chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Composition II Research Guide for ENGL 102: Finding Articles

Overview: Library Databases

Finding the Full Text (Complete) Articles

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

  • Look for a PDF Full Text or PDF link.

  • No PDF Full Text or PDF link? Look for another full text link, such as Linked Full Text, Full Text Finder, or HTML Full Text. 

  • Full text link does not give you the entire article? Ask a Librarian!

High School Dual Enrollment Students: Can't Login to the USC Upstate Database?

Please review the information on the High School Dual Enrollment Library Guide.

If you are still having issues logging in, the South Carolina State Library provides access to DISCUS as a South Carolina resident.

Below are links to two databases that will allow you to search for articles. Use Ask a Librarian to obtain the DISCUS username and password.

IMPORTANT: Be sure to ciick "Advanced Search" when the databases open. You can then watch the video in the top center column in this guide for tips and tricks.

Academic Search Premier

Newspaper Source Plus

MasterFILE Premier

Suggested Database & Tutorial

**This video will need to be in Full Screen mode to be properly viewed**

Subject Databases

Below are several subject databases that should also be helpful for your research. The Library subscribes to over 300 databases, so these are just a few. Remember that if you are not finding what you want, please contact me or another librarian. A librarian can make other recommendations for other databases to try.

Subject Databases by Career/Major

Biology 

General Science Full Text

Science Reference Center

Business (Accounting,Business Admin, etc.) Business Source Complete
Communications/Public Relations Communications & Mass Media Complete
Computer Science Computer Source
Criminal Justice Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Education (Early,Elementary, Secondary) Education Research Complete
Engineering Science Reference Center
Exercise & Sport Science

SPORTDiscus

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition 

CINAHL Complete

Health (i.e. Physical Therapy)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

CINAHL Complete

MEDLINE Complete

Music (Commercial) Business Source Complete
Nursing CINAHL Complete
Political Science Political Science Complete
Psychology

PsycARTICLES

PsycINFO

Sociology SocINDEX

 

Even more databases: