Finding Articles - ENGL U101: Composition I - Brock Adams - LibGuides at University of South Carolina Upstate

Quick Note

When you find an article you like DO NOT COPY AND PASTE THE LINK AT THE TOP OF THE PAGE (IN THE WEB BROWSER). The links are not stable and you will not find the article again.

Find a permalink if possible and email it to yourself. Write down the titles, author, etc. or take a picture with your phone.

Lists of Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Comprehensive general multidisciplinary database.
EBSCOhost Full List
Searches Academic Search Ultimate plus our other Ebscohost databases, offering access to full text articles from peer reviewed journals.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper articles and television and radio news transcripts.
Nexis Uni
News, legal, business, medical news and reference information.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Library of current event topics: Facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.
Points of View Reference Source
Articles and essays on both sides of many major topics.
ProQuest Full List
ProQuest databases offering access to full text articles from peer reviewed journals.
ScienceDirect
Journals published/distributed by Elsevier. Coverage is strongest for biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine, and physics.

Census.gov
Population statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Greenville News
Full text to The Greenville (SC) News from 1999 to present.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper articles and television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times Educational Subscription
Complete, up-to-the-minute access to The New York Times, including English, Chinese ,and Spanish editions. Must register to access digital subscription and extras (please click "more" for instructions).
To register: 1. Click link listed in A to Z database list; 2. Choose school (must type University of South Carolina Upstate, not USC Upstate); 3. Fill in required information using official USC Upstate e-mail address. After registering, you should be able to access the entire newspaper on any device, on and off campus. Mobile apps are also available. Access is good for one year, after which you will be required to re-register for continued access (access limited to current students, faculty, and staff). Archival article access is limited; for historical articles, please see "New York Times Historical Newspaper" listed on A to Z database list. For troubleshooting, please see https://uscupstate.libguides.com/TechHelp/NYT
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, dating back to 1878.
U.S. Southeast Newsstream
Also includes limited runs of Spartanburg Herald-Journal (2007-2016), Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and Asheville Citizen-Times. For title list, please click "more."
Title list: https://search.proquest.com/southeastnews/publicationbrowse?accountid=28698

ACLU of South Carolina
The ACLU protects your freedom through a nationwide network of staffed offices in every state, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico.
Boys and Girls Club of America
Boys & Girls Clubs are a safe place to learn and grow – all while having fun. It is the place where great futures are started each and every day.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is the federal agency that is responsible for developing and applying disease prevention and control, and preparing health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.
City-Data
By collecting and analyzing data from numerous sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles of all cities in the United States. From crime rates to weather patterns, you can find the data you're looking for on City-Data.com.
NAACP of South Carolina
The South Carolina State Conference is the leading civil rights organization in the state of South Carolina. The organization was chartered in 1939 and now operates through a network of branches, youth councils and college chapters located across the forty-six counties of the state. The NAACP is driven by volunteers committed to the mission of the oldest civil rights organization in America.
National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation's medical research agency -- making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
SC.gov - Agency List (A-Z)
The official listing of all state Agencies for the state of South Carolina.
SC Lieutenant Governor's Office on Aging
The Lieutenant Governor's Office on Aging is South Carolina's "State Unit on Aging" and administers federal funds received through the Older Americans Act. The Lieutenant Governor's Office on Aging works with a network of regional and local organizations to develop and manage programs and services to improve the quality of life of South Carolina's older citizens, and to help them remain independent in their homes and communities.
South Carolina Association of Counties
The South Carolina Association of Counties (SCAC) is the only organization dedicated to the statewide representation of county government in South Carolina. Access to Chambers of Commerce can be found on this website.
Spartanburg Community Indicators Project (free website)
The Spartanburg Community Indicators Project presents data and resources on seven indicators: civic health, public health, economy, education, social environment issues (housing/crime/poverty), culture, and the environment.
Spartanburg County Public Library
Upstate students can get a public library card by bringing their Upstate ID to the library.
Urban League of the Upstate
The National Urban League is a historic civil rights organization dedicated to economic empowerment in order to elevate the standard of living in historically underserved urban communities. The Urban League is the oldest and largest community-based organization of its kind in the nation.

more... less...

In 1970, a small group of citizens from Greenville met in the basement of Springfield Baptist Church with one goal in mind. To create a community-based organization committed to the principle of equal opportunity for all citizens in housing, education, employment and economic development without regard to race or socioeconomic status. From these meetings, the Greenville Urban League was established in 1972 with Theo Mitchell as its first President. In 1997, understanding the needs of the Upstate Region, the name was changed to reflect the population served to Urban League of the Upstate.
United Housing Connections
UHC is an organization that works together with other agencies in our area to provide affordable housing. We are dedicated to ending homelessness through programming, advocacy, and building safe, decent, and affordable housing for homeless or at-risk families and individuals. Our goal is to help fill the gaps in services for homeless and at-risk persons. UHC coordinates the Continuum of Care throughout a 13 county area in Upstate South Carolina.

Sample Databases

A-Z Database & E-Resources List
All USC Upstate databases, arranged alphabetically. Also searchable by subject and type.

Academic Search Ultimate
Comprehensive general multidisciplinary database.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Library of current event topics: Facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.
Points of View Reference Source
Articles and essays on both sides of many major topics.