Skip to Main Content
Putting the L,G,B,T,I and Q in Collection Development: Resources on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity
Putting the L,G,B,T,I and Q in Collection Development: Resources on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity: Reviews
General (All Ages) - Free Sources
GLBT Reviews (ALA Rainbow RT)
Includes youth and adult book and media titles.
Book Riot is the largest independent editorial book site in North America. Contains reviews of books for all ages.
Site dedicated to promoting curated LGBTQ+ literature for all ages, run by author and blogger Dahlia Adler.
No Flying No Tights
Features reviews on comics, manga, and anime for all ages.
General (All Ages) - Subscription Sources
Booklist (Public and School Library Titles)
Library Journal (LJ)
Children and Young Adult (YA) Titles - Free Sources
I'm Here, I'm Queer, What the Hell Do I Read?
Focused on books geared toward LGBTQ teens or YA titles with LGBTQ+ characters.
Books for Kids in Gay Families
Picture books for children about the experience of knowing or having a gay parent, family member, or friend, as well as books for gender nonconforming kids.
Queer Books for Teens
Includes 'best of' lists with multicultural characters, as well as resources for educators and teens.
Embracing Gender Identities (Association for Library Service to Children)
includes recommended informational picture books, as well as works of fiction and non-fiction that challenge gender norms and explore the wide spectrum of gender identity. It includes additional resources for parents.
What is "Good" LGBTQ YA? (Malinda Yo)
Children and Young Adult (YA) Titles - Subscription Sources
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (WEBSITE)
(Subscription) One of the nation’s leading children’s book review journals for school and public librarians.
The Horn Book (Children/Young Adult Literature)
School Library Journal (SLJ)
Adult and Academic Titles - Free Sources
Lambda Literary - Reviews
Features young adult and adult fiction, non-fiction, illustrated [graphic novels, etc.], drama, and film/movie titles.
NOTCHES: (re)marks on the history of sexuality
NOTCHES is a peer-reviewed, collaborative and international history of sexuality blog that includes book reviews.
Sistahs on the Shelf
Contains reviews of Black Lesbian fiction.
Out in Print: Queer Book Reviews
Ultimate LGBTQIA+ Pride Book List (Penguin Random House)
This list was curated by the Penguin Random House LGBT Network and ranges from literary fiction to science fiction, among others.
Lambda Literary - Review Magazines
Adult and Academic Titles - Subscription Sources
The Gay & Lesbian Review
Published bimonthly, this magazine includes reviews on adult books, movies, and plays.
Choice Resources for College Libraries (Academic Libraries)
Coord. of Library Instructional Services
Office: Library 117D
Main Library: 864-503-5620
Business / Economics
Sociology / Women's Studies / Gender Studies
Twitter Hashtag/Feeds >>
Feb 21, 2023 10:32 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.