Communication & Journalism Journals - SPCH U398 Communicating the History of Race and Ethnicity in the United States - Dr. Webber - LibGuides at University of South Carolina Upstate

Scholarly Journals

These journals are available in paper or online full-text through the USC Upstate Library. Most are peer-reviewed and present research articles and other material of interest to an academic audience.

Argumentation & Advocacy - CMMC 1990-present. Communication & Mass Media Complete Argumentation & Advocacy – The flagship journal of the American Forensic Association, this journal aims to advance the study of argumentation, including argumentation theory, public and political argument, culture and argument, legal argument, interpersonal arguing, pragma-dialetics, and forensics and pedagogy.
Communication & Critical/Cultural Studies - CMMC A journal of the National Communication Association, CCCS "publishes original scholarship that situates culture as a site of struggle and communication as an enactment and discipline of power." Within that framework, topics may include class, race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality, the public sphere, the nation, globalization, and environment.
Communication, Culture & Critique - CMMC 3/2008 to one year ago. Communication & Mass Media Complete Communication, Culture and Critique – “Provides an international forum for critical, interpretive and qualitative research examining the role of communication and cultural criticism in today’s world.” Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).
Communication, Culture & Critique - Wiley 2008 - present As of 2018, Communication, Culture & Critique is no longer published by Wiley. Current content can be found on the new publisher's site: https://academic.oup.com/ccc Communication, Culture and Critique – “Provides an international forum for critical, interpretive and qualitative research examining the role of communication and cultural criticism in today’s world.” Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).
Communication Education - CMMC Title History: Communication Education (1976 - present) Speech Teacher (1952 - 1975) Changed to Communication Education Bibliographic Records: 01/01/1952 to present
Communication Monographs - CMMC ommunication Monographs publishes original research, theoretical papers, and original reviews on human communication processes. The journal seeks research that "bridge[s] boundaries that have traditionally separated scholars within the communication discipline," within rigorous review and high intellectual standards. It especially features content that offers answers to current communication questions that are of "theoretical, conceptual, methodological, and/or social importance."
Communication Theory - CMMC Publishes “high quality, original research into the theoretical development of communication” from several disciplinary perspectives.
Communication Theory - Oxford Journals A-Z Collection Oxford Journals A-Z Collection Available from 1996 volume: 6 issue: 1. This journal publishes "high quality, original research into the theoretical development of communication." Many disciplines are represented, including communication studies, psychology, cultural/gender studies, sociology, political science, philosophy, linguistics, and literature. Articles that examine technology, ethnicity and race, global and intercultural communication, gaming, and intergroup studies are among those works welcomed.
Communication Theory - Wiley 1997- present Publishes “high quality, original research into the theoretical development of communication” from several disciplinary perspectives.
Critical Studies in Media Communication - CMMC
Feminist Media Studies - CMMC 3/2001 - 1 issue embargo. Communication & Mass Media Complete Provides an international forum for leading scholarship in the areas of feminist studies of media and communication.
Feminist Media Studies - Taylor & Francis Online 2001-present Provides an international forum for leading scholarship in the areas of feminist studies of media and communication.
First Amendment Studies - Taylor & Francis Online This journal publishes original essays that make a significant contribution to theory and/or policy, on all aspects of free speech. Essays may be historical or contemporary, on topics such as free speech law and legislation analysis, and the role of free speech in various contexts such as popular culture and organizations.
Howard Journal of Communications - CMMC 3/1988-18 months ago. Communication & Mass Media Complete Examines the influence of ethnicity, gender, and culture on communication issues from a multicultural perspective.
Howard Journal of Communications - Taylor & Frances online 1997-present Examines the influence of ethnicity, gender, and culture on communication issues from a multicultural perspective.
Human Communication Research - CMMC 2006-one year ago. Communication & Mass Media Complete Official journal of the International Communication Association. Emphasis on theory-driven research, human communication methodologies, and critical synthesis. Focus on human symbolic processes in the areas of interpersonal, nonverbal, organizational, intercultural, and mass communication; language and social interaction; new technologies; and health communication.
Human Communication Research - Wiley 1997-present Official journal of the International Communication Association. Emphasis on theory-driven research, human communication methodologies, and critical synthesis. Focus on human symbolic processes in the areas of interpersonal, nonverbal, organizational, intercultural, and mass communication; language and social interaction; new technologies; and health communication.
Journalism & Communication Monographs - CMMC 1999-2011 Communication & Mass Media Complete Journalism and Communication Monographs (formerly Journalism and Mass Communication Monographs) –
Journalism and Communication Monographs - Sage Journalism and Communication Monographs (formerly Journalism and Mass Communication Monographs) – Paper back issues under former title Journalism and Mass Communication Monographs (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog). Full-text in Sage Online Journals, 1999-present
Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly - CMMC 1975-present. Communication & Mass Media Complete Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly (formerly Journalism Quarterly) – Flagship journal of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. Paperback issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in the library catalog). Additional back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm) under former title Journalism Quarterly (check library catalog).
Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly - Sage Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly (formerly Journalism Quarterly) – Flagship journal of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog). Additional back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm) under former title Journalism Quarterly (check library catalog). Full-text in Sage Online Journals, 1955-present
