Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These websites provide a wide variety of images and other digital works, not necessarily related to art or design.
#LIFE Photo Archive - Google
Millions of photographs from the LIFE magazine photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today
Extensive website containing free eBooks, images, video, audio, and other media to view and download. Also includes the Internet Wayback Machine, for accessing archived, past versions of websites.
The British Library - Public Domain Images
Over 1 million images taken from the pages of 17th, 18th and 19th century books. The images have no known copyright restrictions.
The Commons by Flickr
Images from archives, museums, libraries and research centers such as the New York Public Library, Smithsonian, Library of Congress and Getty Research Institute. The images have no known copyright restrictions.
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
A portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to incredible resources, wherever they may be in America. Far more than a search engine, the portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, format, subject, and partner.
Google Cultural Institute
Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.
Google Cultural Institute - The Art Project
The Art Project is a unique collaboration with some of the world’s most acclaimed art institutions to enable people to discover and view artworks online in extraordinary detail.
Wellcome Library of Medical History Images
The Wellcome Library of Medical History provides images on themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Many of the images have creative commons licenses allowing re-use.
80,000 images, global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. Via California State University
Online platform for discovering and collecting art, comprising 50,000+ artworks by 11,000+ artists from leading galleries, museums, foundations, and artists’ estates. Some images may be downloaded.
Getty Open Content
Public domain art images from Getty Museum collections
Getty Search Gateway
Find images and other material across several of the Getty Museum's repositories. Note that some resources are copyrighted; please check rights statements before re-using material.
Guide to Digitized Art, Architecture,Design and Craft Journals - DesignInform
Links to a variety of journals that have been digitized and are available free to access on the Internet. The dates given are for the period covered by the digitization
Harvard Art Museums - Collections
250,000 objects from the Fogg, Busch-Reisinger, and Arthur M. Sackler Museums - includes ancient through contemporary works.
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Collections
400,000+ images from the Museum's collections. Some images may be used freely for non-commercial scholarly purposes - look for an "OASC" under the image to verify.
NGA Images - National Gallery of Art
Includes more than 20,000 open access digital images, available free of charge for download and use
Smithsonian Institution - Open F/S
40,000+ high-resolution images of Asian and American art, may be used for any non-commercial purpose. Courtesy of the Smithsonian's Freer and Sackler Galleries and Freer Study Collection
Independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. Works are available for educational, noncommercial use only.
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service)
Online resource for visual arts that includes over 100,000 images as well as essays based on the image collections.
Graphic Design, Advertising, Illustration, and Sequential Images
Asian Historical Architecture
The purpose of this webpage is to promote a greater understanding and appreciation of Asian architecture through images and descriptive text
Library of Congress - Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS)
Collection documents achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes
Gguide to more than 1,250 sacred sites, holy places, pilgrimage destinations, religious architecture and sacred art in over 60 countries around the world. In addition to richly illustrated articles, there are photo galleries containing over 24,000 high-quality images
Digital History - Maps
Links to historic maps from 1400's through early 1900's, and also provides links to online historic map collections for specific states and cultures
Old Maps Online
Visual and easy-to-use tool for locating old and historical maps in libraries around the world