ENGL U102 - Composition II - Richie: Finding Articles

Students have found this log useful to keep track of searches and articles of possible interest.

Follow these steps to obtain the complete article, or full text, while searching:

• Look for an Access Now (PDF) or PDF link.

• No Access Now (PDF) or PDF link? Look for another full text link, such as Access Options. 

• Full text link does not give you the entire article? Ask a Librarian!

The databases below are starting points for your research.

HELPFUL HINTS:

• Having trouble logging in? Please call University IT at 864-503-5257. Other database options through SC Discus are provided in the box below, as a backup. However, not all USC Upstate Library databases are available through SC Discus.
• Keeping it simple is best. Don't overload the search boxes. Put one concept on each line.
• After you enter your search terms and before you click 'Search,' scroll to the middle or bottom of the search page. There is a section marked Limit your results.
  • Be sure to click the box for Full Text.
  • For scholarly articles, click the box marked Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles or Peer Reviewed.
  • Note there are also Publication Date and Language limiters.
• Do not copy and paste the link in your web browser. The links are not stable and you will not find the article again.
  • Write down the titles, author, etc. or take a picture with your phone. Better yet, consider printing, e-mailing, or saving the article to a flash drive)
  • Some databases offer a Permalink option. If you really want a link, use this instead of copying and pasting the link in your web browser.

If you are having issues logging in, try calling University IT at 864-503-5257.

Please note that the South Carolina State Library provides access to Discus as a South Carolina resident.

Below are links to databases that will allow you to search for articles. Use Ask a Librarian to obtain the Discus username and password.

Academic Search Premier

Newspaper Source Plus

EBSCOhost Research Databases