LibGuides: Psychology: Finding Resources

Finding Articles

APA PsycInfo
Articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and peer reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Sociology journals covering areas including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Coverage on topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, and experimental methods.
PTSDpubs
Citations with limited full text on mental health issues caused by traumatic events.

Databases by Subject: Psychology
A-Z Database & E-Resources List
All USC Upstate databases, arranged alphabetically. Also searchable by subject and type.

Academic Search Ultimate
Comprehensive general multidisciplinary database.
ScienceDirect
Journals published/distributed by Elsevier. Coverage is strongest for biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine, and physics.
JSTOR
Access to journals in the humanities, social sciences, and science.

*JSTOR NOW CONTAINS ARTSTOR MATERIALS. ARTSTOR AS ITS OWN DATABASE IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE.

A-Z Database & E-Resources List
All USC Upstate databases, arranged alphabetically. Also searchable by subject and type.

**VIDEOS SHOULD BE PUT IN FULL SCREEN MODE TO BE PROPERLY VIEWED**

Finding Databases

Finding Articles

Sample Database Tutorial

(this video is just to get a general idea on how databases may look and work)

Search Strategies

Finding Books and E-Books

Search here for library books on your topic.

Electronic books are accessed through the SearchUp Catalog. In a list of results they are identified by "Available Online" underneath the title, publisher, and publication date.

Click on the title in the results list. This opens the record for the book.

Click on the link under "View Online" in the record.

Physical books will be classified under "Held by Library."

Remember the library collects a variety of books for different perspectives, including historical.

Be sure to look at the publication date of any books you use!

Generally, books within the last 5-7 years are most current. However, check with your professor if you are unsure or have questions.

**VIDEOS SHOULD BE PUT IN FULL SCREEN MODE TO BE PROPERLY VIEWED**

How to Find Books and eBooks

Research Log

Students have found this log useful to keep track of searches and articles of possible interest.

Research Log

PSYCH U300 - Travis

Search in Harvard Business Review
When the page comes up, scroll down until you see the journal title "Harvard Business Review." From there, you can search using keywords or go through the journal by year, volume, and issue.
Harvard Business Review - Secondary Access Option
From this page, click on the "EBSCOHost Business Source Complete" link under "View Online." Scroll down until you see the journal title "Harvard Business Review." From there, you can search using keywords or go through the journal by year, volume, and issue.

To access our e-resources, you will most likely be asked to sign-in at some point. This will just be your Upstate email and password.