ENGL U101 - Composition I - Gallman: Finding Articles

Students have found this log useful to keep track of searches and articles of possible interest.

If you are finding too many articles, articles not on point, or not many articles, consider adding one of these terms to your search.

controversy

debates

views

viewpoints

argument

counterpoint

supporters

opponents

objection

ethics

morals/morality

For example, if your topic was genetically modified foods, you might try this search in the databases: 

     genetically modified foods

     AND controversy

Most of your research for this paper will come from articles, since they will be most current. Remember to check article dates! Generally, newer articles or articles that a few years old will be better (no more than 5-7 years). However, ask your professor if you have questions.

The databases below are starting points for your research.

HELPFUL HINTS:

• Having trouble logging in? Skip to the box below for other database options!
• Keeping it simple is best. Don't overload the search boxes. For example, if your topic was kneeling during the national anthem, try kneeling AND national anthem. (Combine terms using the connector 'AND')
• Remember to select Full Text to limit to articles available online. Use the limiters in the left-hand or right hand column of the results page, such as Publication Date and Publication Type.
• Do not copy and paste the link in your web browser. The links are not stable and you will not find the article again.
  • Write down the titles, author, etc. or take a picture with your phone. Better yet, consider printing, e-mailing, or saving the article to a flash drive.

If you are having issues logging in, try calling University IT at
864-503-5257.

Please note that the South Carolina State Library provides access to Discus as a South Carolina resident.

Below are links to two databases that will allow you to search for articles. Use Ask a Librarian to obtain the Discus username and password.

IMPORTANT: Be sure to click "Advanced Search" when the databases open. You can then watch the video in the left-hand column of this page for tips and tricks.

Academic Search Premier

Newspaper Source Plus

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

• Look for a PDF Full Text or PDF link.

• No PDF Full Text or PDF link? Look for another full text link, such as Linked Full Text, Full Text Finder, or HTML Full Text. 

• Full text link does not give you the entire article? Ask a Librarian!