Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Video Streaming Databases
These resources contain a limited amount of video files. The other boxes have databases with a more extensive amount of video files.
Films On Demand
Streaming videos that can be incorporated into course management software and viewed in class or on any computer. Films span many subject areas. (https://tinyurl.com/yaa9r8xj)
General Databases with Some Video
This reference database provides access to videos on science, geography, world studies, American history, and arts. Access the videos by clicking on the “Video Collection” link under Research Tools.
Subject Specific Databases with Some Video
American History in Video
Comprehensive collection of history videos including archival materials, newsreels, and more. (https://tinyurl.com/y9hd4mdl)
History Reference Center
Excellent starting point for research into any historical topic. (https://tinyurl.com/yb9myvn2)
World History in Video
Video collection. Documentaries about historical events and figures all over the world. (https://tinyurl.com/y7hp4zo4)
Black Studies in Video
Videos surveying the evolution of black culture in the U.S. (https://tinyurl.com/y8qeps6o)
Ethnographic Video Online
Video Collection. Visual study of human culture and behavior. (https://tinyurl.com/y8vnopso)
Dance Online: Dance in Video
Video collection. Dance productions and documentaries. (https://tinyurl.com/y8hehrwg)
Music Online: Opera in Video
Video collection. Opera performances captured on video through staged productions, interviews and documentaries. (https://tinyurl.com/y7529olv)
Moving Image Research Center - American Memory - Library of Congress
This links to the motion picture collections from the American Memory Project. A range of topics are covered, such as Coca-Cola Advertising, Animated Film, or Theadore Roosevelt.
Annenburg Media's Learner.org
Free source of Video on Demand titles. The site includes videos for all subject areas and grade levels. Videos can be shown to classes.
C-SPAN Video Library
Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987 is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives. All C-SPAN programs since 1987 can be viewed online for free.
Internet Archive: Prelinger Archives
"Ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films made from 1927 through the present.
Snag Films Documentary Films
Snag Films covers a wide array of documentary films that are available for free and can be linked and shown anywhere.