museum has welcomed more than 40 million visitors, including 99 heads of state and more than ten million school-age children. Our website, the world’s leading online authority on the Holocaust, is available in 16 languages and was visited in 2015 by more than 16.5 million people representing 211 countries and territories.
University of South Carolina Digital Collections
A direct link to the Digital Collections Library of the University of South Carolina, Columbia Campus.

more... less...

The University Libraries' Digital Collection Center creates digital collections and makes them available

to enhance scholarship and research;
to increase access to its holdings;
to support the teaching and learning activities of the University of South Carolina faculty and students; and
to promote lifelong learning by the citizens of South Carolina and the public at large.
University of Southern Mississippi Digital Collections
The Special Collections Digital Lab creates research quality digital collections of texts, images, and audio materials and makes these collections available to scholars throughout the world. These digital collections will eventually represent the entire range of Special Collections materials: historical manuscripts and photographs, children's literature, Mississippiana, rare books, oral histories, and editorial cartoons.
University of Tennessee Digital Collections
This site carries several projects that range from historical photograph collections to current collections gathered by this university’s Herbarium. Other projects include early images of Egypt and electronic theses and dissertations.
UW-Madison Digital Collections
Resources within the collections are free and publicly accessible online. They are loosely organized into collections that span a range of subjects including art, ecology, literature, history, music, natural resources, science, social sciences, the State of Wisconsin, and the University of Wisconsin. Digital resources include text-based materials such as books, journal series, and manuscript collections, photographic images, slides, maps, prints, posters, audio, and video.
Village Preservation Historic Image Archive
This image archive highlights the history of the people and built environment of Greenwich Village, the East Village, and NoHo, and New York City in general. It has been assembled over the years through generous donations and consists of several dozen different collections.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages
that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. The actual number is estimated to have been as high as 12.5 million. The database and the separate estimates interface offer researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database - INTERACTIVE MAP
This interactive map was designed and built by Andrew Kahn using data from over 20,000 voyages listed in the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database. Andrew Kahn is the assistant interactives editor for Slate, a daily magazine on the web.

more... less...

Slate is a daily magazine on the web. Founded in 1996, we are a general-interest publication offering analysis and commentary about politics, news, business, technology, and culture. Slate’s strong editorial voice and witty take on current events have been recognized with numerous awards, including the National Magazine Award for General Excellence Online. The site, which is owned by Graham Holdings Company, does not charge for access and is supported by advertising revenues.
The Weiner Holocaust Library
The Wiener Holocaust Library is one of the world’s leading and most extensive archives on the Holocaust, the Nazi era and genocide. The Library’s unique collection of over one million items includes published and unpublished works, press cuttings, photographs and eyewitness testimony.
Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982 - UC Berkeley Libraries
Requires Real audio player. The UC Berkeley Social Activism Sound Recording Project is a partnership between the UC Berkeley Library, the Pacifica Foundation, and other private and institutional sources. The intent of the project is to gather, catalog, and make accessible primary source media resources related to social activism and activist movements in California in the 1960's and 1970's. Some recordings have been edited for purposes of sound quality and continuity.
Women Veterans Historical Project
The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project (WVHP), established at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) in 1998, documents the contributions of women in the military and related service organizations since World War I. The WVHP includes a wide range of source material including photographs, letters, diaries, scrapbooks, oral histories, military patches and insignia, uniforms, and posters, as well as published works.
Women’s Liberation Movement Print Culture - Duke University
This collection contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s. The Women's Liberation Movement refers to a series of campaigns for reforms on issues such as reproductive rights, domestic violence, and equal pay. Feminist print culture, such as the examples provided in the collection, supported and sustained the Women¹s Movement and connect it to other movements for social justice.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
World War History: Newspaper Clippings, 1914 to 1926
This vast online collection of World War I era newspaper clippings is from a single unique source: the 400-volume, 80,000-page set, World War History: Daily Records and Comments as Appeared in American and Foreign Newspapers, 1914-1926. Beginning with the assassination of Austrian Archduke Franz Ferdinand on June 28, 1914 and extending to the November 11, 1918 armistice and years after, the clippings yield significant information about the political, social, cultural, and economic impact of the war as it is taking place and its aftermath.
Yellowstone National Park - Sound Library (U.S. National Park Service)
Welcome to the Yellowstone sound library, where you can immerse yourself in the aural landscape of America's first national park. The files available here were recorded in the park and are in the public domain. They may be downloaded and used without limitation; however, please credit the "National Park Service " where appropriate.
Yellowstone National Park - Video Library (U.S. National Park Service)
Welcome to the Yellowstone video library. The files available here were recorded in the park and are in the public domain. They may be downloaded and used without limitation; however, please credit the "National Park Service" where appropriate. These files have been encoded at their native resolution using the H.264 codec.

Primary Sources - Upstate Library Databases

Chronicling America
Historical U.S. newspapers provided by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Greenville News
Full text to The Greenville (SC) News from 1999 to present.
Harper's Bazaar Archive
U.S. and U.K. editions of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to present; a chronicle of fashion, culture, and society.
Harper's Weekly
Magazine published during the American Civil War era and Reconstruction periods of history.
Historical Newspapers from ProQuest
Coverage includes international, African-American, and Jewish titles. For details on collection contents, please see https://search.proquest.com/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=28698
Historical Newspapers of South Carolina
Historic local and regional newspapers throughout South Carolina dating back to the 1700s.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
Online collection of 19th Century newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Life Magazine Archive
Coverage from November, 1936 (issue 1) through May, 2000.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (featuring Newsweek)
Backfiles of 15 major magazines through the 20th and into the 21st centuries.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Provides historical, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society, and events;
People Magazine Archive
Coverage from March, 1974 (issue 1) through December, 2000.
ProQuest Civil War Era
Historic Civil War era newspapers collection.

January 2020 - UPDATE: ProQuest has created a "How-to" LibGuide for using the U.K. Parliamentary Papers. Access that guide directly at this link: https://proquest.libguides.com/parliamentary

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reveal Digital - social movements, hidden voices, and marginalized groups
The mission of ITHAKA’s Reveal Digital is to discover and share the lesser-known stories and voices of marginalized groups and social movements of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Political Extremism and Radicalism
Primary source material on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia.
Underground and Independent Comics
Underground and independent comics, comix, and graphic novels.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers
Complete file of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books) and House of Lords Parliamentary Papers.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1823-1978
Records and briefs brought before the US Supreme Court in the period 1823-1978.

A link is available that lists all the primary source content databases available at Upstate through ProQuest. Browse the full content HERE. In addition, specific databases and other, non-ProQuest databases can be accessed using the links below and in the other tabs.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1684-1820)
Periodicals from 1684-1820 from the American Antiquarian Society.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837)
Periodicals from 1821-1837 from the American Antiquarian Society.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852)
Periodical titles from 1838-1852 from the American Antiquarian Society.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865)
Periodicals from 1853-1865 from the American Antiquarian Society.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912)
Periodicals from 1866-1912 from the American Antiquarian Society.
ArchiveGrid
Guide to locating historical collections around the world.
Archives Unbound
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. For title list, please click "more."
Title list: From website, click "Browse" under "Your Collections."
Civil War Primary Source Documents
Unique manuscript material chronicling all aspects of the American Civil War from the New-York Historical Society.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
History of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
History Commons
Accessible Archives content is now located in History Commons
History Vault
Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, and more primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

Included in History Vault:

American Indians and the American West
American Politics and Society
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
International Relations and Military Conflicts
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
Women's Studies
Workers, Labor Unions, Progressives, and Radicals
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Primary source material covering a variety of disciplines; from the Library of Congress.
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, provided by Cornell University.