Journal of Applied Communications Research - CMMC 01/01/1973 - 11/01/1980 Communication & Mass Media Complete The Journal of Applied Communication Research (JACR) is a peer-reviewed publication of the National Communication Association. JACR publishes original scholarship that contributes to knowledge about how people practice communication across diverse applied contexts. All theoretical and methodological approaches are welcome, as are all contextual areas. Of utmost importance is that an applied communication problem or issue is clearly identified as the motivation for the research.
Journal of Applied Communications Research - Taylor & Francis 1973 - 2019 Taylor & Francis publishers site The Journal of Applied Communication Research (JACR) is a peer-reviewed publication of the National Communication Association. JACR publishes original scholarship that contributes to knowledge about how people practice communication across diverse applied contexts. All theoretical and methodological approaches are welcome, as are all contextual areas. Of utmost importance is that an applied communication problem or issue is clearly identified as the motivation for the research.
Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media – CMMC 6/1985-present. Communication & Mass Media Complete Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media (formerly Journal of Broadcasting) – Publishes articles that cover the trends in research of electronic media, including critical, historical and ethnographic perspectives. Back issues in Microfilm, (check holdings in the library catalog). Microfilm under former title Journal of Broadcasting (check holdings in the library catalog).
Journal of Communication – CMMC 03/01/2006 to present (with a 12 month delay). Communication & Mass Media Complete Journal of Communication – A major journal in the field, this publication is interdisciplinary in approach and covers communication theory, research, practice, and policy. Paperback issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in the library catalog).
Journal of Communication – Wiley Journal of Communication – A major journal in the field, this publication is interdisciplinary in approach and covers communication theory, research, practice, and policy. Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in library catalog). Full-Text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 3/2006-one year ago.Journal of Communication – A major journal in the field, this publication is interdisciplinary in approach and covers communication theory, research, practice, and policy. Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in library catalog). Full-Text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 3/2006-one year ago.
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication - CMMC 11/01/2005 to present. Communication & Mass Media Complete Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication – Interdisciplinary focus for research and essays about computerized communication.
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication - Wiley 1997-present Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication – Interdisciplinary focus for research and essays about computerized communication. Full-text in Wiley Online Library, 1997-present; Communication & Mass Media Complete, 11/2005-one year ago.
Journal of International & Intercultural Communication - CMMC 02/01/2008 to present (with a 18 Month delay)
Journal of Media Ethics - CMMC 1985-18 months ago. Communication & Mass Media Complete Journal of Media Ethics (formerly Journal of Mass Media Ethics)– Publishes articles that articulate conflicts and present and define ethical issues. Back issues listed under Journal of Mass Media Ethics (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).
Journal of Media Ethics - Taylor & Francis Online 1997-present Journal of Media Ethics (formerly Journal of Mass Media Ethics)– Publishes articles that articulate conflicts and present and define ethical issues. Back issues listed under Journal of Mass Media Ethics (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in the library catalog).
Journal of Nonverbal Behavior - CMMC 03/01/1992 to present (with a 12 Month delay). Communication & Mass Media Complete Journal of Nonverbal Behavior – Publishes research on various aspects of nonverbal communication.
Journal of Nonverbal Behavior - Springer (LINK) 1997-present; Journal of Nonverbal Behavior – Publishes research on various aspects of nonverbal communication.
Management Communication Quarterly - ABI/Inform Brings together communication research from many fields, with a focus on managerial and organizational effectiveness.
Management Communication Quarterly - CMMC Management Communication Quarterly (MCQ), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is an essential resource for scholars of organizational and managerial practice and offers valuable and timely insights for professionals, consultants, and trainers. MCQ publishes conceptually rigorous, empirically-grounded, and practice-relevant research from across the organizational and management communication fields and has strong appeal across all disciplines concerned with organizational studies and the management sciences.
Management Communication Quarterly - Sage Brings together communication research from many fields, with a focus on managerial and organizational effectiveness.
Quarterly Journal of Speech - CMMC Available from 02/01/1928 A respected and established journal in the field, QJS publishes scholarship "under rhetoric's broad purview." The understanding of rhetoric goes beyond the traditional approach, and the journal embraces the fact that "many different intellectual, archival, disciplinary, and political vectors, traditions, and methods" are represented.
Review of Communication - CMMC Available from 07/01/2001. This peer-reviewed National Communication Association title welcomes "substantive" essays on both communication controversies and advances in the field. Studies may be historical, theoretical, philosophical, qualitative, quantitative, rhetorical, or syncretic and can "build theory, advance our understanding of a method, extend or challenge a current paradigm, bridge a divide, clarify a term or concept, or demonstrate a pragmatic function."
Rhetoric Society Quarterly - JSTOR 1976-7 years ago. Rhetoric Society Quarterly – Presents cross-disciplinary scholarship on all aspects of rhetorical studies. Taylor & Francis Title
Text & Performance Quarterly - CMMC Available from 01/01/1989. Most recent 1 year(s) 6 month(s) not available. This peer-reviewed journal publishes readable scholarship that examines and advances the study of performance as a "social, critical, communicative practice; as a theoretical lens; as a critical method; as a technology of representation and expression; and as a hermeneutic." Material is often presented in diverse styles, such as narratives, interviews, performance texts/scripts, and photographic essays. A variety of perspectives and methodologies of performance are considered.
Western Journal of Communication

