LibGuides: Primary Sources: Historic Newspapers and Digital Newspaper Collections

Regional Historic Newspapers - Digital Collections

Several academic institutions have made significant collections of regional historical newspapers available in digital format. Please find links to several of these digital collections below. More states will be added as they become available.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
This collection contains 564,984 issues comprising 6,026,128 pages and 42,398,323 articles.
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.
Historic Newspapers of South Carolina
Historic Newspapers of South Carolina provides free online access to historic local and regional newspapers originating throughout South Carolina since the 1700s.
more...less...
The Historic Newspapers of South Carolina repository provides online access to fulltext searchable historic newpspapers originating in South Carolina since it became a state in 1788. The is online collection is a continuation and extension of the South Carolina Digital Newspaper Program (SCDNP) that began in 2009 as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program. The University of South Carolina is one of many institutions that participated in the program as part of a national effort to preserve America's historical newspapers. This site seeks to continue what that program began by continuing to digitize and make accessible as many historical newspapers originating in South Carolina as we can find.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections
The Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections are free to search, free to browse, and free to download. There are four collections on this site. These collections contain 179,959 issues from 158 newspapers.
Maryland State Archives - Digital Newspapers
The Digital Newspapers page is the best way of finding and viewing all of the newspapers that the Maryland State Archives makes available online. Titles are listed alphabetically, along with the dates they were published, question marks appear when exact dates are unknown.
Missouri Digital Newspaper Project
The State Historical Society of Missouri is pleased to present a growing collection of digitized historic newspapers. These images are freely available to the public and are keyword-searchable.
Texas Digital Newspaper Program
The Texas Digital Newspaper Program (TDNP) partners with communities, publishers, and institutions to promote standards-based digitization of Texas newspapers and to make them freely accessible via The Portal to Texas History.

Regional Historic Newspapers - More Digital Collections

Georgia Historic Newspapers
The Georgia Historic Newspapers database is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia as part of Georgia HomePlace. The project is supported with federal LSTA funds administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Georgia Public Library Service, a unit of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.
New York State Historic Newspapers
The New York Historic Newspapers project exists to digitize and make freely available for research significant runs of historic newspapers for every county in the state. Pages Available: 11,008,207.
North Carolina Newspapers - Digital NC
This collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina. Browse by title, or try the Advanced Search.
Utah Digital Newspapers
UDN currently contains 3.5 million pages from nearly 200 newspapers. Thanks to an agreement with Ancestry's Newspapers.com, we are currently pursuing a three-year project to digitize all remaining Utah newspapers.
Virginia Chronicle (digital newspapers)
Virginia Chronicle is a historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to full text searching and digitized images of over a million newspaper pages.
This collection contains 183,146 issues comprising 1,361,298 pages and 183,885 articles.
Washington Digital Newspapers
The Washington Digital Newspapers program brings together over 400,000 pages from our earliest online Washington Territorial newspaper collection with titles digitized by the state library as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) and the Institute of Museum and Library Services’ (IMLS) Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA).

Primary Sources: Historic Newspapers and Digital Newspaper Collections

Researching with Historic Newspapers

Regional Historic Newspapers - Digital Collections

Regional Historic Newspapers - More Digital Collections