chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Styles: Examples

This guide gives an overview of the most common Citation styles along with information on parts of sources and DOIs

Article -- Journals & Magazines (Online Journal)

Citation Sequence 
Shahid SA. Transition from 2D to 3D in-situ soil information. Eur J Sci Res [Internet]. 2009 [cited 2009 Apr 01]; 27(3): 349-357. Available from: http://www.eurojournals.com/ejsr_27_3_05.pdf.

Name-year 
Shahid SA. 2009. Transition from 2D to 3D in-situ soil information. Eur J Sci Res [Internet]. [cited 2009 Apr 01]; 27(3): 349-357. Available from: http://www.eurojournals.com/ejsr_27_3_05.pdf.

Article -- Journals & Magazines (Library Database)

Citation Sequence 
Hess DC, Borlongan CV. Stem cells and neurological diseases. Cell Prolif [Internet]. 2008 [cited 2009 Apr 01]; 41(Suppl. 1):94-114. Available from Academic Search Complete: http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/pdf?vid=17&hid=2&sid=759a921d-d75d-4478-a4ae-420baa53d822%40SRCSM1. 

Name-year 
Hess DC, Borlongan CV. 2008. Stem cells and neurological diseases. Cell Prolif [Internet]. [cited 2009 Apr 01]; 41(Suppl. 1):94-114. Available from Academic Search Complete: http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/pdf?vid=17&hid=2&sid=759a921d-d75d-4478-a4ae-420baa53d822%40SRCSM1.

Dissertations & Theses

Citation Sequence 
Amos JR. A mechanotransduction study of chondrogenesis using a novel tubular scaffold [dissertation]. [Internet]. [Columbia (SC)]: University of South Carolina; 2008 [cited 2009 April 16]. Available from: http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=306&TS=1239927459&clientId=21321. 

Name-year 
Amos JR. 2008. A mechanotransduction study of chondrogenesis using a novel tubular scaffold [dissertation]. [Internet]. [Columbia (SC)]: University of 
South Carolina; [cited 2009 April 16]. Available from: http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=306&TS=1239927459&clientId=21321.

Electronic Book

Citation Sequence 
Linke H, Mansson A. Controlled nanoscale motion [Internet].Berlin; London: Springer; c2005 [cited 2009 April 16]. Available from: http://www.springerlink.com/content/t5r1t9w04641/?p=3d1de8eed2d141bbaaf3cfc3d0cd571c&pi=7. 

Name-year 
Linke H, Mansson A. c2005.Controlled nanoscale motion [Internet].Berlin; London: Springer; [cited 2009 April 16]. Available from: http://www.springerlink.com/content/t5r1t9w04641/?p=3d1de8eed2d141bbaaf3cfc3d0cd571c&pi=7.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Citation Sequence 
Allaby M, editor. Cell membrane. A Dictionary of Zoology [Internet]. Oxford University Press; c2009 [cited 2009 April 16] Available from: http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t8.e1524.

Name-year
Allaby M, editor.c2009. Cell membrane. A Dictionary of Zoology [Internet]. Oxford University Press; [cited 2009 April 16] Available from: http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t8.e1524. 

Newspapers Library database & Online

Citation Sequence 
Nickerson C. Breakthrough on stem cells:  Reprogramming of human skin may circumvent ethics controversy [Internet]. Boston Globe. 2007 Nov 21; Sect. A:1 [cited 2009 Apr 17]. Available from LexisNexis Academic:  http://lexisnexis.com. 

Stolberg SG. Obama lifts Bush's strict limits on stem cell research [Internet]. The New York Times. 2009 Mar 9; [cited 2009 Apr 17]. Available from:http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/10/us/politics/10stem.html?_r=1.

Name-year 
Nickerson C. 2007 Nov 21. Breakthrough on stem cells:  Reprogramming of human skin may circumvent ethics controversy [Internet]. Boston Globe. Sect. A:1 [cited 2009 Apr 17]. Available from LexisNexis Academic:  http://lexisnexis.com.

Stolberg SG. 2009 Mar 9. Obama lifts Bush's strict limits on stem cell research [Internet]. The New York Times. [cited 2009 Apr 17]. Available from:http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/10/us/politics/10stem.html?_r=1.

Webpage

Citation Sequence 
Farrelly B. Careers in the biological sciences [Internet]. American Institute of Biological Sciences; c2009 [cited 2009 Apr 17]. Available from: http://www.aibs.org/careers/.

Name-year 
Farlley B. c2009. Careers in the biological sciences [Internet]. American Institute of Biological Sciences. [cited 2009 Apr 17]. Available from: http://www.aibs.org/careers/.

Article -- Journals & Magazines

Citation Sequence 
Komarova NL, Mironov V. On the role of endothelial progenitor cells in tumor neovascularization.  J Theor Biol 2005;235:338-349. 

Levin Y.  The real lessons of  stem cells.  Newsweek. 2009 Mar;153(13):47. 


Name-year 

Komarova NL, Mironov V. 2005. On the role of endothelial progenitor cells in tumor neovascularization. J Theor Biol 235:338-349.

Levin Y. 2009 Mar. The real lessons of stem cells. Newsweek. 153(13):47.

Books

Citation Sequence
Kelly, EB. Stem cells. Westport (CT): Greenwood Press; 2007.

Name-year 
Kelly, EB. 2007. Stem cells. Westport (CT): Greenwood Press.

When citing books, list all authors up to and including the 10th;  if more than 10 authors, list  the first 10 followed by "et al." or "and others".

Book part (chapter, article, etc.)

Citation Sequence 
Bayliss MK, Skett P. Isolation and culture of human hepatocytes.  In: Jones GE, editor. Human cell culture protocols. Totowa (NJ):  Humana Press; 1996. p. 369-391. 

Name-year 
Bayliss MK, Skett P. 1996. Isolation and culture of human hepatocytes. In: Jones GE, editor. Human cell culture protocols. Totowa (NJ):  Humana Press. p. 369-391. 

Dissertations & Theses print

Citation Sequence 
Kumaresan, K. Theoretical analysis of the discharge performance of lithium ion and lithium sulfur cells [dissertation].  [Columbia (SC)]: University of South Carolina; 2008.

Johnston, PA. Reproductive success and intraspecific competition of the red-cockaded woodpecker [master's thesis].  [Columbia (SC)]: University of South Carolina; 2006.


Name-year 
Kumaresan, K. 2008. Theoretical analysis of the discharge performance of lithium ion and lithium sulfur cells [dissertation].  [Columbia (SC)]: University of South Carolina. 


Johnston, PA. 2006. Reproductive success and intraspecific competition of the red-cockaded woodpecker [master's thesis].  [Columbia (SC)]: University of South Carolina.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Citation Sequence 
Gifford,Jr. EM. Stem. In: The encyclopedia Americana. International ed. Danbury (CT): Grolier Incorporated; 1996. p. 677-679.  

Name-year 
Gifford,Jr. EM. 1996. Stem. In: The encyclopedia Americana. International ed. Danbury (CT): Grolier Incorporated. p. 677-679. 

Newspapers print

Citation Sequence 
Sang-Hun C, Wade N. Korean cloning scientist quits over report he faked research. New York Times (Late Ed.). 2005 Dec 24; Sect. A:1(col. 1). 

Name-year 

Sang-Hun C, Wade N. 2005 Dec 24. Korean cloning scientist quits over report he faked research. New York Times (Late Ed.). Sect. A:1(col. 1).