Some of the descriptions on this guide are based on Cheryl LaGuardia, Magazines for Libraries, 18th ed. (New Providence, NJ: ProQuest, 2009) and Ulrich's International Periodical Directory, http://www.ulrichsweb.com/ulrichsweb/.

Ulrichs Web - Find out if your journal is scholarly and peer reviewed.

What are Scholarly Journals?

Scholarly Journal (A.K.A. Professional Journal) Journals such as American Historical Review, New England Journal of Medicine, and Social Psychology Quarterly are all considered scholarly or professional journals. A journal that contains articles and research by scholars and experts in a specific field who wish to share their research with other professionals/scholars. Articles are usually based on original research and contain author credentials, abstracts and bibliographies. Professional associations, Scholarly presses, Universities, or Academic/Research Organizations often publish these journals. The language in a Scholarly Journal tends to be academic and can be very technical often using the language of the discipline. Graphs, charts, and/or formulas can be included as well as graphics but these periodicals usually do not contain glossy ads and/or pictures.

Search for a Journal Title In Communication & Mass Media Complete

Open Access Journals

Below is a selection of journals related to mass communications that are freely available online.

International Journal of Communication A freely available, born digital, multi-media, peer reviewed academic multidisciplinary journal with a key focus on communications research.
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication Web-based, open access journal publishing scholarship on computer mediated communications.
First Monday One of the earlier completely open source journals on the internet, with a subject scope based around research about the internet, including internet based communications systems.
M/C Journal Peer reviewed open access journal dedicated to publishing research that deals with the convergence of media and culture.
JOMEC Journal -Journalism, Media, and Cultural Studies Peer reviewed journal that publishes academic work in journalism, media, and cultural studies.

What are Trade Journals?

Trade Journals (AKA Trade Magazines) such as Automotive News, Home Healthcare Nurse, Teaching Exceptional Children, Library Journal or E Week are not scholarly journals. These magazines are industry specific and designed to keep the practitioner updated in the trends, news and product information for the field. They can offer company, organization and biographical information along with statistics, forecasts employment and career information. Glossy ads (usually topic related) and photos are prevalent.

Trade Journals and Magazines

American Journalism Review - CMMC
7/1993-4/2013 Communications & Mass Media Complete
more...less...
American Journalism Review (formerly Washington Journalism Review) – Published articles and news about reporting.
Columbia Journalism Review - CMMC
1962-present. - Communication & Mass Media Complete
more...less...
Columbia Journalism Review - Publishes articles covering journalistic practice.

Back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in library catalog).
Editor and Publisher - ProQuset
Editor and Publisher – Major trade magazine covering the newspaper industry.
more...less...
Full-text in ABI-INFORM, 1/1988-present; Academic OneFile and other Gale databases, 1991-present.
Extra! – CMMC
2/2007 to present. Communication & Mass Media Complete
more...less...
Extra! – Magazine published by the anti-censorship watch group Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting.
News Photographer
News Photographer – Published by the National Press Photographers Association, presents news, articles, profiles, and interviews relating to still and television news photography.
more...less...
Back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in the library catalog).
Nieman Reports - CMMC
06/01/1996 to present Communications & Mass Media Complete
more...less...
Nieman Reports – Publishes thought-provoking articles on current events and issues surrounding the profession of journalism
Quill – CMMC
07/01/1993 to present Communication & Mass Media Complete
more...less...
The Quill – Official publication of the Society of Professional Journalists containing articles and commentary of wide interest.
Utne Reader - Proquest
more...less...
Back issues (Bound Periodicals and Microfilm, check holdings in library catalog). Library catalog record for 1988-2006 and 2002-2006.
Vital Speeches of the Day - ASC
10/1934-present Academic Search Complete,
more...less...
Vital Speeches of the Day – Publishes the complete text of important speeches in areas such as of politics, education, sociology, government, criminology, finance, business, taxation, health, law, and labor.

Paper back issues (Bound Periodicals, check holdings in library catalog).

SPCH U398 Communicating the History of Race and Ethnicity in the United States - Dr. Webber: Communication & Journalism Journals